We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Great Uncle Oscar”

Oscar Anderson House Museum
Ranked #83 of 224 things to do in Anchorage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A house museum that once belonged to a Swedish butcher.
Torrington, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My Great Uncle Oscar”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Oscar Anderson was married to my great Aunt Liz, she was my Grand father's sister. She was a Finlander. I spent many weekends in this house from 1965 to 1970. My Grandmother who was a sister in law to Liz helped take care of Oscar when he was getting up in years.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Judi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geyserville, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Just good old fashioned history!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is docent led, and exists of only the house, but that is what should get you there!
It told us of the history of Anchorage and the people along with how women delt with the living conditions.
We also went with an anchorage local who had never been there, she learned a lot as well.
A must do!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank theWineMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding Tour”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Really enjoyed the museum with an excellent guide. I learned so much about my own town of Anchorage and Alaskan history. She explained about the early days and how the railroad established Anchorage. They have outstanding photos and visuals for explaination. It reminded me of going to Grandma's house. There was so much to take in that I will probably do it again! I had driven past it for years and had no idea who Oscar Anderson was or that it was a museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“detour worth my while”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I was walking on the coastal trail and had seen the house so many times and finally decided to go inside and look. the ladies there were really nice and informative. I had no idea about anything from my hometown's founding days and I got quite the earful of information. I might go back for their Christmas thing. Well worth the admission price as your donation helps keep the place going.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Percy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“oscar andersen is a distant relative of my Aunt from Wyominb”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Very charming home. the area inside is small but well designed. The yard and view from the home are wonderful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oscar Anderson House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Oscar Anderson House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing