We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Save
Review Highlights
Check out the New Updates

Since our last visit a couple of years ago, the Anchorage Museum has added on a large addition to... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
JJTrouble
,
Anchorage
Needed more time.

This is a very nice museum, very large, make sure you plan accordingly, we didn’t. Art and history... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
M8066FWlaurab
,
Castle Rock, Colorado
via mobile
Read all 2,352 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Anchorage
from US$109.00
More Info
from US$99.00
More Info
from US$195.00
More Info
Reviews (2,352)
Filter reviews
2,221 results
Traveller rating
1,457
566
150
35
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,457
566
150
35
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alaskan history special exhibit kids area modern art third floor native artifacts great exhibits few hours gold rush rainy day all ages on display gift shop couple of hours great for kids well worth the visit northern lights
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,221 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Since our last visit a couple of years ago, the Anchorage Museum has added on a large addition to the north side which houses a lot of the Alaskan Art collection. Therein are significant collections of Sidney Laurence, Fred Machetanz, and others. Also in that area are some great works by newer and more contemporary Alaskan artists. If you haven't been to this museum in the last 12 months, it's definitely worth going back to see the new displays. On the other side of the second floor is housed a lot of the alaskan native artifacts such as ulus and other tools and baskets and clothing made by the native alaskans from animal or fish skins, etc. The new educational exhibits are definitely worth checking out. Didn't make it to the third or fourth floors, so we'll have to go back to see what else has been changed. I hear they have a Pink Floyd planetarium show that would be worth seeing, and movies are also shown in the auditorium periodically. This is a great place for visitors from out of state as well as locals.

Thank JJTrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This is a very nice museum, very large, make sure you plan accordingly, we didn’t. Art and history, and history in art. Great information about the history of the area and beautiful native, First People displays. We ate lunch in the restaurant at the museum and it was pleasant if a little pricey, the coffee was great! We were only able to see one half of the displays, we will plan more time on the next visit!

Thank M8066FWlaurab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

I saw surprised by the size of this museum until I realized it is a history, science and art museum all in one. Worth a visit. For more details and pics visit etbtravelphotography blog

Thank etbtravelphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the wonderful Smithsonian exhibit covering the multifaceted native cultures - that you can spend days viewing and still not cover it all - to the permanent art exhibits with grand landscape paintings and sculptures - old and new, to the temporary and usually wonderful shows, to the fantastic planetarium, or the history section with a good overview of the history of the State -- it is a great destination for an afternoon or a full day. The average visitor will be overwhelmed and it often helps to do the docent tours to help with focus on a topic.
Of course my favorite section is the Discovery center, a hands on science lab with fantastic activities for the kids (that's me!).
The coffee shop is great for a halftime break and in house cafe' (The Muse) can be pretty good - we've had mixed experience there however.
Become a member so you can go whenever you want -- and as a bonus you get the ROAM pass which allows you to visit other museums in the system for free - we really appreciate that benefit when traveling.

Thank DudefrmAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great museum combining Natural History, art, technical issues, such as the Alaska Pipeline, & a great collection of native artefacts. Temporary exhibition can be very good too. Excellent collection of Alaskan landscape paintings covering 150 years plus..Very nice Museum Cafe too.

Thank Hugo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

This is a great museum, including fascinating artifacts and info about all aspects of Alaska and its history. We frequently visit museums when traveling to cities, especially since membership in our local science museum enables us to do so for free via the Association of Science Center [ASTC] Passport Program. This one did not disappoint! The museum is much larger than it first appears and we spent a good half day seeing it all. Highly recommend if you have time while in Anchorage.

Thank BBTX60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

We went to this museum as part of a deal with the Native Alaskan Heritage Center. We were not sure what to expect and ended up being so happy we went there. There was a great hands on area for the kids (and adults too!). And, the other exhibits were unique and interesting. The museum is bigger than you realize and we did not get to see everything.

Thank musicbachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

This was an absolutely wonderful way to have downtime in the city. Flowers are beautiful. Walkway easy -

Thank Na H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

This museum is something to see. Very interesting displays. Really tells the story of Alaska and its people. Also, a unique Native Art collection.

Thank dennisandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

I had a long layover and went here not knowing too much about it. I wandered and viewed everything I could in 3 hours. I wish I had several more hours to visit.It was way bigger then I ever imagined and overwhelming with high end displays. Truly a treat! Lots of effort and time was put into each display. So many thought out visuals. Very glad I made the visit!

1  Thank JohnShepherd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews