We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our trip to Alaska, and it was very enjoyable! Our room was spacious and had nice amenities: separate rooms for shower and toilet (so if someone is showering another can still use the facilities!), divided room separating bed from workspace and couch, nice large television, mini refrigerator and microwave in room, hair dryer, and a nice shade that pulls down over the window to block more light during summer. In-room wi-fi is apparently free for the first day and there is a charge thereafter, but we only stayed one night so am not positive on this policy. Pretty typical continental breakfast with make-your-own belgian waffles, sausage, eggs, fruits, yogurt, juice, and cereals. Nice lobby area, and very friendly staff. No problems for us! The hotel also has a pool, hot tub, and exercise room. Next to the hotel is University Lake with walking trails around it - this provides great views! FYI, this area is also a dog park so there are lots of unleashed dogs playing. No restaurants within walking distance, but only a short drive from the hotel. We will definitely be back on our next Alaskan vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bri_ptrsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed here for a ski event. It is right next to the UAA trail system. This is in a nice location for outdoor people. If you want to be in the middle of it all, stay downtown. But, restaurants are a short drive away, and this hotel has nice atmosphere and solid breakfasts for active families.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekowalskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

April 15th, 2011
I held a bachelorette party here and it was perfect. 5 girls stayed comfortably in the room. One thing I loved is that the rooms are laid out in such a way to minimize noise from neighbors. Our neighbor was blaring music that you could hear in the hallway, but once our door was closed, we couldn't hear it at all. We all slept great and the beds were pretty comfortable.
As others have said, the interior design is "zen-like" and very well done. The room was spotlessly clean and everyone 'oohed' and 'awed' over the beautiful tile in the bathroom, the mirror, the light fixtures and the bed throws. This is definitely different than a lot of blah Marriotts I've stayed in.
Unlike some others have said, the front desk staff was VERY kind and courteous and my credit card was only charged once.
We all enjoyed the breakfast very much. Compared to other free hotel breakfasts I've had, it was average to good. We liked the make it yourself belgian waffles. There was also biscuits & gravy, yogurts, fresh fruit & more. They kept stocking the food until they closed at 9:30 and even then, some people still got in at 9:45. (They close breakfast at 9:30 Sat & Sun, 9:00 weekdays) The sitting area was cute and there was lots of room to sit.
All of us really liked this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. If you are visiting from out of town, you will definitely need a car, as nothing is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redxstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Excellent rooms - you could really make yourself at home - very clean, very nicely decorated. Excellent layout of sleeping, lounge, work and bathroom areas. Nice TV too. Not a morning person, so I can't comment on breakfast that ends at 9am. But free coffee was acceptable, if on the weak side. A nice walking trail around the lake is next to the hotel. Lots of dirty, wet dogs on the trail, but I'm a dog lover... I would have been absolutely over the moon except for the price, which is a little bit excessive - $450 for a 3-night stay would be a much more appropriate price than $600, but if you don't mind treating yourself to somewhere nice, you won't be disappointed! True - no restaurants are in the neighbourhood, but with a fridge, a microwave and WiFi in the room and a GPS in the car, you've got no worries.

Room Tip: get a room with a view over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YukonBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

The room was a very nice and comfortable suite. The location is adjacent to a lake and park with walking and skiing trails, has a view of the mountains, and is very scenic. There was plenty of parking. The pool, hot tub, and exercise room are clean, nice, and well maintained. Negatives are minor: the TVs are locked into the wrong aspect ratio, WiFi is so slow as to be unusable during periods of high demand, and oddly, there is a large gap at the bottom of the doors which allows a lot of hallway noise right into the room (the reason for my marking "sleep quality" down to 3 stars. This was our second stay here, and has become my first choice in Anchorage (unless the rates go much higher).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

The hotel charged my Husband and I three times for our stay. They refused to return our phone calls, meanwhile our travel account went into overdraft. It took 2 phone calls to corporate for them to return our money. The manager was completely unapologetic and acted like we were in the wrong.

We reserved a king bed (which costs more), and were given two full beds.

After asking us if we wanted a shower or tub, (we requested a tub) they placed us in a room w/ a shower twice. Apparently they don't even know which rooms have tubs vs. showers. We gave up that night, and brought the matter up the next day and they told us that they couldn't help us. The staff is not interested in the least in pleasing its guests.

The hotel itself was nothing special. Boring decor, and awkward design setup in the rooms... The shower and toilet are in separate rooms. Nothing good to say about this place. I would never stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VtravelP057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Springhill Suites are not luxurious, but this one was very nice. I stayed five nights, so the large room with sleeping area and separate sitting/work/eat-in area was appreciated. The room had a microwave and mini-frig. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The shower and dressing area is separate from the toilet, which also has its own sink. The property is adjacent to University Lake park, with lovely views of the mountains and walk/bike trails. Very good full breakfast included. Service was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKnorsechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
667 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt House Anchorage
Hyatt House Anchorage
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
#19 of 74 in Anchorage
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Address: 4050 University Lake Dr, Anchorage, AK 99508-4600
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#6 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £69 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Beautiful lakefront lodging with mountain views, in town. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake Hotel Anchorage
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing