We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Westerville, OH
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here at the end of our first Alaskan cruise. I picked it from website with no knowledge of Anchorage and we had some difficulty finding the hotel. However, when we did, we were very impressed with the setting. There is a beautiful lake behind the hotel with mountains in the background, The room was great and afforded a great view - very comfortable, clean and well maintained accommodations. Perhaps not the most convenient location, but well worth seeking out.

Room Tip: Watch for steeet names behind other street signs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mforkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    155
    30
    5
    9
See reviews for
144
120
27
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The outside of this hotel is not much to look at, but they've done such a nice job on the interior, from the entry kiosk and lounge to the rooms.

Rooms: spacious, sort of eco-Euro-design. It seemed very Scandinavian. Everything was pale turquoise, pale spring green, beige and white with a few warm hints here and there. I had a whole little couch/lounge and study area, not to mention a microwave and refrigerator. Lovely original prints on the walls. Bed area was separated by a screen and was simple, lovely clean white linens, restful with a view of the lake and the amazing mountains. Nice little wardrobe and tv stand. Two bathrooms with sliding doors--one a WC with a little sink, the other the shower room with a huge sink and a cool makeup mirror that it back-lit. I could have stayed here for weeks.

The front desk staff was very sweet and helpful. The shuttle service is a really handy amenity since this is a rather remote location from all eateries and shopping. They will take you all over town if you give them enough notice. The remote location makes this a very restful and quiet place to stay--I slept very well. It is convenient to the Alaska Native Medical Center, Providence Health Care, and UAA (walking distance) if you have business there. The breakfast buffet is great and has a lot of variety--cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, bread, fruit, sausage, eggs, etc. Lobby is really stylish and a fun place to have breakfast while looking at the mountains. There is an outdoor sitting area with a fire-pit that is really nice, too.

Oh, yeah, and if you like to run and it is summer--you have access to the trail around the lake, which is also a dog park, the ski trails in the woods behind the University, the Campbell Creek trail, which is near by, and the Chester Creek trail, which is also relatively nearby. I saw several moose and beaver while out there.

Here are the cons: There are huge gaps under the doors, so you can really hear people walking down the hallway talking. They all went to bed early, so no problem for me, but could be bad if they stayed up late. The remote location makes it hard to get to food or shopping--the shuttle is good if you don't have a car, but it takes awhile to arrange. They don't have much healthy food in the little "market" next to the front desk--so you really have to come with food or go some distance from the hotel to get anything except for breakfast. ***The Alaska Native Medical Center just next door has a really good cafe in the hospital section--burritos, burgers, salad bar and a lot of very good and healthy food in a pleasant surrounding--so you could probably get a good and affordable meal there at least for lunch--I did twice!
Finally, I think it was expensive for all that fabulousness, but it was a business trip and my group paid for it, but I felt a little guilty.

Room Tip: Get a mountain view room if the weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SF_egret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our trip to Alaska, and it was very enjoyable! Our room was spacious and had nice amenities: separate rooms for shower and toilet (so if someone is showering another can still use the facilities!), divided room separating bed from workspace and couch, nice large television, mini refrigerator and microwave in room, hair dryer, and a nice shade that pulls down over the window to block more light during summer. In-room wi-fi is apparently free for the first day and there is a charge thereafter, but we only stayed one night so am not positive on this policy. Pretty typical continental breakfast with make-your-own belgian waffles, sausage, eggs, fruits, yogurt, juice, and cereals. Nice lobby area, and very friendly staff. No problems for us! The hotel also has a pool, hot tub, and exercise room. Next to the hotel is University Lake with walking trails around it - this provides great views! FYI, this area is also a dog park so there are lots of unleashed dogs playing. No restaurants within walking distance, but only a short drive from the hotel. We will definitely be back on our next Alaskan vacation!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bri_ptrsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed here for a ski event. It is right next to the UAA trail system. This is in a nice location for outdoor people. If you want to be in the middle of it all, stay downtown. But, restaurants are a short drive away, and this hotel has nice atmosphere and solid breakfasts for active families.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekowalskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2011

April 15th, 2011
I held a bachelorette party here and it was perfect. 5 girls stayed comfortably in the room. One thing I loved is that the rooms are laid out in such a way to minimize noise from neighbors. Our neighbor was blaring music that you could hear in the hallway, but once our door was closed, we couldn't hear it at all. We all slept great and the beds were pretty comfortable.
As others have said, the interior design is "zen-like" and very well done. The room was spotlessly clean and everyone 'oohed' and 'awed' over the beautiful tile in the bathroom, the mirror, the light fixtures and the bed throws. This is definitely different than a lot of blah Marriotts I've stayed in.
Unlike some others have said, the front desk staff was VERY kind and courteous and my credit card was only charged once.
We all enjoyed the breakfast very much. Compared to other free hotel breakfasts I've had, it was average to good. We liked the make it yourself belgian waffles. There was also biscuits & gravy, yogurts, fresh fruit & more. They kept stocking the food until they closed at 9:30 and even then, some people still got in at 9:45. (They close breakfast at 9:30 Sat & Sun, 9:00 weekdays) The sitting area was cute and there was lots of room to sit.
All of us really liked this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. If you are visiting from out of town, you will definitely need a car, as nothing is within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redxstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Excellent rooms - you could really make yourself at home - very clean, very nicely decorated. Excellent layout of sleeping, lounge, work and bathroom areas. Nice TV too. Not a morning person, so I can't comment on breakfast that ends at 9am. But free coffee was acceptable, if on the weak side. A nice walking trail around the lake is next to the hotel. Lots of dirty, wet dogs on the trail, but I'm a dog lover... I would have been absolutely over the moon except for the price, which is a little bit excessive - $450 for a 3-night stay would be a much more appropriate price than $600, but if you don't mind treating yourself to somewhere nice, you won't be disappointed! True - no restaurants are in the neighbourhood, but with a fridge, a microwave and WiFi in the room and a GPS in the car, you've got no worries.

Room Tip: get a room with a view over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YukonBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

The room was a very nice and comfortable suite. The location is adjacent to a lake and park with walking and skiing trails, has a view of the mountains, and is very scenic. There was plenty of parking. The pool, hot tub, and exercise room are clean, nice, and well maintained. Negatives are minor: the TVs are locked into the wrong aspect ratio, WiFi is so slow as to be unusable during periods of high demand, and oddly, there is a large gap at the bottom of the doors which allows a lot of hallway noise right into the room (the reason for my marking "sleep quality" down to 3 stars. This was our second stay here, and has become my first choice in Anchorage (unless the rates go much higher).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
513 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,780 reviews
Dimond Center Hotel
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Property: SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Address: 4050 University Lake Dr, Anchorage, AK 99508-4600
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#6 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Beautiful lakefront lodging with mountain views, in town. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake Hotel Anchorage
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing