We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten Path Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Off the beaten Path Gem”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My wife and I spent 3 days here to start our Alaskan vacation this July. The place was clean and modern, the setting perfect, and the amenities a major plus. Great Breakfast buffet, free wireless internet. The adjacent lake was a great place to take a hike and unwind. Staff was pleasant and incredibly helpful. If I return to Anchorage, I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    153
    29
    5
    9
See reviews for
142
119
27
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I started staying at this hotel just after it opened. The hotel is on a lake, near the hospitals, UAA and APU. The staff is very good and helpful, rooms are clean.
If you don't need to be downtown Anchorage this is the place to stay

Room Tip: Get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskareed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
215 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for seven days ending August 4th and used it as a base for taking multiple day trips to various parts of southern Alaska.

In one word, I would describe the service during our stay as SUPERIOR. It was far beyond what we would have expected from a full service Marriott. We were able to use the shuttle for transportation to and from the airport, to and from downtown, and to pick up a rental car. The service at the front desk was courteous and friendly from each of the individuals we interacted with.

The daily breakfast was really a full breakfast, not a continental one and coffee and tea was available 24 hours a day. The setting added to our experience being located on a lake with fish and beavers occupying it with a 1+ mile jogging/hiking trail completely encircling the lake.

While I heard of several sightings of moose nearby, it was not until my last night that I saw a moose with her calf less than a block from the Hotel.

We will definitely stay here when we visit Alaska again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgmeigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We travel frequently, and have rarely encountered a hotel as good as this one. It is relatively new. The staff here was amazing! There were very friendly and went above and beyond to answer questions and provide information about the area. The food offered for breakfast was varied, so there was something for everyone. The hotel room was spacious and clean. There is free shuttle service to and from the airport and downtown Anchorage. This is a must stay if you visit Anchorage!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel2799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The staff at check in was friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and modern in decor. The beds were soft and comfortable, providing a good nights rest. The buffet breakfast was delicious. Best to get there early as the crowds of people come in around 8:30 ish. They did a good job of keeping things stocked in the buffet as it went down. The shuttle to the airport was also good. While the hotel is not directly in downtown Anchorage I would go here again as it was nice to enjoy the peace and quiet and the wonderful view. Get a room in the back of the hotel for a view. The hike around the lake in the back was nice to do in the morning. The outside seating area and fire pit were also a nice touch. Kudos to the friendly and helpful staff at the front desk and in the serving area of the buffet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikinggal8574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel on two occassions while in Anchorage for doctor visits and a surgery. The front desk staff was adequate in customer service and were businesslike but consequently, not extremely personable.
Our first stay in March was very comfortable. The room was immaculate and beds/pillows were heavenly. The temperature of the room was always perfect. We did not try the breakfast during this stay. The pool was clean and busy at times.
The second stay in April was not as comfortable as the first but it was still a great experience. The room was identical but had a stain on the carpet - it was clean otherwise. We had some noisier neighbors in the hallway during the second stay but it wasn't intolerable by any means. We tried the breakfast during this stay and it was typical breakfast fare... a nice free perk but as expected in quality for a free breakfast.
Favorite things about this hotel include the decor, comfortable beds, mini-fridge/microwave, pool, cleanliness and quiet atmosphere.
I would highly recommend this hotel for business or family trips and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaska-mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We had read the reviews and hoped this would be a nice place, but were blown away by how much we liked it. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
This hotel is quite new and it shows. Well-designed large rooms feature an efficient layout and are furnished with beautiful bed(s), large desk, office chair, pull-out sofa, very large bureau with drawers, and flat-screen TV on a stand with more storage space. Rooms also has a walk-in closet, and split bath (shower & sink with large counter in one room, toilet and sink with small counter in a separate area). There is an alcove with frig & coffee maker. Rooms are spacious and decorated in a soothing, cool palette. Lots of extra blankets and pillows in the closet. You can set the room temperature yourself. Everything is in great shape - very clean, most of it still seems brand new.
Property features a terrific outdoor patio with gas fire pit, lovely flowers, tables/chairs, and a wide trail leading to the nearby lake. The rooms facing east have an amazing lake/mountain view.
There is a nice-sized indoor pool & well-equipped exercise room.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is included with the room price. Along with do-it-yourself waffles, they had eggs & sausage, plus the usual muffins/pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, and hot oatmeal (real oatmeal!). Three kinds of coffee: regular, decaf, and dark roast.
We really enjoyed our stay and can think of no criticisms at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
482 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
1,735 reviews
Dimond Center Hotel
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Property: SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Address: 4050 University Lake Dr, Anchorage, AK 99508-4600
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#6 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Beautiful lakefront lodging with mountain views, in town. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake Hotel Anchorage
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing