We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good home away from home--even in rainy cool weather!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My rrecent stay at the SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake was a wonderful home-y place to relax. The (courtesy) buffet breakfast was tasty, and the "make-your-own-waffles" were delicious. Pleasant scenery and plenty of room in the breakfast room and its fireplace made the scene cosy even though outdoors there was rain and rather cool weather for September. The shuttle service to the airport and downtown was reliable, on demand, and always had very cheerful drivers. The staff at the hotel represented Marriott beautifully. Everything was pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smokey2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

If you are looking for a modern, clean and reasonably priced place to stay in Anchorage, then SpringHill Suites is the place. This hotel was very charming, spacious and had wonderful service. It is conveniently located, has a good complimentary breakfast and a nice outdoor space. I would recommend it to anyone going to Alaska with children since the rooms are huge and there is a lot of space to move around (which helped a lot with our 3 year old son).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amita78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here because just about everything else was booked in the area, but was overall pleasantly surprised. The hotel seemd fairly new, the rooms were clean and spacious, although the bathroom set up was unique. The toilet and a sink were in a separate area with a very small mirror, then the shower and sink we're in another area. But this was fine, the shower had plenty of room that way. Beds were comfortable and there was a separate seating area, mini fridge, and microwave. The only issue was the noise. You could really here just about everything going on in the hallway, people walking, talking, and doors shutting.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank ColoradoWeatherMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A little out of town beside the University, this near new hotel had very well appointed room including microwave. Very comfy bed and brekky included in the price. Most hotels downtown were far more expensive or dives. We did have a car so getting to it was easy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

If we are ever back in Anchorage again, this is where we will stay. Rooms were immaculate and very modern and updated. We thoroughly enjoyed staying here and were very comfortable the whole time - and I don't even usually like hotels. Used the Internet in the lobby and took advantage of the all-day coffee. Employees at the front desk were very friendly and helpful in providing directions and recommendations for dinner. Even saw two moose the morning we left! Didn't have time to walk around the lake, but would have liked to. Don't hesitate to stay here. It's outside of town, so you definitely need a rental car (although I think they had a shuttle?), but we were perfectly happy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParksRCalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who comes into anchorage. The hotel is very peaceful and has a modern theme to it. The staff is amazingly friendly especially Melissa and Tiffany! They were always helpful and professional. The breakfast is amazing but needs to close later. I have nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dulce805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My partner and I stayed here for three nights in August. I would recommend it. The location is fairly convenient if you have a car -- just about everything is within a 15 minute drive. Our room was on the top (third) floor facing the lake, which is very attractive. The view of the lake and mountains made it feel peaceful and like you weren't in the middle of the city. (From what i saw of downtown Anchorage, i didnt miss staying there.) The room layout worked well for us. Since there is a separate toilet/sink in one room, and a shower/sink in the other bathroom, two people can easily get ready at the same time. The interior design is modern but low-budget. I found the staff to be helpful, friendly, and responsive -- even when we arrived from the airport at 2:00 AM. The walking path around the lake is also a nice feature. The breakfast was adequate, but nothing fancy.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor facing lake & mountains have best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorertoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
642 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt House Anchorage
Hyatt House Anchorage
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
121 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Address: 4050 University Lake Dr, Anchorage, AK 99508-4600
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#6 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £67 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Beautiful lakefront lodging with mountain views, in town. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake Hotel Anchorage
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing