We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I thought my husband would think this was too luxurious for our quick trip but after shopping endlessly I found a day when this hotel was cheaper than the Holiday Inn Express and as nice as the HIE is, this place is so much more! Newer. We liked the more remote location; yet closer to downtown. The staff was very pleasant. The room and beds were very comfortable. The "suite" section was very enjoyable at the end of a long fishing Alaska vacation. I used & enjoyed the hot tub. The breakfast layout and variety was unexcelled for a chain. Given all the options and at a good price, this place is over the top for a chain hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuck78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here last year and it was so great we decided to stay here this year for a short trip. Well the room is clean however when you first walked in it had a funky smell. In the afternoon they used to have cookies now no more. There used to a hot beverage service out all day, now only for breakfast. On the plus side we did ask for a late check out and did get one. On the down side the housekeeping service and a supervisor both knocked on our door at different times to ask if we were checking out. I guess the person who authorized the late check out never told anyone else.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms have a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shermansj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel is on the east side of the city near the university and hospital. It's very quiet and has a lake with a walking trail right behind it. The shuttle will take you to mid-town or downtown in addition to the airport, unlike most of the other hotels. The rooms are very modern and the staff keep them clean. The staff is also very attentive and pleasant,

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiveNutJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Ditto the others, great place. We stayed one night, then off for other parts of Alaska, coming back later. Due to getting a smaller car than we reserved/expected from Alamo, we had to leave some luggage at the hotel for the week we were exploring before our cruise. They gave me a claim tag and we picked it up without issue the night we returned.

They have 2 washer/dryer sets on the second floor of the hotel. They are smaller; one load at home was two. Cost $3 for each unit/cycle. They have change and laundry soap machines, but I brought all-in-one laundry sheets and color catchers with me. Time consuming, but beats packing extra clothes for a 2 week trip.

I saw two shuttles. The front desk does keep a reservation log for the shuttle for going to the airport or train station, on the half hour, and they can mark you down for it when you check in. It’s on an as available for other services like shopping or dinner. We reserved 5 am for our 6:45 am train to Seward. That got us there a little earlier than I planned, but it was a breeze checking-in for the train and we were able to get a seat in the small station and watch the crowd get exponentially larger by 6 am. Unexpected bonus, Celebrity had a truck at the train station that checked our luggage directly to the ship, so we didn’t have to mess with it when we arrived in Seward.

Breakfast was good, hot and cold choices. It wasn’t open when we departed for the train, but that gave us an excuse to have breakfast on the train.

Oh, and Wal-Mart is next to their other location (not next door as noted in another review), but it’s only about a 10 minute drive from this one.

Great stay and I’d do it exactly the same again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1_to_travel_on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Good value particularly compared with other summer-time prices in Anchorage. The hotel is clean, the breakfast was good (waffles, yoghurt, eggs, sausage, pastries, meat & cheese, fruit, oatmeal) with good quality food.

The room was recently renovated (or it looked that way) with a modern layout (sliding doors to the bathrooms to optimize space). 2 sinks (one in the toilet bathroom, one in the shower bathroom). Sleeper sofa, desk, and fridge/microwave.

The location is nice, in the university area backing up to a lake with nature trails and parks. It is only 5-10 minutes from most of the other hotels, but feels safer, cleaner, and more like Alaska should feel.

I will definitely try other SpringHill suite properties as a result of this stay (first time in this brand).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngryTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

OK, it’s not a total surprise, when you consider the price plus the fact this is a brand name hotel (Marriot) but there’s one important lesson (at least for me) here; It’s better to pay a little more and get exactly what you expect than paying almost the same for rooms would never be booked outside the pricey and high demanded hotel market of Alaska during summer. This was THE most common problem I had during my time in Alaska. I know US$205 is not cheap (or even fair) but it’s better than paying US$180 for a room way below average. On this one I got the Marriot standard in everything; space, comfort, customer service, Wi-Fi speed, silence,… It’s not close to anything else but Alaska University although 3 miles to downtown is not bad if you’re driving a rental, especially in Anchorage where traffic is a breeze even in July. One dummy problem here though; as another reviewer pointed out, the space under the room door is high enough to disturb you while trying to sleep, so I also had to put towels on the door threshold to kill the light’s entrance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredBueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by what a really, nice hotel this is. Quiet location but not far from downtown. Large, comfortable and clean rooms. Beautifully decorated both in the rooms and the lobby area. Very good breakfast and friendly staff. We would highly recommend this hotel, definitely the best Springhill suites we ever stayed in and definitely the best place we stayed in Alaska.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadisonMaizie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
633 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
1,904 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt House Anchorage
Hyatt House Anchorage
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Address: 4050 University Lake Dr, Anchorage, AK 99508-4600
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#6 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £72 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Beautiful lakefront lodging with mountain views, in town. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake Hotel Anchorage
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing