We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms and area”
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The surrounding area was wonderful and we got a room that faced the lake. Not only was the view wonderful but also the room itself was one of the best that I have stayed at.

One of our problems was the breakfast, they said it closed at 9:30 but there was barely any food left at 9 am and they stopped refilling at that time. We were there for the 4th of July weekend. I think they should have been prepared. Another problem, they do not have any way of keeping out the light completely. The curtain kept out most of the light but there was still some that seeped in under and around the curtain at 1 am. The hallway lighting doesn't help either, very bright lights and the crack from under the door was wide enough to let both the hallway lighting and cold drafts in.

That said, everything else was wonderful and I would definitely go back to this hotel if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sush81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    152
    29
    5
    9
See reviews for
139
117
27
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
Level Contributor
1,126 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Large suites, ask for a lake view 2nd or 3rd floor, indoor pool, light breakfast buffet, 24 hour coffee and internet, free shuttle.
Quite and lot's of green around you. UOA next door.
MeuterMedia

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

i forgot all about how pretty the hotel was because the service was so poor. my card was overcharged three times, to the point it was declined when i returned home, and the hotel has still yet to address it and its been nearly two weeks. they never answer their phones and act like you are the problem becuase you have a problem with being overcharged. will never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

When our plane arrived in Anchorage at 5 a.m., we were haggard from lack of sleep. The staff at the Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake was warm and welcoming and allowed us to check in early. The decor in this new hotel is modern and calming and our room was spacious and comforting. The hotel is right off the beautiful University Lake, which is surrounded by verdant woods and walking trails. The room rate included wi-fi and breakfast (not great, but convenient and free). Our room just happened to be next door to someone who frequently shouted, not angrily, but as if he had some kind of disorder, and the staff unhesitatingly gave us another room. We loved watching the ducks swim the lack and residents' dogs frolicking on the path and in the water. They also have a free shuttle that dropped us off at shopping and at the airport the next day, and the drivers were friendly and accommodating. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We just got back from a one week stay at this hotel located in a quiet area by a small lake. The setting was perfect with wonderful views of the Alaska range; the walk around the lake every day was beautiful and fun and in particular watching the beavers. The hotel was super clean everywhere!! Our room was great! The staff was very accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5701connie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

The newest hotel in Anchorage is amazingly beautiful, quiet, luxurious, and well appointed. The rooms are divided into a sitting/dining area, with microwave, refrigerator, and coffee nook, adjacent to a small work desk with high speed internet, telephone, work light. Big screen flat panel TV, IPOD dock, LED light reading lights on the bed, and plush copious pillows. The decor is almost Japanese, and the grounds reflect beautiful grooming. The breakfast is delicious with fresh fruit, yogurts, waffles, sausage, scrambled eggs, 4 types of coffee plus decaf, pastries and bagels, fruit juices and more.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MedicinemanPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

My husband and I along with our 1 year old spent 9 days at the Spring Hill suites in March 2010. We were in Alaska to celebrate our son's first birthday with family and opted for a hotel. It was a very busy week for us and having the hotel was a great way to relax and enjoy some down time. The hotel is set on a lake with miles of walking, jogging, and skiing trails. We borrowed x-country skis and did the loop around the lake every day. The views of the mountains are lovely with little developed to obstruct the mountain views. The pool and hot tub are a nice size and open late as well as early. Although the pool does often fill up with lots of kids, so its not a quiet place to relax, at least in the evening. The work out facilities are great includinig high end treadmills and cardio equipment as well as free weights, which my husband loved.

The hotel staff were very accomadating to everything we needed. There was a fire drill one day and we didn't received notice, so they gave us a gift basket including one free night, which more than compensated for the trouble. The breakfast is also great, with cereal, oatmeal, eggs, and waffles. Although I wish that the breakfast lasted later than 9 am during the week and 9:30 on the weekends (having said that, the staff was flexible and if they saw you coming in they would keep it open).

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank akvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#23 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Property: SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Address: 4050 University Lake Dr, Anchorage, AK 99508-4600
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#6 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Beautiful lakefront lodging with mountain views, in town. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake Hotel Anchorage
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing