We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Ranked #38 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you are looking for spacious, extremely clean, well maintained apartment accommodation in the heart of downtown Anchorage then Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel is where you need to stay. I recently spent a month at Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel and felt that I was at home. Mike, the manager, is a wonderful person who took care of my stay from reservation to check out in a friendly and professional manner. I have no hesitation in recommending Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel to you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rath68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
7
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2011

My husband and I ventured in to Anchorage for our honeymoon in September with no real plans or accommodations in place. We heard from my Father that Dukes was the place to go, so we went to check it out.
Mike, the manager, was a wonderful person. He went well out of his way to make sure we were taken care of. We would check out in the morning under the assumption we would head out of Anchorage and stay then wind up coming back late in the evening. As fickle as we were Mike would, without hesitation or complaint, arrange things so that we had a room.
The rooms themselves were extremely comfortable and cozy with everything needed for a relaxing evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This hotel has quite a little scam going on with their "policies". I recently rented a room for 1 month. My daughter and her family recently moved to Anchorage and were staying in the hotel for the first couple of weeks until they found permanent housing. My husband and I were planning to stay during the final week of this month-long rental. I was charged a deposit of 50% at booking and the final 50% when my daughter checked in the hotel. When my daughter let the management know of our arrival time, she was told the room had been rented out to someone else! Our daughter had not checked out of the hotel or even returned the keys. Even though I had paid for 1 month, they had re-rented the room and refuse to refund my money for the remaining time! Unbelievable! Be VERY careful with this business. We are currently disputing the charges with the credit card company.
Another note.... this hotel has no elevator, so keep in mind that you will be bringing all your luggage up the stairs.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieJoe63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

If you need to stay in Anchorage for an extended period of time AND know exactly when you will be arriving and departing AND you don't mind an out-of-date 1 1/2 star hotel, then this place might work for you. This was my situation EXCEPT my departure date needed to be moved up due to a change in business plans, BUT this hotel charges you for all nights up front, and will not reimburse you for any nights you end up not staying -- even if you request the additional days the day before and the hotel is not full. This is bad business, particularly when the hotel was not even full, and doesn't work well for travelers who may want or need to change their plans. And they don't take AMEX.

The hotel was likely an old apartment complex from the 50s, and it shows. (In fact, it reminded me of an apt. I lived in back in the 80s.) I can deal with old, as long as it's clean, so that didn't both me as much as the inflexibility on the part of the owner. I read other reviews and have to shake my head ... "classy hotel???"

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peffredgrowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We waited a little too long to book a hotel for the weekend of the Big Wild Life Marathon and came across Duke's while trying to find something that could accommodate 3 people. What a pleasant surprise!

Duke's is an older hotel that more resembles an apartment building. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but give it a chance because the inside is very pleasant. Rooms contain 1 or 2 bedrooms, private bathroom, a small kitchen plus a living area. Most of the rooms appeared to be occupied by extended-stay business travelers, and that's a good hint of how comfortable the suites are, and how good the location is.

Other than a small workout room, there isn't much in the way of on-site amenities, but with dining, shopping, and businesses all around, you won't notice. What you get instead is room to stretch out, a quiet comfortable night's sleep, and spitting distance from great restaurants, the convention center, and the life of downtown ANC.

I should also mention that the front desk staff was exceptional. They helped us repeatedly with various questions and providing packing supplies to help us ship a large package. We'll be back, and Duke's will be the first place we look next time in ANC.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ten_Hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We were given an upgrade to a more superior 2 bedrooms suite at no extra charge. The room has a well equipped kitchenette, a nice spacious dining area and a comfortable lounge area with a large screen TV with cable. The property is well maintained and clean. What we liked most is its location - easy for us to walk to good restaurants and shopping streets.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWELSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed there a month, and everytime I walked into the room, I was reminded of what a classy hotel it is....always clean and perfectly appointed with artistic extras (housekeeping rocks!!), lighted awning at the front door (I can picture Audrey Hepburn on a movie set there). Amazingly reasonable rates amidst outlandish hotel prices in Anchorage (big hotels cater to the tour groups and gouge the individual traveler).

Oh, and if you are lucky enough to get a room at Duke's, you will be greeted by Rockstar Rebecca at the front desk....her smile radiates sunshine on a gloomy day and her expertise and efficiency (nothing short of super-woman :)

Also, no need to rent a car.....Starbucks, Kaladi Bros Coffee and seriously, the best restaurants and sightseeing in Anchorage are just steps away from Duke's.

Sally Keogh

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
446 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#26 of 73 in Anchorage
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel

Property: Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Address: 630 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3435
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Anchorage, this hotel is across the street from Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center and 1 mile from Sullivan Arena. Alaska Experience Theatre and Alaska Center for the Performing Arts are also within 5 minutes. A 24-hour fitness center, laundry facilities, and free newspapers are available at Duke's 8th Ave Hotel. Free WiFi in public areas and free self parking are also provided. Other amenities include barbecue grills and a picnic area. All 26 rooms feature kitchenettes with refrigerators and microwaves, plus free WiFi, free wired Internet, and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Guests will also find living rooms, dining areas, and coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing