We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 20 January 2009

A friend told me about this little known hotel..They are remodeling their rooms, so if you stay request one of the newly remodeled rooms. I did and it was fantastic. Charming old hotel that has a friendly family feel. I also enjoyed their new work out room that opened the week I was there! Parking is free, but you can walk to just about everywhere. (Weather permitting, of course)

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank canyonflyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2008

Very bad experience with their reservation service! They only take phone calls during normal working hours (Monday - Friday, 9:00am - 6:00pm?). You can leave a message or fill out a reservation request online, but you don't know if they have available rooms on the days you want and when they will call you back!

Well, they have an emergency # (you can press 1 when nobody takes your phone calls...I guess this is the hotel front desk #). I guess it is sort of MY FAULT that I pressed that so called "emergency #" . However, the person who took my phone call was really rude! I just wanted to confirm if they take check-in after midnight. She just said, "You need to call back on Monday" and then hung up!

Can you trust their service? What if your flight gets delayed during weekends? Call back on Monday?

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank daydayup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2003

Two outstanding points about the Dukes 8th Avenue Hotel are its cleanliness and location. My mother, two sisters and I arrived the Friday evening before our cruise. We booked the two bedroom suite. I was especially impressed with how clean the place was. It is located downtown near to everything. The Egan Convention Center is only two blocks away. Our transfer by bus to the ship docked in Seward left from there. We were able to take our luggage over there Saturday morning about 10:00 a.m. and send it on to the ship. We were given a time on a card to catch the bus at 1:15 p.m. My sister and I then walked to the Downtown Saturday Market which is held Saturdays from mid-May to mid-September. The market is a farmers market/craft market/food fair/live entertainment venue. Be aware that there is no restaurant in the hotel. We arrived in Anchorage after a grueling day of travel. My mother and I were too tired to go out to eat that evening and went straight to bed. The next morning we, of course, were very hungry. Since there was a four hour time difference, if was only 5 a.m. in Anchorage. There was nothing open close by. The night clerk and the day clerk both told us the café in the office building across the street opened at 6 a.m. However, since it was Saturday, it was not open. I realized one of the big hotels would have to have a restaurant. The clerk showed us on a map that the Marriott was four blocks away. Since my mother has limited mobility, we called a cab. The Marriott was around the corner! No wonder, the surprised look on the cab driver. Well, it gave us something to laugh about. We had a wonderful buffet breakfast for $13 each. Overall, I recommend this hotel and would stay there again. It is not fancy, but clean and situated perfectly for seeing downtown Anchorage-a good place to sleep before or after a cruise.

13  Thank reinarubia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es sind alle Zimmer von der Hauptstrasse abgewand.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erwin6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PriscilaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 74 in Anchorage
453 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel

Address: 630 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3435
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: £69 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Anchorage, this hotel is across the street from Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center and 1 mile from Sullivan Arena. Alaska Experience Theatre and Alaska Center for the Performing Arts are also within 5 minutes. A 24-hour fitness center, laundry facilities, and free newspapers are available at Duke's 8th Ave Hotel. Free WiFi in public areas and free self parking are also provided. Other amenities include barbecue grills and a picnic area. All 26 rooms feature kitchenettes with refrigerators and microwaves, plus free WiFi, free wired Internet, and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Guests will also find living rooms, dining areas, and coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing