We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Henry and Risa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkside Guest House
Ranked #21 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Henry and Risa”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great in every way. CSNY83 took the words right out of our mouths. We had an early morning flight and Carly got up and made sure that the taxi was there for us at 4:15 am! She helped us make sandwichs fo the flight.

Room Tip: William Morris room was huge. Décor was exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryJ586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was the perfect place to stay in Anchorage. It's close to downtown, so you can get everywhere easily - but it's just far enough away that you can find peace and quiet in Alaska's "big city." They did a fantastic job renovating the home. The woodwork, the stained glass, the decorations, the kitchen and the living space were fabulous. I kept wandering around taking in all of the beautiful details. And if we weren't so jam-packed with things to do in Alaska, my husband and I probably would have stayed in the living area and read all of the amazing books in the libraries cover to cover. We were definitely checking out all of the books and the early-edition volumes from famous arctic explorers and mountaineers.

And Carly was fantastic. We really enjoyed chatting with her in the evenings and over breakfast. And breakfast was perfect - yummy homemade yogurt, granolas, fresh fruit, freshly baked breads - and we got to pack the extras for our hikes!

I would definitely recommend this gem in the middle of Anchorage. If you're just passing through or using Anchorage as your home base for a longer trip - Parkside is the place to be! Thanks to Wally and Jerry and the folks at Camp Denali for building such a special guest house. The love and care and attention to details is obvious. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed two nights following a wonderful visit to Camp Denali. The house is exquisite, our room and bathroom were immaculate and comfortable, and we really appreciated being able to do laundry. The house is within walking distance of many attractions and we preferred the location to "downtown." Carly was a terrific hostess, helpful, informative and interesting, and provided great breakfasts and some snacks to go. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSNY83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We spent 3 nights here while we toured the Anchorage area. The hostess was very helpful and the continental breakfasts were outstanding with homemade yogurt and granola as well as muffins or scones. The day we were leaving, the hostess even sent us off with additional food. There was always fruit and nuts available for snacking. The living room area is huge. Our bedroom was small but comfortable. The hostess makes you feel like this is your home away from home. The location is excellent. You can walk downtown or along the coastal trail. It is across the street from a park. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The downstairs room has its own living room as well, but it does not have any view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean6564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisters, OR
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We've stayed in numerous B & Bs over the years and Parkside definitely makes our top 10. The Craftsman home is a gem and the setting close to the park and coastal trail makes it a perfect location, as Anchorage is a very walkable grid. Our room and bathroom were immaculate, with attention to details that these travelers appreciate - laundry facilities, adequate reading lights, ample & accessible plugs for charging electronics, bathrobes, guest refrig to chill our wine, snacks for the train and more.Carly was an informative hostess and went out of her way to make sure each guest's varied needs were met. For us, the breakfasts were just right with homemade granola, breads and muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt and flavorful local coffee. We liked being able to eat within our time frame rather than an exact sit down time with multiple courses.

Room Tip: We LOVED the basement room since it made the room dark enough to sleep during the 22 hours of daylig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SistersTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here prior to going to Camp Denali. Our room was impeccably clean and attention to detail was evident throughout. Carly prepared us a sumptuous breakfast and went so far as to provide us snacks for our long bus ride to Denali.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlotteCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

charming B&B, small rooms, gracious hostess; met other people going to or coming from Camp Denali and North Face Lodge. Good breakfast, although not very large. Fruit available in the afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
#59 of 73 in Anchorage
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#41 of 73 in Anchorage
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#28 of 73 in Anchorage
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Walkabout Town B&B
Walkabout Town B&B
#11 of 127 in Anchorage
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
11th Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Guest House

Property: Parkside Guest House
Address: 1302 W 10th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Parkside Guest House Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing