We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House, Wonderful Hostess”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkside Guest House
Ranked #25 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We only stayed here for one night. The house was a beautifully restored and decorated craftsman. Our room and bathroom were large. Carly the hostess was great. We enjoyed talking with her over an awesome breakfast . Breakfast consisted of many choices including yummy homemade granola, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt and the best homemade blueberry scones. Carly had also made really yummy chocolate cookies the day before which we were offered upon arrival. Carly was so personable and sent us off with extra scones and cookies for our next adventures. She even provided us with the recipes for all the yummy things we ate. We would definitely recommend staying here when in Anchorage and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ahbbyluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

This review isn't as positive as most of the others. The house is indeed rather pompous Craftsman decor and our room and sitting area was very large. But, the bed springs squeak.

We were greeted at the door with a smile, but it seemed like we were herded about by a sheltie during our 1 night stay, dare we stray off an approved path. Hauling luggage down the steep wooden stairway with socked feet seemed unsafe, so we elected to use the side door to exit, and were kind of chastised for that.

While the ability to do laundry here is advertised, we had to talk hard to be able to do 1 load, all stuffed together, like that was an imposition that impeded the flow of bedding for the day.

The continental breakfast was very nice. But it had to be served at a specific time.

If you're in awe of the decor, great. But, it isn't a good value. There is a chain hotel with extremely nice, large rooms and less exquisite continental breakfast that's available for 3-4 hours a couple blocks away, closer to downtown. It provides less ambiance but also shuttle service to both the airport and train station. And, it's a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Have stayed in many B&Bs and this was one of the best. The house is beautifully restored (worth going just for that), the room comfortable, Carly was friendly and helpful, and the location on the park and close to everything was fantastic. We got to walk around Anchorage through the waterside park to Sacks (good) for dinner and around the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VermontMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at Parkside three different nights during our recent trip. The beds were very comfortable, the breakfasts were excellent and Carley was very helpful. Her homemade yogurt, granola and other baked goods were a great start to each segment of our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank doc_ducttape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great in every way. CSNY83 took the words right out of our mouths. We had an early morning flight and Carly got up and made sure that the taxi was there for us at 4:15 am! She helped us make sandwichs fo the flight.

Room Tip: William Morris room was huge. Décor was exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryJ586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was the perfect place to stay in Anchorage. It's close to downtown, so you can get everywhere easily - but it's just far enough away that you can find peace and quiet in Alaska's "big city." They did a fantastic job renovating the home. The woodwork, the stained glass, the decorations, the kitchen and the living space were fabulous. I kept wandering around taking in all of the beautiful details. And if we weren't so jam-packed with things to do in Alaska, my husband and I probably would have stayed in the living area and read all of the amazing books in the libraries cover to cover. We were definitely checking out all of the books and the early-edition volumes from famous arctic explorers and mountaineers.

And Carly was fantastic. We really enjoyed chatting with her in the evenings and over breakfast. And breakfast was perfect - yummy homemade yogurt, granolas, fresh fruit, freshly baked breads - and we got to pack the extras for our hikes!

I would definitely recommend this gem in the middle of Anchorage. If you're just passing through or using Anchorage as your home base for a longer trip - Parkside is the place to be! Thanks to Wally and Jerry and the folks at Camp Denali for building such a special guest house. The love and care and attention to details is obvious. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed two nights following a wonderful visit to Camp Denali. The house is exquisite, our room and bathroom were immaculate and comfortable, and we really appreciated being able to do laundry. The house is within walking distance of many attractions and we preferred the location to "downtown." Carly was a terrific hostess, helpful, informative and interesting, and provided great breakfasts and some snacks to go. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSNY83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wildflower Inn
#4 of 126 in Anchorage
230 reviews
Arctic Fox Inn
#3 of 126 in Anchorage
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Guest House

Address: 1302 W 10th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: £133 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Parkside Guest House Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing