We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding tour, recommend highly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salmon Berry Tours - Day Tours

Salmon Berry Tours - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$149.00*
and up
Turnagain Arm Scenic Winter Tour with Aerial Tram Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We provide guided day tours, both private and 'small group' as well as custom itineraries with a personal touch and door to door service. We can help with your Alaskan adventure every step of the way!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Tennessee
Level Contributor
181 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Outstanding tour, recommend highly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

What a thoughtfully planned tour!
Richard was our guide and he couldn't have been any better.
Fabulous.
When we realized that our cruise ship let us off in Anchorage (Seward) and that Seward is THREE HOURS from Anchorage airport, we decided to make a day of it since our flight didn't leave until 8:30pm.
SO glad we chose Salmon Berry Tours!
Richard was early to pick us up, and we were early getting off the ship, so it worked out perfectly.
He was so kind to help us along the way and fabulously knowledgeable and just plain FUN.
We went all kinds of interesting places: ski tram ride with an amazing view, wonderful lunch with homemade soups and breads at the Bake Shop, a visit to the Wildlife Conservation Center, glacier hike...
Just a terrific ending to our trip.
Comfortable new van, private tour since we were the only guests...
Highly recommend!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    25
    6
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elma, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We ended up having a private tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our tour guide, Josh, was a very nice guide and very informative. We took the 3 hour city tour and he covered a lot of ground. The Alaska Heritage Center was fascinating, but we wish we could've spent more time there. He showed us everything promised and then some.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank thehappydane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woongarrah, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Last minute to Girdwood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a free day in anchorage so approached Salmon Berry opposite visitors centre. ( open to 7pm) they arranged trip to girdwood via turnagain arm. We did the Alyeska tram to top of the ski resort and had a look around. We also visited the wildlife park. Bus was very roomy and comfortable for the 12 of us. Great local guide with a good sense of humour. We were ever rushed at any stage. Very professional from start to finish and great for last minute fill ins.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisMnews0uthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We had a day left in anchorage, and few companies offer tours that depart from there - salmon berry was an exception.
We took the wildlife excursion and the guide was fantastic. Absolutely recommend the tour.

I would like to mention, however, that the lady who takes the bookings was unnecessarily disparaging about another operator (who has equally great reviews on trip advisor), which was totally unnecessary and unprofessional.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank IscaScanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalmonBerryTours, Owner at Salmon Berry Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Isca,

Thank you so much for posting this review! I am discouraged to hear that my staff may have bad-mouthed another company. That is not our style! I will talk this over with my entire group and make sure that we continue to uphold our professionalism and not let that happen again.

I will also make sure I let the guide know what a great job she did! Thanks!

Candice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, CT
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“why not take a taxi?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We booked a one hour city tour with a two hour tour of the Heritage Center.we were really looking forward to learning a lot of insider facts about Anchorage however our tour guide only drove us out and around the airport and briefly stopped at the earthquake park we did not even have a chance to get out of the van.2 hours at the Heritage Center is not really adequate we felt rushed,we felt somewhat embarrassed by our tour guides behavior with the Heritage Center docents, he kept rushing them and asking them "to be quick with their spiel" and that they needed to hurry up because "his"
group was important. when we were finished we really felt like we could have just driven our car over to the heritage center and for what we got as an anchorage city tour a taxi driver could have told as us much.we travel a lot and certainly know what is a reasonable expectation of a city tour and they fell far short of that for the price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sjkrkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalmonBerryTours, Owner at Salmon Berry Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Sjkrkk,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate knowing where we can use improvement. This tour is meant to go much differently than you describe, so I am very sorry that it did not go as it should have. Typically, we begin with the Ship Creek area to talk about the beginnings of our city. We then head toward Earthquake Park, passing through Anchorage's older neighborhoods as we go. Then we get out of the van and walk down to the monument, where the tour guide will show guests the photos and diagrams of the earthquake, and point out where the ground dropped during that time. Then we circle around one side of Lake Hood, which many guests find fascinating due to the sheer number of planes there. Lastly, we head through the Spenard neighborhood and then out to the Alaska Native Heritage Center.
The entrance of $24.95 is included in the tour, which allows guests to stay all day if they wish. However, our tour guide stays there for 1.5 to 2 hours, using that time to watch some native dancing and tour some of the houses outside in the village. The guide is supposed to discuss this fact in advance, and offer for you to stay and take the free shuttle back later if you would like. Most guests are happy to leave with the guide, but some do enjoy spending extra time at the Center. I am so sorry that he made you feel rushed! That was not meant to happen and is not how this tour usually goes.

We do have a 2-hour city tour that is more extensive as far as looking around Anchorage. However, this one should have gone much better than it did. I would love to know the day you took the tour so that I may figure out which tour guide you had and retrain him on this tour. I am very sorry that we fell short on this day! I feel bad that you did not get the full experience, and if you are still in Anchorage I would love to offer you a free 2-hour city tour so that you may learn about Anchorage more thoroughly, in addition to a full refund for the failed attempt.

If you give me a call, I will get you refunded right away. My number is 907-350-4869.

Thank you!
Candice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salmon Berry Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Salmon Berry Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing