We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the place to stay in Anchorage!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchorage Guest House
Ranked #71 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I've been staying at the Anchorage Guesthouse whenever I am in town for 10 years now, and there is a reason I keep going back. This is a spacious home, clean and quiet. the location is excellent - right by the coastal trail for bike riding or walking (it's only a 20 minute walk to downtown), and also convenient to bus lines and the airport.

The proprietor encourages adventure travelers to stay here, and the folks you meet at the Guesthouse are always interesting. I have met other outdoor enthusiasts from all over the globe, young and old. Owner Andy Baker is cheerful, helpful, and likely to end up as a good friend.

The upstairs dorm room for women is light and airy, with lots of room with only 4 persons sharing. The private upstairs rooms are likewise well-conceived. Andy has added rooms downstairs, and has done a lot of work to get light to them as well. The bathrooms are well maintained and clean. The yard is lovely. Main room furniture is sparse, but this just gives more space to those fortunate enough to select the Guesthouse. Summer 2012 saw new paint and many updates.

Room Tip: Gals - stay in the upstairs dorm: what a bargain!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventureholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed at Anchorage Guest House in July this year 2011 and it's the third time i have stayed here as i think it's the best place to stay in Anchorage. This is because it feels like a home away from home, the owner Andy Baker is very friendly and welcoming, it's a great set up with plenty of food for breakfast, comfortable beds, nice rooms and the location is excellent being in a nice neighborhood and close to the coastal trail and downtown. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Anchorage i love it there !

Room Tip: Book at least a week in advance if you can.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Pros: Value - under $90 a night in Anchorage is crazy cheap. Well-stocked with quality provisions - excellent coffee, fresh fruit, healthy cereal, organic milk and soy milk. Large common areas. Friendly owner.

Cons: When we arrived, construction materials were all around the grounds and the interior of house, although the inside was tidied up by morning. Room had no closet doors, adding to under-construction feel of the property. Curtains were cut too small to block out sunlight entirely. Once renovations are complete, though, you'd really only have the easy-to-fix issue of the curtains as a negative.

Verdict: If you're only in town for an evening or two, this is the place to stay. Even for longer-term visits, hard to justify paying Anchorage's going rate of $200+ per night unless you really need a traditional hotel's comfort and amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HJTRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The only reason we did not leave after the first night is because we had paid in advance and it was close to an event we needed to attend. The place is very dirty and unkept. There were half-finished renovation projects everywhere making it very cluttered. Our room had a sheet attached with tacks to the wall as a curtain. The walls and carpet were dirty. There were a couple of bugs crawling around every night. There was not even a night table or lamp. The place feels more like a fraternity house than a guest house.
It is definitely not worth the slightly cheaper rates. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauri70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Staying in Anchorage can be expensive compared with other parts of Alaska, but to be honest it might be worth paying that little bit extra.

We only stayed at the Anchorage Guesthouse for one night. The owner was friendly and accommodating as we arrived late and the King room was ok but there is a musty smell in the whole house. But my biggest problem was the bathroom it was disgusting! After a tiring journey I just wanted to take a long hot soak in a bath but it was disgusting and so was the toilet and I could not face trying to clean it.

Don't be misguided this is a hostel not a guesthouse!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank alaska07_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
los angeles, CA
14
Reviewed 9 July 2005

The people that run this B&B offer some help to the traveler, especially those with interest in outdoor activities and interacting with other people on the road.

However, the actual facilities leave a lot to be desired. The room contained all the garbage left by earlier travellers, including magazines that were two years old. We stayed in a musty damp basement where we heard every footstep upstairs. Sheetrock smells and construction detritus littered the dark hallway. The towels offered might be okay for washing a car but not for offering to a guest; they were ragged and worn. The worst, however, was the bathroom- a mold manifesto. The tile was covered in black slime- on the floor, the walls, even outside the stall.

All this would be okay if the price were rock bottom, but we paid over $80 for two people. The night before, we stayed in a quiet, charming, clean cabin at Summit Lake Lodge with our own sterile bathroom for the same price. Don't put up with this kind of discomfort unless you really want to commune with the bugs indoors, dust bunnies, dirt, mold and all the regular B&B hassles (waiting for the bathroom, potluck breakfast, etc). Also, it's not that close to downtown; it's a healthy 30 minute walk. On the plus side, it's right next to an excellent bike path.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2005

Whenever I'm in Anchorage I stay at the Anchorage Guesthouse. It's like staying at a friend’s house. That is what it is, a house - and for the time you are there - it is your house! Relax in the living room, eat in the dining room, take a bike out of the garage for a ride on the Coastal Trial (watch for moose), or check your e-mail. The best part is you can come and go as you please (just remember the code for the front door). In the morning enjoy a complementary breakfast with people from all over the world. The guesthouse is filled with maps and information on destinations all over the state. The bus stop is right up the road as well. You cannot beat the value in Anchorage!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HemisphereRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Voyager Inn
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
287 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A Loon's Nest
#65 of 126 in Anchorage
20 reviews
Base Camp Anchorage
#4 of 28 in Anchorage
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Guest House

Address: 2001 Hillcrest Dr, Anchorage, AK 99517-1350
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: £18 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, safe and friendly accommodation for independent adventure travelers in a quiet residential neighborhood - close to downtown, Coastal Trail and outdoor gear shops. Private and dorm rooms, parking, wifi internet, mountain bike rental, laundry, gear storage, friendly and experienced managers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchorage Guest House Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing