We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not clean!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchorage Guest House
Ranked #70 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Staying in Anchorage can be expensive compared with other parts of Alaska, but to be honest it might be worth paying that little bit extra.

We only stayed at the Anchorage Guesthouse for one night. The owner was friendly and accommodating as we arrived late and the King room was ok but there is a musty smell in the whole house. But my biggest problem was the bathroom it was disgusting! After a tiring journey I just wanted to take a long hot soak in a bath but it was disgusting and so was the toilet and I could not face trying to clean it.

Don't be misguided this is a hostel not a guesthouse!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank alaska07_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 21 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
los angeles, CA
14
Reviewed 9 July 2005

The people that run this B&B offer some help to the traveler, especially those with interest in outdoor activities and interacting with other people on the road.

However, the actual facilities leave a lot to be desired. The room contained all the garbage left by earlier travellers, including magazines that were two years old. We stayed in a musty damp basement where we heard every footstep upstairs. Sheetrock smells and construction detritus littered the dark hallway. The towels offered might be okay for washing a car but not for offering to a guest; they were ragged and worn. The worst, however, was the bathroom- a mold manifesto. The tile was covered in black slime- on the floor, the walls, even outside the stall.

All this would be okay if the price were rock bottom, but we paid over $80 for two people. The night before, we stayed in a quiet, charming, clean cabin at Summit Lake Lodge with our own sterile bathroom for the same price. Don't put up with this kind of discomfort unless you really want to commune with the bugs indoors, dust bunnies, dirt, mold and all the regular B&B hassles (waiting for the bathroom, potluck breakfast, etc). Also, it's not that close to downtown; it's a healthy 30 minute walk. On the plus side, it's right next to an excellent bike path.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2005

Whenever I'm in Anchorage I stay at the Anchorage Guesthouse. It's like staying at a friend’s house. That is what it is, a house - and for the time you are there - it is your house! Relax in the living room, eat in the dining room, take a bike out of the garage for a ride on the Coastal Trial (watch for moose), or check your e-mail. The best part is you can come and go as you please (just remember the code for the front door). In the morning enjoy a complementary breakfast with people from all over the world. The guesthouse is filled with maps and information on destinations all over the state. The bus stop is right up the road as well. You cannot beat the value in Anchorage!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HemisphereRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2003

A wonderful guesthouse, where you really feel like a guest. The manager was fun and the rooms were great. Great mix of people staying there too. My partner and I had a private room and the beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms were ok. The location was the best, though.
5 minutes walk to the coastal trail, and from there 30 minutes of beautiful scenery walking to downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roslyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 July 2001

I came to Anchorage last March as a volunteer for the Special Olympics. At that time, I did not have a clue where I would be staying during that time.

Well, I ended up staying at the Anchorage Guesthouse.
If you take your chance and travel to Alaska, stay there at least one night. It is very affordable ($25 a bed), with a great continental breakfast.

It is a most welcoming place, full of character, where you can feel like at home, and very free. Close to the Ocean, and a short walk on the Coastal trail from downtown, it is a wonderful to start and end your Alaskan adventure.

You will meet the real adventurers there, many guests from overseas, get hot tips on where to go, listen to exciting bear stories from travelers coming back from their trips.

If you ever go to Anchorage, check that place out!
www.akhouse.com
You will be surprised!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
15.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
31.9 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,129 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Guest House

Address: 2001 Hillcrest Dr, Anchorage, AK 99517-1350
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: £19 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, safe and friendly accommodation for independent adventure travelers in a quiet residential neighborhood - close to downtown, Coastal Trail and outdoor gear shops. Private and dorm rooms, parking, wifi internet, mountain bike rental, laundry, gear storage, friendly and experienced managers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchorage Guest House Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing