We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, but with a minor flaw”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, but with a minor flaw”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at the Anchorage Marriott Downtown for a couple of nights at the beginning of a 5-night RCI land portion of a cruise tour. It is a very attractive hotel, and the room was spacious and comfortable. We did not have much of a view from our room, but did not spend a lot of time there. The breakfast buffet was very good and not unreasonable in price, although not inexpensive. The service at the front desk and in the breakfast room was courteous and friendly.

My minor complaint is that they charge $12.95/day for wifi service in the room. Considering that we were paying about $300/night for the room, I thought that this was a bit silly. We have stayed at many much less expensive hotels and motels where wifi service was available in the room at no charge. At the very least, Marriott could provide a computer in the lobby or business center with complimentary internet service. One was available only at a charge, although there was another available from which you could do online airline check-in and print boarding passes. I mentioned this issue to the concierge, who agreed that it was a deficiency, but said that the policy was set by the corporate headquarters. While we did not have time to spend a lot of time using the internet during our stay, it was not worth $12.95/day for just the few minutes that I would have used it. Time for Marriott to update its policy in this regard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granddadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    287
    142
    24
    11
See reviews for
147
220
22
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

A significant part of my awarding a five star rating is based on attitude and service. On this basis I award 5 stars to this hotel. The hotel is your standard Marriott hotel, and that is not a bad thing. As we travel around the world, it's reassuring to know that quality standards and consistency that we expect with Marriott are received.

Staff was most accommodating. In all departments!!! Check-in, by extending our check out to 6pm. Room service with special meal requests. Concierge lounge for special opening for us. No request was denied!

A very convenient couple of block walk to anything you'd want to do in Anchorage.

PS. A must visit is the museum, a short 8 minute walk.

Room Tip: ask for concierge floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The Downtown Anchorage Marriot is gently worn and caters to the business client. If you are a tourist, find somewhere else. There are better! $12.95 for Wi-Fi. Give me a break!! Should be free. Most quality hotels offer this amenity for free. Glad I had my i-Phone and personnal hot spot. GEEEZ! Spartan business room. Their breakfast buffet left a lot to the imigination. We walked away and a few blocks to The Snow City Cafe and had a wonderful breakfast, albiet after a 45 minute wait. Marriot needsto do better.

Room Tip: Find a room somewhere else in Anchorage - there are so many better choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here precruise and were very comfortable. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. I used the gym and it needed to be updated and a little larger for the size of hotel. The hotel is located in easy walking distance to good restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andycrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This hotel was one of our last stops after an Alaskan cruisetour. The hotel is immaculately kept and the service is very friendly. Great views from rooms on upper floors. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Great restaurants were a short walk and the lobby bar was convenient and a nice place to sit and chat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ileana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This was the third time I have stayed at this Marriott. This was an overnight business trip with a stopover here. Renovated lobby looks great, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The room (1422) had a partial view of the Inlet and the city, which was fine. Refrigerator in room helped a lot. Flat screen TV, weird one-cup coffeemaker, but room was spotless. This appeared to be a newly renovated room, and it was well laid out, with a desk and two queen beds. The bathroom was really well laid out, with the amenities arrayed on a series of unobtrusive shelves. Again, spotless. Bed very comfortable but pillows a little mushy for me. I used one of the decorative pillows to sleep, since it was firmer. There was an easy chair in the room, very comfortable. The lighting was of the "green" variety, but it was actually bright enough to read by. My only negative was the gym was very limited. It had ellipticals and treadmills, no argument there, but for the weights all there were were two benches and a free weight rack. That is unusual for a Marriott. I normally stay at Marriott hotels and they tend to have the best workout areas, but not this Marriott. For a workout, the Sheraton Anchorage is better. The small lounge areas were pleasant and I didn't mind enjoying a drink there. The location is perfectly suited to walking to restaurants or down to the Inlet. Very convenient.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy33208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This was the last stop after 2 weeks of exploring Alaska and we couldn't have been happier. The room was spotless and had blackout curtains!! My husband is a Rewards member and it was nice to have access to the concierge lounge, not just for the food but the views. We lucked out with a corner room as well, which gave us plenty of space to organize our luggage for the long trip home. The hotel is conveniently located in walking distance of plenty of restaurants making for many dinner options.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheBiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,824 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#18 of 73 in Anchorage
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
542 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
1,142 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Marriott Downtown

Property: Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Address: 820 West 7th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#11 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury accommodations, first-rate service and an ideal location at Anchorage Marriott Downtown. Our Anchorage hotel's setting is perfect - within walking distance of local businesses, shops, restaurants and attractions including the Anchorage Convention District, Anchorage Museum, Performing Arts Center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Marriott Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Marriott Anchorage
Anchorage Marriott Downtown Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing