We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alaskan warmth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The friendliest hotel I've ever stay at........ Everyone the staff will assist you and their advice is good. The location is a few walkable block from the heart of downtown,shopping, train station and dinning.
Don't forget your swimsuit indoor heated pool.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

I'm a Marriott gold, so that made my decision as to where to stay simple. The hotel was clean, how great bars/restaurants by it - but most importantly - the were the friendliest staff at every level - and I've seen a lot of good service to appreciate it). So thankful to have stayed there - clean workout center, nice pool, concierge (Renz) was spectacular as well as Eric the Bellman.
Thank you team!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boring_Meetings_Suck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for a week on business. Clean rooms and common areas, extraordinarily friendly staff. The wifi was horrible. Better to use your phone as a hotspot. Breakfast was a little pricey. There are some good local diners nearby for good breakfast at a more reasonable price. This was my first trip to Anchorage and I would stay at Marriott again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCTraveler831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Hotel is in the heart of downtown within walking distance of restaurants. Staff was always there to welcome and help. Good staff at the bar counter. Good valet service. Overall the experience was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASB052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our company uses this hotel a lot and we love it. The reason it gets the bad rating is the slow wifi. When we stay here we need to do work and it is not possible due to the slow wifi. If you look at a previous review they promised an upgrade last month. This has been an ongoing process for about a year and it is not getting better. Staff told us they need a whole new system. Just left the hotel after the promised upgrade and no better To the manager responding to this stop the promises until you really fix it

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank globalpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R, Director of Sales at Anchorage Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing us for your accommodations in Anchorage area, we understand that you have other options and sincerely appreciate your business.
I wanted to personally apologize for the issues you encountered with our internet service during your stays. I understand that it must have been frustrating for you.
As you mentioned earlier we are on the schedule to upgrade our internet system throughout the property and become compliant with Marriott's Global Property Network Standard's before the end of this year.
I understand your frustration and apologize one more time for the inconvenience.
Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you on your future trips to Anchorage area. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and by day 1 were ready to peace out. The check-in process was ridiculously slow. This is a common used hotel for cruises, so hundreds of people showed up shortly after us and all received rooms before us. Finally went to desk after 2 hours and got a room right away - must have forgotten about telling us to sit in the lobby and wait. Room service messed up food order. Staff was mediocre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R, Director of Sales at Anchorage Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hello Kimberly,

Thank you very much for reaching out to us with feedback from your stay last August. It is incredibly valuable and helps us continuously improve our services. I sincerely apologize for the delay during your check in process, I understand that can be frustrating after a day of traveling. We strive to make our check in a seamless process. While in the summer months we do see a healthy volume of cruise guests; we take steps, such as making room keys ahead of time and pre checking in all groups, to ensure that the check in process for our individual and business travelers is a smooth one. I also apologize for the error in your room service order. I hope that overall you enjoyed your time in Anchorage and Alaska. The next time you are in Anchorage we would love the opportunity to host you again.

Take care,
Steve Rader
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Overall the hotel is very nice and clean but the pricing on a number of things is ridiculous. There is no free internet. You have to pay $15/day and the internet is SLOW! there is no free parking nearby and the food (at least breakfast) is expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl H, Manager at Anchorage Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Hello Brian R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are very happy that you found our Hotel to be in a great location as well as being clean and nice, we strive for that 100% of the time.
I am sorry that you did not see on our web-site that our property does charge for internet prior to your arrival. We do apologize regarding the speed of the internet during your stay, I would like to share with you that tomorrow 4/5 we will be upgrading our internet system. If you would like to, please contact me so we can discuss the charges for your internet and your lack of satisfaction regarding that. We would like to opportunity to correct this for you.

Thank you again for your time.

Regards,

Cheryl Hurd
Senior Sales Manager
cheryl.hurd@marriottsales.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,898 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#19 of 74 in Anchorage
1,173 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
613 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Marriott Downtown

Address: 820 West 7th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#11 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £107 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury accommodations, first-rate service and an ideal location at Anchorage Marriott Downtown. Our Anchorage hotel's setting is perfect - within walking distance of local businesses, shops, restaurants and attractions including the Anchorage Convention District, Anchorage Museum, Performing Arts Center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anchorage Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Marriott Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Marriott Anchorage
Anchorage Marriott Downtown Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing