We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for Anchorage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is a standard Marriott, nothing great but nothing poor. The staff is friendly and tries very hard. The internet is overloaded but you can do some work if you are persistent. My only gripe is the climate control system. Just like another Anchorage Hotel I've stayed in, in the Summer, the room only has cold air coming out. If you try to select a warmer room temperature, the room will only blow cold air harder into your room. The reverse is true in the winter, only warm air is available. If your room is too warm and you try to select a cooler temperature, only hot air will blow out. The hotel gets really busy during fishing season as well as when buses full of cruise ship guests arrive. The front desk usually has all hands on deck but it is quite a "nut house". The hotel location is good, there are some nice restaurants in the area. Overall, 3 - 4 stars...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank thekubiaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Marriott Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were heading to a cruise and stayed two days at this hotel, because suit jackets are required on cruse ships I brought one. We hung it in the closet and when we departed for the cruise we for got it. We couldn't get the jacket to the ship in time for the cruise but the manager is shipping it to our home at no charge. We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel and to have them follow up a mistake we made by shipping the suit jacket home for us is outstanding service.

Room Tip: Stay at the Marriott Downtown, great hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Desk clerk gave us keys to an OCCUPIED room! Hotel had 6 in this room, 3 of us, 2 unknown others and one total stranger! Seems they don't know what they are doing. THEN they charge for wi-fi! Over priced and prefer simple hotel or motel...........................

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jerry7111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl H, Manager at Anchorage Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hello Jerry -

Thank you for staying here with us at the Anchorage Marriott Downtown. I do apologize that you had a less than satisfactory experience here with us, as this is not the standard that we hold ourselves to and strive for. Please be assured that we are using this incident as a training opportunity, and have taken measures to make sure that this does not happen to any of our future guests. We hope that you will make back up to Alaska so that we may have a chance to deliver the service that you deserve.

I hope you enjoyed your time in our beautiful city!

Best regards,

Katie Purrington
Sales Manager
(907)792-2119

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel and the Captain Cook Hotel nearby both rise high above the Anchorage skyline and from the top floors facing west, offer spectacular views of Cook Inlet, distance mountain ranges, and plane traffic at the airport (about 5 miles away). I thought the extra money worth it for the great picture windows and view.
There is a small lobby and coffee bar in the morning, and on the other side, a buffet breakfast and small restaurant.
A lot of people get up early and leave on tour buses for day-trips to Denali. Others were leaving on cruises. I would not recommend either. We saw them come back in the late evening and they were totally exhausted. We rented a car and had a great time. Anchorage is very easy to drive (there aren't that many people there, even in the summer) and there are only two major roads leaving the city. If I were going to visit Denali, I would book a room somewhere up there and not try to return to Anchorage that day.
As for cruises, we are glad we skipped them. Even in early August, many days of our week there were rainy and cloudy. You wouldn't see much from a cruise ship and you go to a lot of fake, touristy towns along the coast. You need to get out and drive/hike to see the real Alaska, which can even be seen in the downtown park whose coastal edge runs between downtown and beside the airport (we saw moose grazing there).
As soon as you leave the city proper of Anchorage, which takes about 10-15 minutes, the real Alaska begins. It is like a huge national park that goes on forever. No kidding!

Room Tip: On the weekends, you could park at a meter and avoid the hotel parking fee. Check with the front des...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank greg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Overall we found this to be a pretty standard, well located,Marriott. The pleasant surprise was the genuinely awesome (much overused adjective in these parts!) view of Cook Inlet from our 13th floor room. The room was large, albeit rather dated, quiet and comfortable. Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Downsides were the variable (but free) wifi connection and the lack of a room safe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank afcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here our last night in Alaska. Nice hotel, good amenities. Breakfast was tasty. Close to all the stores/shops and waterfront in Anchorage. A quick drive to the airport. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, stowed our bags for the day so we could explore the town before heading out in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

At the end of a 2 week sea-land vacation this was a very pleasant spot to wind it down. Very good location and a room that more than exceeded our expectations. Totally clean and quiet with black out shades so you could get a little shut eye in the land of the midnight sun. Everything is in a easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Higher is better for the view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,873 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
1,161 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
580 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Marriott Downtown

Address: 820 West 7th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#11 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £106 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury accommodations, first-rate service and an ideal location at Anchorage Marriott Downtown. Our Anchorage hotel's setting is perfect - within walking distance of local businesses, shops, restaurants and attractions including the Anchorage Convention District, Anchorage Museum, Performing Arts Center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anchorage Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Marriott Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Marriott Anchorage
Anchorage Marriott Downtown Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing