We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but not great”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Pretty good hotel, but not great. Rather expensive. Decor ok, nothing special. Decent breakfast. Helpful staff. Good location. Overall not really up to the usual Marriott standard, especially for the price. Might come back but would look around first.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPFlat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    263
    129
    21
    11
See reviews for
135
195
19
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was with a group of 12, our reservations had been made months in advance and the day before it was confirmed. When we arrived they had no information on our group, at least that they could find. We needed to have 2 queens in each room, they put us in one king. No rooms of either type were ready for over an hour and a half. The do not offer a complimentary breakfast.

We choose to stay at this hotel because of catching a train to Seward. There were many people in line with us that had stayed at a different hotel.

I would never stay there again. Ever.

Room Tip: don't choose this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damiana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Anchorage Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your response. If you would be so kind to email or telephone me I would love the opportunity to find out what went wrong with your group as I was not aware of this situation.

I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you.

Warm Regards,


Cheryl Hurd
Director of Sales
907-792-2104
cheryl.hurd@marriottsales.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
121 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The downtown Marriott hotel in Anchorage is ok. No gym to speak of. Rooms are clean and normal size. Concierge lounge is ok. Limited for evening and breakfast. On the bright side. Staff is friendly. Good location. Lots of restaurants and shops close by. Check marriott website for deals or AAA rates. Otherwise a little pricey for what you get.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank G650traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Anchorage Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to respond. I am very happy to see that overall you were very pleased with your stay. We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Cheryl Hurd
Director of Sales
907-792-2119
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days before our land/sea tour. We paid for the 1st 2 days ourselves before the land tour package kicked in. Grossly overpriced for what you get. They charge $9 to use the computers unless it's to get your boarding passes. No concierge to speak of. No complimentary coffee in the morning, they charge $2 or $3 depending on who gets it for you. The breakfast buffet was pretty good with one major flaw! The person making the omelets didn't wear any gloves and was handling the food additions to the omelets with his bare hands. Other than that, the location was great and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariec4245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Anchorage Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We take your comments very seriously and use them to provide better service to all of our guests.

We hope you enjoyed your trip to our beautiful State and thank you for choosing Marriott.

Warm Regards,

Cheryl Hurd
Director of Sales
907-792-2104
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
560 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in hotel at end of our cruise as part of land package. We added an extra night and requested adjoining rooms as we had our young grand daughters with us. Hotel reservation mgr. said that would be no problem. On arrival we were not even on same floor, night mgr. straightened it out. Next morning our room keys did not work, they said we had checked out, we straightened that out and went about our sightseeing. Returning late that night we found our room had not been touched with towels still piled on the bathroom floor. They sent up some clean towels for us. The rooms were spacious but again it was expensive for one night stay at over $350 per room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Anchorage Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello Joe C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry about the confusion regarding your adjoining rooms and other issues, this is something that can certainly be avoided and we will use this as an opportunity to better train our staff.

Please except our sincere apologies.

I do hope you had a fantastic trip to our beautiful State!

Warm Regards,

Cheryl Hurd
Director of Sales
cheryl.hurd@marriottsales.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

It is a typical Marriott - Great rooms and service but very expensive - Possibly that is true with most hotels and accommodations in Anchorage and in general within Alaska as the tourist season is only 3-4 months. Hotel charges for parking (Valet) and does not have a concierge. For the price it charges it needs to be significantly better. Even the Executive lounge charges for alcoholic drinks including beer. The breakfast in the Exec lounge is lot lesser in variety than downstairs lounge but they charge ~$20 for full breakfast. On the positive side, the service is very good. The location is quite decent - downtown and quiet.

Room Tip: If you have access to lounge floor, ask for room next to the lounge. Has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod MA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I will give this a very good rating simply because I was impressed with the volume of visitors and luggage that they manage very well. This hotel seems to be a starting and ending point for many Alaskan adventures ... including a vast amount of cruise ship people! I give the hotel credit as everything appeared to flow seamlessly from what I saw. We were only there for one night before heading North and one night before we flew out the next day. I was a bit concerned when we were told to leave our luggage outside the door in the morning and it will be on our scheduled shuttle to the airport. Surely it would get mixed up with the hundreds of pieces of cruise shippers luggage! Somehow (and to the credit of those who work in that department!) our luggage was with us when it was supposed to be. The breakfast offerings were vast and again, if you cannot find something to like here something is amiss! Servers were courteous and attentive. Servers were from all over the Globe. Ours tuned in to our American accents and provided us with empty coffee cups "to go" after our breakfast. I noticed that that was not the case with guests who were obviously not from the lower 48. Nice touch! Our room was spotless (as expected), bed comfortable and pillows yummy! Good sleep will be had here. My only complaint was the smell on the floor we were on. There seemed to be a smell of hot rubber coming from the air vent and that did wake me up several times during the night. I thought it was confined to our room but noticed that it was in the hall in the morning as well. Something that probably only needs a simple tweaking to make it right. This hotel IS very conveniently located in Anchorage with most everything within walking distance. Anchorage is a great and easy city to walk and explore! This is where I will say that I did prefer our stay at Springhill Suites (also a Marriott property) even though it was not as conveniently located. WiFi should be free in this day and age! Who doesn't use it!? No local Alaska Channel 2 on the TV and front desk didn't seem to know what it was. That channel is very helpful to those planning a day out or who simply want to know what's going on locally for the short period of time they are in their room. I also had difficulty with the vast number of "guests" who were sprawled out all over the lobby and into the bar area of the restaurant awaiting their departure shuttles. Not the hotel's fault, people should know better but perhaps "day rooms" could be offered for those with the late departures that are common in Anchorage. Do note the "rain jackets" on the wall of the lobby. Those intrigued me and I now know that they were made from the intestines of a sea creature (seal?) and sewn together to make the rain jacket. Nothing is/was wasted!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifesAnAdventure216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#14 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Marriott Downtown

Property: Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Address: 820 W 7th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3407
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#11 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Anchorage Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Marriott Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Marriott Anchorage
Anchorage Marriott Downtown Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing