We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
164 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location, very modern”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I will definitely stay here again. Nicest hotel I've stayed at in Anchorage, great location, the higher floors give you a good view as there are only a handful of high-rise buildings in the city. The central mall is a few blocks away which is no worries in the summer, in winter bundle up for the walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NapGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    263
    130
    21
    11
See reviews for
135
196
19
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on the final night of my trip to AK and couldn't have asked for a better room. The hotel is central to downtown AK and in walking distance to some really cool shops and local attractions. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The view overlooking the city was fab!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterflyhover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This Marriott is in a great location within walking distance to everything downtown. The staff is super friendly and helpful, we had a beautiful view of the waterfront and even stayed up long enough to watch a glorious sunset (at midnight!) one night from our room. Our room was nice, clean and typical Marriott quality which is always great. Parking is expensive by valet gut we always parked on the street within less than a block and were fine, given that we usually were off on excursions by 9 each day. Parking on the street is free after 6 and until 9. We are Marriott platinum and stayed here for five nights on points. We were treated like royalty with a nice upgrade and warm, welcoming service. On our 6th night in Anchorage, we moved to the Westmark to begin our Denali cruise land package with Holland America. Yuk! No comparison at all withe the Marriott! Holland America does itself no favors booking it's passengers at the Westmark. The Marriott is far superior.

Room Tip: High floor has great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTWriting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Pretty good hotel, but not great. Rather expensive. Decor ok, nothing special. Decent breakfast. Helpful staff. Good location. Overall not really up to the usual Marriott standard, especially for the price. Might come back but would look around first.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPFlat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was with a group of 12, our reservations had been made months in advance and the day before it was confirmed. When we arrived they had no information on our group, at least that they could find. We needed to have 2 queens in each room, they put us in one king. No rooms of either type were ready for over an hour and a half. The do not offer a complimentary breakfast.

We choose to stay at this hotel because of catching a train to Seward. There were many people in line with us that had stayed at a different hotel.

I would never stay there again. Ever.

Room Tip: don't choose this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damiana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Anchorage Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your response. If you would be so kind to email or telephone me I would love the opportunity to find out what went wrong with your group as I was not aware of this situation.

I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you.

Warm Regards,


Cheryl Hurd
Director of Sales
907-792-2104
cheryl.hurd@marriottsales.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
121 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The downtown Marriott hotel in Anchorage is ok. No gym to speak of. Rooms are clean and normal size. Concierge lounge is ok. Limited for evening and breakfast. On the bright side. Staff is friendly. Good location. Lots of restaurants and shops close by. Check marriott website for deals or AAA rates. Otherwise a little pricey for what you get.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank G650traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Anchorage Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to respond. I am very happy to see that overall you were very pleased with your stay. We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Cheryl Hurd
Director of Sales
907-792-2119
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days before our land/sea tour. We paid for the 1st 2 days ourselves before the land tour package kicked in. Grossly overpriced for what you get. They charge $9 to use the computers unless it's to get your boarding passes. No concierge to speak of. No complimentary coffee in the morning, they charge $2 or $3 depending on who gets it for you. The breakfast buffet was pretty good with one major flaw! The person making the omelets didn't wear any gloves and was handling the food additions to the omelets with his bare hands. Other than that, the location was great and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariec4245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Anchorage Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We take your comments very seriously and use them to provide better service to all of our guests.

We hope you enjoyed your trip to our beautiful State and thank you for choosing Marriott.

Warm Regards,

Cheryl Hurd
Director of Sales
907-792-2104
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Marriott Downtown

Property: Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Address: 820 West 7th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#11 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury accommodations, first-rate service and an ideal location at Anchorage Marriott Downtown. Our Anchorage hotel's setting is perfect - within walking distance of local businesses, shops, restaurants and attractions including the Anchorage Convention District, Anchorage Museum, Performing Arts Center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Anchorage Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Marriott Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Marriott Anchorage
Anchorage Marriott Downtown Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing