We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #71 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This B&B was a disappointment. My friend and I had a small room in what felt like a small house. The bathroom was not clean or updated. In addition, someone walked in on me both in the evening and in the morning (the bathroom lock was not reliable). While the caretaker is pleasant and breakfast is good, my friend sat in a seat that had old egg all over the plate. (The dishwasher clearly hadn't done its job.) We found medication sitting on our dresser in plain sight. Overall, the experience was uncomfortable. We paid slightly more the week before for a different B&B and had a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: The Italy Room has twin beds but is rather small (and needs a thorough cleaning).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were looking forward to our stay in Anchorage but were disappointed with this B&B. it was very shabby, needs complete renovation although the bed was okay. Mostly, the place needs a thorough cleaning and dusting. When we arrived, I took a washcloth to dust the bookcase headboard. The bathroom rugs needed to be washed and the floor scoured.
On the positive side Irene was very pleasant and friendly and made great coffee.

Room Tip: We had the former master bedroom called the Africa room which had many knick knacks on shelves, none...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I would rate Irene's B&B as one of the best I have ever stayed in. She makes really nice pancakes for breakfast and has really good stories to tell. It is in a nice and friendly looking neighbourhood, so not in downtown, but there is a bus stop not too far away. If I come back to Anchorage, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Thanks so much for your hospitality. This BNB was a wonderful place to stay with real alaskan host and the breakfast was wonderful. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone seeking more then a hotel experience with great advice about Alaska from real people who live there. Thanks again for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamonF437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

This was our first B&B experience and I am glad we stayed here. Making a reservation was easy and Irene also helped to figure out other details for our week long Alaska trip. Irene has travelled across the globe and has a great collection of items from different countries. We stayed in 'Africa' room and every item in the room was as per the room theme. Dave served excellent breakfast and he is also a great resource for travel tips in Alaska. Conversations with Irene are funny, interesting and informative as she has some great stories to share. The diversity of people staying at this place is amazing and is reflected in the numerous flags outside of B&B. I highly recommend this place for the rooms, service and more importantly the wonderful people.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhramar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here, mainly because of the friendly caretaker. She had such great stories to tell over breakfast about all the mountain climbers who use her place as a basecamp. The room was comfortable, even though we didn't end up with the one we reserved so be care of that. I had trouble sleeping because I could hear another guest in the room above ours snoring all night. It's a house with average noise control and he seemed like an exceptionally loud snorer. Also the bathrooms are shared, which wasn't completely apparent or expected (to me) of a bed and breakfast. It is more European hostel-style with private rooms. The food was fabulous and the location in a quiet neighborhood was very nice. Parking available in the driveway.

Room Tip: Be sure to call and verify your reservation and room selection. As with most places when travelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strontium87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

By a pleasant accident my friend and I ended up at this adorable B&B this weekend. Our original plan was to stay elsewhere but things got mixed up and we happened to stumble upon the Alaskan European B&B. We were delighted to find that they were able to squeak us in for the weekend! The B&B is located in a very nice, quiet neighborhood in Anchorage. Each room in the B&B has a different theme (Holland, Italy, ext). We stayed in the Holland room. It was very clean, and very comfortable. They made us feel right at home! The whole house was warm and inviting, it felt like staying at Grandmas! The morning we were there, the breakfast was wonderful! Home made jams, delicious pancakes, and delicious coffee! Overall it was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
My Place Hotel - Anchorage, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Base Camp Anchorage
#4 of 28 in Anchorage
76 reviews
Ingra House
#75 of 126 in Anchorage
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3107 Cottonwood St, Anchorage, AK 99508-4318
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: £49 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Atmosphere. Your hosts are fluent in Dutch, German, Italian, French, and Swiss, and they also speak some Spanish. They have been residents of Alaska for 33 years and are happy to share their knowledge of Alaska with you. We offer delicious homemade European-style breakfasts, and are happy to accommodate the needs of travelers from all over the world. We are proud to assist mountain climbers who stay with us before and after their trips by allowing them to use our large backyard for spreading and drying tents and other equipment. We also offer our garage for equipment storage and we can store important documents, such as your passport, in our safe while you are out climbing the mountain. A special rate is available for climbers -- please contact us for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaskan European Bed & Breakfast Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing