We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Part of Our Iditarod Trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 907 Tours: Anchorage - Day Tours

907 Tours: Anchorage - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$199.00*
and up
Glaciers and Wildlife - Super Scenic Guided Day Tour from Anchorage
Ranked #12 of 74 Tours in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Make your Alaskan memories with 907 Tours. Enjoy your guided tour to glaciers, wildlife and the mountains along the world renown scenery of the Turnagain Arm of the Cook Inlet. Hike the Matanuska Glacier or take a dog sled kennel tour. Admissions are always included in our prices. The owners are 40 plus year residents dedicated to providing you a personal and fun experience. Operating year round.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Part of Our Iditarod Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hubby and I were recently in Anchorage for a dream trip - the Iditarod Race. We wanted to experience as much as possible: the musher banquet, the ceremonial start in Anchorage and the re-start in Willow. We opted for a tour with 907 Tours to take us down the trail a bit from the actual re-start in Willow... We were not disappointed!
Susan Fouse (co-owner with her husband John) is a phenomenal guide and host. She knows the area very well and is, like me, a die-hard Iditarod fan! She knew a lot of history about the race and had found the perfect place to take her clients for an up close and personal view of the Iditarod out on the trail! For me, aside from meeting my favorite musher, this was the highlight of the entire weekend!
We had lunch and at a wonderful little lodge just a short walk from the Iditarod trail (they also have a shuttle if you prefer to ride)! When we arrived at the trail, chairs had been set up for us about 6 feet from the trail! There were some local residents there as well but it wasn't crowded at all like the Willow location would have been. It wasn't long before the first musher came through giving everyone high fives as they passed and giving everyone a close up of the dogs doing what they were born to do out on the train. It was an AMAZING afternoon of fun, excitement and great memories! Our van was filled with fun folks and Susan added to the fun with her great sense of humor!
We enjoyed Susan and the Iditarod Re-start Tour so much that we decided to go on the All-in-One Tour with her the next day! Again, we were not disappointed! The All-in-One started with a city highlights tour and a little history about Anchorage. After lunch (included with the tour) we toured along the Seward Highway and Turnagain Arm as we made our way to a tram ride at Mt Aleskya, viewing beautiful scenery in the Portage Glacier Valley and a tour of the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. Susan truly cares about her clients and loves Alaska which is a winning combination for a tour business. I highly recommend 907 Tours when you are in Anchorage - you won't regret it!
This review is a little late in coming but only because as soon as we returned from Alaska we were busy with work and a blessed family event - we were more than pleased and will definitely tour with 907 Tours whenever we are in Anchorage.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RoxxyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
907Tours, Owner at 907 Tours: Anchorage - Day Tours, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Wow, Roxxy, thanks so much for this humbling review. I started 907 Tours out of my love for Alaska and the incredible opportunity to share it. I'm so grateful to hear that John and I are successfully fulfilling our dream. Congratulations on your blessed event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    8
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roaring Gap, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly and Knowledgeable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were picked up by Co-Owner, Susan, and had a whirlwind tour, which covered everything we'd asked for. We only had part of a day, and had to catch a plane. We were not disappointed. After a short trip around Anchorage and the (surprisingly large) port, we headed out to see Alyeska Ski Resort (rode the gondola and had time to take pictures), the Wildlife Conservation Center (Susan knew several of the animals personally). viewed glaciers, lovely rivers, etc. It was well worth the money spent, since we would have had to rent a car and waste time trying to find our way. The van was very comfortable and rode like a limo. There were snacks and water in the van, and food and restrooms were available at some of the stops. Susan is full of information, very pleasant, and very easy to talk to. Loved it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bcblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
907Tours, Owner at 907 Tours: Anchorage - Day Tours, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. I'm so happy we were able to see and do all of the things you were looking forward to in the short time we had. Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We were in Anchorage for the Iditarod and wanted a tour outside of Anchorage. We chose 907 due to recommendations from a friend and trip advisor. We chose all in one tour which was a great choice. John is so knowledgeable and helped us to learn more about Alaska. It was snowing all day. The tour through Turnagain arm, Mt. Alyeska, wildlife conservation center was fantastic with all the stops for pictures. We were given plenty of time at each stop and never in any hurry. I will join 907 again when returning to Anchorage.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LAD0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
907Tours, Owner at 907 Tours: Anchorage - Day Tours, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Glad you enjoyed the All In One tour with us, and hope you enjoyed the snow. It's bright and sunny here now, and spring is just around the corner. We hope. Please come back and visit us again when it's warmer. Summers here are really nice. Not too hot, and the drive south along the Turnagain Arm is beautiful, as usual.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding Day with 907 Tours at the Iditarod Restart in Willow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This review is a duplicate of a review I just submitted under Activities in Anchorage: Iditarod Dog Race.


Having visited Alaska at least twenty times over the past ten years, both for pleasure and for business, we had never been able to time it so that we could watch both the Ceremonial start of the Iditarod in Anchorage and the Official Restart in Willow. This year we went to Alaska just for the Iditarod activities. Attending the Ceremonial start in downtown Anchorage, beginning with watching the trucks bring in the snow the night before to cover the streets, allows you to actually meet all of the mushers and to interact with their dog teams. This year Fur Rondy was also scheduled during the same time so we were able to do the Run with the Reindeer that afternoon. As you might imagine, there are thousands of people here and it can get a bit crowded at times. The next day we went to watch the Official Restart of the race with 907 Tours. Although we typically shy away from any type of organized tour, riding with Susan and John Fouse in their new Mercedes Vans was quite pleasant. The BEST thing about their trip is that you are able to avoid all of the crowds at the Willow restart and instead have an opportunity to be along the trail where you can cheer on and high five each musher as they come by. No barricades or fences impede your ability to experience this Race! We got some incredible videos and photos of the dog teams as they raced through. The Tour also included a great lunch at a family run local lodge. We rode up to Willow with Susan, who has lived in Alaska for many years. Susan is a wealth of information, not just about the Iditarod but also about any and all things Alaskan. 907 picks you off and drops you off at your hotel. I recommend the Anchorage Hilton as it is right around the corner from the Ceremonial starting point for the Iditarod. 907 Tours offer numerous small group tours year round. I highly recommend them for this customized tour for the Willow Restart!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
907Tours, Owner at 907 Tours: Anchorage - Day Tours, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks so much. Iditarod Re-Start is one of our favorite days of the year. We're so glad you had a nice time. I enjoyed the ride back with the group so much. Lots of laughs. Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Iditarod Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Susan is a such a delightful and knowledgeable person. As a past volunteer for the Iditarod, she is able to provide insight into the entire Iditarod process -- which made the tour all the more enjoyable and increased our interest about teams beyond our favorites. Timely stops for coffee and health breaks too. Clean, roomy van equipped with audio system so that passengers in the rear don't miss important stories, news or information. We couldn't have been more pleased with the location at Deshka to view the Iditarod. Such a relaxed, fun, friendly atmosphere with great views for photos and "high-fives" with each and every musher. She made sure to visit with each guest to ensure we knew what to expect and full fill any special requests. Susan has a great sense of humor and was very accommodating when the passengers took a vote to stop for coffee on the way home. She truly is interested in pleasing her guests and making memories.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dCasualTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
907Tours, Owner at 907 Tours: Anchorage - Day Tours, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for your review! John and I love what we do. During Iditarod Re-start everyone is focused on "going to the dogs". It's so much fun and the group makes this day special,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 907 Tours: Anchorage - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to 907 Tours: Anchorage - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing