We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better off elsewhere”

Kava's Pancake House
Ranked #261 of 870 Restaurants in Anchorage
Price range: US$6 - US$39
Cuisines: American, Diner, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boulder Creek, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Better off elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We tried this place based on a number of positive reviews from another site. Unfortunately it ended up being really average at best - service on the surly side and drab food. Maybe we didn't order the right things...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Go on Thursday night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Kahlua pork is delicious, the portions are huge! Breakfast is also great anytime of the day, but my favorite is the Thursday night special.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawnswife3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
256 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast with phenomenal menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This place hit the spot! I'm not sure what exactly I ordered but it was a humongous omelette stuffed with corned beef hash, avocado, a bunch of other stuff and covered in hollandaise sauce with toast and hashbrowns. The menu was ridiculous with a plethora of options and everyone loved their food. One friend said it was the best pancakes she ever had!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyLoverOfSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Great breakfast with a touch of the islands. There have been a few restaurants in this building over the years. I hope Kava's stays for a long time. Food is great and quantity enough to take some home for later. Prices are more than reasonable for what you get. The friendly staff makes it all the more better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
“Fantastic breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was the first place we ate when we arrived in Anchorage. The Breakfast Fried Rice blew me away, the serving is enough for three meals. The severs are very friendly, and we have gone back multiple times. The appearance is a bit worn down but it is still very cozy and the food makes up for it ten fold. I have no complaints and plan on frequenting the restaurant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kava's Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Kava's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing