We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeshore Inn & Suites(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$144
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Historic Anchorage Hotel(Anchorage)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$88
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$111
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$133
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
108
191
76
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
191
76
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain noisefull kitchencontinental breakfastgranolaseparate bedroominstant oatmealtrain depottaking the trainsmall kitchenalaska railroadtrain travelqueen suitelight sleepereach morningbring earplugswithin walking distancerooms are huge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I arrived here at 5:00am after a delayed flight. hotel was $100/night. About 100 yards uphill from the train station.noise from trains could be heard but it was not that bad and it seemed to be quiet from around 9:30pm to 3:30am. this is a small hotel right near all the major areas in downtown. the hotel was clean.the rooms were big,comfortable with dark shades for those long sunny alaska nights. they had small efficiency kitchens in each room. very short walk to the train station. The Staff at the hotel were fantastic for the two nights that i was there!

Room Tip: rooms had the dark shades for long sunny alaska nights and efficiency kitchens.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LITETRAVELER62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We booked directly with the hotel and paid only $100 US for our room – a great bargain compared to other hotels in Anchorage. One of the other reasons I picked this hotel was that no one had reported bedbugs on tripadvisor or bedbugregistry.

We stayed here for one night before starting our Alaskan cruise. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. We found the room to be very large, clean and comfortable (It reminded me a lot of a Residence Inn by Marriott). Our room came with a kitchenette that included plates, cutlery, a stove, microwave, refrigerator, and dishwasher. There was also a living area with a pullout couch. The breakfast consisted of juice boxes, juice cans, cereal bars, bagels and oatmeal and came in a grocery bag at the door. Several people mentioned noisy trains but I didn’t hear any trains until about 9 am and I slept with the windows open.

For those of you without a car, there is no airport shuttle and the cab ride from ANC cost us $22 US.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Anchorage.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chemicalguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Looking for a hotel that provides comfort and a phenomenal view ? Then the Anchorage Grand Hotel on 2nd Street is the one for you. You are provided with a suite: full kitchen, living room area, dining table and separate bedroom. You are provided with a continental breakfast left on your door each morning along with the local paper and free WiFi. This is a hotel with no frills, just comfort and excellent place to use as a base as you explore Anchorage and other points in Alaska. You can see the mountains and Cook Inlet from your window and you are just up the hill from the rail depot, an excellent location if you are going on a train ride. If you are looking for total quiet, then this is not the hotel for you. You will hear trains as well as airplanes and the magpies have a field day outside of your window but we loved it and will stay there again on our return trip to Anchorage. The business office computer and printer are old and I hope they will be replaced soon but the staff in the office were very gracious and printed our boarding passes from the office computer. The hotel does not have a pool or a gym but walking up to 4th street, a major street in Anchorage, each day will give you the cardio you are after. It is an excellent location as you are within walking distance to all major downtown attractions.

Room Tip: Corner suites give you the best view of the mountains and the inlet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JDUBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

It is pretty well next to the railroad, only a short walk to the hotel (really short walk).
Staff are friendly and helpful and only short walk to main shops.
The only thing is the tot-tot from the trains but I'm sure that can be heard any hotels in anchorage.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dreamer028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just got back from a great trip to Alaska. Stayed at the Anchorage Grand because of reviews in tripadvisor. What a wonderful stay. Molly checked us in and was very helpful. We were on foot and she showed us on a map where restaurants and museums were within walking distance. Our room was great - huge - and very comfortable. A kitchen and sitting area came in handy. The continental breakfast which is delivered to your room was more than enough for our breakfast. And...enjoy the fresh baked cookies. Very reasonably priced for all the amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank budnpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews