We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room - Reviews mentioning the train horns aren't lying!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Anchorage Grand. Very clean. Nice breakfast delivered every morning. The train horns though, are something else! If I didn't pack earplugs, we wouldn't have slept so well. So, keep that in mind when booking a room. We would stay there again, just definitely pack earplugs and maybe request a room without a view -- streetside rooms probably have the noise dampened a little.

Room Tip: Rooms on streetside are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here for a week for a conference. Having a kitchen was extremely welcomed, since the average wait time for a table at a restaurant in downtown Anchorage was 1 hour and a half, the one night we tried to go out for dinner, and Anchorage is an expensive town.
Our room was very spacious. Big comfortable bed and lots of extra (storage) space. There's a coin-operated washing machine/dryer in the building (a welcome change from hotels charging $2 to wash a pair of socks).
The hotel is opposite the railway station (which has some of the best coffee in downtown Anchorage. Unfortunately we didn't find out until the last day). We just had to roll our bags down a grassy hill.
The hotel let us store a bag for an extra week at no cost, and forwarded an Amazon package that arrived late.
The hotel is close to everything in downtown Anchorage, and right at the start of the coastal bicycle trail.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoverRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This is what the Anchorage Grand Hotel should be called. The only negative about this hotel that we found during our night stay was the train horns during various times of the night. Knowing this should not discourage anyone since the price is right and rooms are great compared to the major hotels in Anchorage. We stayed in room 404 and being a standard room it was equivalent to a suite with separate kitchen and large sitting room. A TV is located in the bedroom and one in the sitting area. The kitchen is equipped with full size frig, microwave, and dishwasher. You do have to wash your own dishes.

There was no need for air conditioning. The bedroom door can be shut for privacy. Bathroom amenities included shampoo which was advertised as conditioning shampoo but that did not appear to be the case. Plenty of drawer and closet space. The hotel lays out cookies at around 8 pm so you have to be quick if you want any.

Unlike some hotels there is no restaurant and if you want breakfast you will have to take a six block walk up to a cafe or
hang a sign on the outside doorknob and after 7am you will find a sack with juice, bagel and cereal attached. There are no vending machines, pool or other facilities here.

There are just a couple of restaurants close by but others are within a 6 to 8 block walk. rices are higher here than in the lower 48 so don't expect a meal or under $10 except maybe at the one Subway located in the 5th street mall. For joggers the Coastal Trail begins a block from the hotel and that is a worthwhile trek. Overall I really enjoyed this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the street side, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDM77059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We chose this hotel because it was close to the station to get the Train to Denali, but the floors and furniture were dirty and room service was poor. Only two sets of towels for three of us and no coffee on the second day. The ladies at registration were nice and helpful and nice. Good location butvtrain whistles all night long.

Room Tip: There was no pool or finess center, but if you accidentally touch them, they won't go away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M8ternal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We've never stayed in a hotel quite like the Anchorage Grand before. They give you a good sized one bedroom suite for the same price as a room, which we loved because it allowed my wife to sleep in, undisturbed, in the mornings while I got up earler and read the complimentary newspaper, watched TV and had some breakfast. Breakfast was included, although it it was of the "make it yourself' variety, delivered to your door and you toasted the bagel, made up the instant oatmeal, brewed the coffee etc. I've certainly had better "included breakfasts" but this was enough to get you started for the day.Yes, it's an older hotel and it could use some updating but everything was in good repair and the rooms were spotlessly clean.We found the front desk people to be friendly and helpful, and we loved the location, just steps to all of the downtown restaurants and attractions. We did ask for a room on the opposite side of the railroad tracks and were lucky enough to get the last one available that day, so we had no issues with the train whistles etc. I guess if you are a light sleeper you are rolling the dice a bit if you book here and end up with a room facing the tracks. But the bottom line is that we paid just over half of what we had paid at the Holiday Inn Express in Seward the day before, and based on the other hotels we looked at, the price advantage was the same versus other Anchorage hotels. That's why we see the Anchorage Hotel as a bargain.

Room Tip: For sure, stay in a room on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cannuckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Molly at front desk is very helpful but what can you do when you are handling an old decrepit kind of property. We stayed in Room # 205 that seemed pretty unsafe since people could get into your room from the street side with windows opened to cool the room, if someone really wanted. I do not believe the windows could be closed all the way. Not much privacy of course!! Location is not bad though. Maybe higher level rooms might be better. We were really dumped into perhaps the worst room in the property. The room was hot. We had to fight for a second fan to be able to sleep.

Room Tip: Take a room at a higher level even though there are no elevators in the property I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsingh95070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandManager01, Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

This is our busy season, and the room is not pre-assigned unless there is a special request. We regret that we were unable to move you to a higher floor because we did not have any other room available. However, since we knew you were arriving late in the evening, we assigned you a street side room to avoid the train horns in the early morning, since the other side of the hotel faces the train depot. We do try our best to meet everyone’s needs!
There is the occasional sound of the train horn, since we are only a block away from the train station. We know some guests are more disturbed than others about the sound of the horn.
Only a few Anchorage hotel have air conditioning, which generally has not been necessary. We find that 99% of our guests can crack a window, or use the fan, and be just fine. I understand that you requested the fan that was being used for the lobby. We do have extra fans that are available at no extra charge depending if other guests requested an extra fan to be placed in the room.
We truly regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take customer satisfaction very seriously and make every effort to please our customers. All guests are given a pre addressed comment card. Guests are encouraged to let us know how their stay went. We have 31 rooms, so we are able to provide personal attention to each and every one of our guests. We have brand new Simmons “Heavenly Beds” and bed linens, identical to the beds/linens used at Westin Hotels. We have fully equipped kitchens in every room. Two TV’s with cable and HBO. Continental breakfast. Morning newspaper. In-house business center and laundry. You get all of this at a fraction of the cost of most hotels in Anchorage. The value we offer really can’t be beat. In close, we apologize for the horn noise that disturbed you, and that you got hot in your room. We do our best to meet the needs of all, but recognize that isn’t always going to happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel in May 2012. I found the service to be below standard and the rooms very basic. The hotel is next to the train station so you will be sure to get your 5am wake up call from the train horns.

Room Tip: Dont stay at the rear of this property as you will hear nothing but train horns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussiedarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandManager01, Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

We truly regret you felt you received poor service. We get numerous compliments about our staff, and the service provided, so it is discouraging to receive comments to the contrary. It is our continuing goal to provide spotlessly clean and well maintained guest rooms, and to have staff who care about making our guests feel right at home during their stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
478 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#30 of 74 in Anchorage
575 reviews
Midtown
My Place Hotel - Anchorage, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
TownePlace Suites Anchorage Midtown
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Grand Hotel

Address: 505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: £64 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel. Terrific downtown location, one block from Coastal Trail, within walking distance of 5th Avenue Mall, Convention Center, Performing Arts Center, Anchorage Museum, and restuarants. Fully equipped kitchens. Breakfast items delivered to your door. Morning newspaper. Free Wi-Fi. Cable TV with HBO. The best value in Anchorage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anchorage Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Grand Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing