We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upsetting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The location borders a train yard. Very loud at all times of the day and night. Rooms were not made up daily. Shower curtain was ripped and hanging on by half of its clasps. Dishes were put away dirty in the cupboards. To top it off I also had my USB storage device go missing from the room. The staff told me that it may have been thrown out and to this day has not been found. Very negative experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YkKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihsn2012, General Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

We truly regret that you feel you had such a poor experience, as expressed. When I heard about the missing thumb drive, I spoke directly to the housekeeper in question. He said that on the day in question, and on other days, he was turned away from cleaning because you were in the room. But, he did come back and perform a stay over clean before his work shift was over on the day you said your thumb drive went missing. He says he did not see a thumb drive, which we understand was bright orange, and felt certain he did not accidentally dispose of it. Even so, our staff took the time to remove all trash bags from the building dumpster that day to search for the missing thumb drive, which would be relatively easy to spot. After searching all of the trash, nothing was found. We truly regret this occurred, but have no reason to believe the housekeeper had anything to do with the missing thumb drive. As to the other complaints, I will have to investigate those further, as I had not heard about those. We truly do our best to satisfy our guests. I promise if we had known about the shower curtain, it would have been taken care of immediately - as would have the dirty dishes you say you found in the cupboard. This is not how we perform our work. Although there is no excuse for this and your other complaints, we were installing new furniture in all guest rooms that week, and our staff was a bit overwhelmed for a couple days. Again, our sincerest apologies - I will speak with our manager to find out more of what she knows of your other complaints. We would be happy to offer a concession, if found necessary and appropriate to do so.
Sincerely,
John Wirum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

great location good size room well equipped kitchen free car parking close by staff were very helpful and friendly we had a two room suite witch is great for a family will stay again next time in anchorage

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dean a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihsn2012, General Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

We appreciate the business, and the nice comments. Please come back and stay with us again!
Sincerely,
John Wirum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom with living room and kitchen. It was perfect for us. The outside and lobby don't look that great from the outside, but the suite was very nice. The bedroom was a bit small, but you have a living room if you want to hang out. The location is just on the edge of downtown and walking distance to shops and dining. The parking is a bit of a walk, but we had no issues. The breakfast they dropped off was kind of random, but suited our needs. Will defintiely stay here the next time we are in town. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler092006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihsn2012, General Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thanks for the review, and the nice comments. Next time you need accommodations in Anchorage, please contact us. Be sure to let the front desk know you are a repeat guest, and we will be sure to give you the best available rate, which we provide to our repeat customers.
Best regards,
John Wirum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Hotel within easy walking distance of downtown Anchorage. Our one bedroom suite was very comfortable, although it could use a new sofa! Kitchenette equipped with basic necessities, and it was nice to have basic breakfast items on the door each morning. Hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and responsive to every our every request. Very enjoyable week-long stay.

Room Tip: Recommend back side of the hotel for views of railroad station and distant mountains. Some initial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihsn2012, General Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks so much for staying with us, and for the review on TripAdvisor. We are doing updates as we can afford to do so, but it is indeed time for new sofas and chairs. Just so you know, we have new furniture on the way. It will be shipped to Anchorage in April. You might have noticed, we had new carpet throughout. We also have painted the common areas. We'd love to have you come back and stay with us again, and see the new furniture, and would be happy to give you a discount as a valued repeat customer.
Best regards,
John
Anchorage Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We chose this hotel because of it's proximity to the Alaska Railroad Station. We were amazed by the size of the room - there was a full kitchen and four closets. It would be a great place for a family to spend a week while visiting Anchorage. The downtown area was a block away, with several good restaurants very close by.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Delicious chocolate chip cookies, freshly baked, were available in the lobby round-the-clock. The night clerk was going off duty as we were leaving for the train, so she volunteered to drive us down the hill to the station, which we greatly appreciated when we realized how steep and icy the hill was.

We never heard any noise from the train and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baystone634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihsn2012, Owner at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thanks so much for staying with us. We hope to have you and yours come visit us again in the future.
Sincerely,
John, Pearl and the entire staff at the
ANCHORAGE GRAND HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Before we went, I read the reviews on here about the noisy train. I have to say, yes it woke me up a couple of times, but I only minded it once around 8 in the morning when I feel the conductor leaned on the horn as if he knew I was still sleeping. With that said, will you might be up at 8 and not car about the noise. I also went to bed late, so I always missed its last run. Anyway, the folks at the front desk were accommodating, hospitable, helpful, and friendly. I loved the breakfast they hung on our door each morning...a granola bar, a bagel, oatmeal, and juice. It was perfect for taking with us for the day or having a bite before leaving. The rooms was a suite, so both my friend and I got beds with tvs (Mine was a pullout couch, comfortable.) The location was also great. For me, that's always the most important. It was walking distance to the downtown area as the hotel is right on the edge of the downtown area. It is also close to the old RR, the ULU factory, and a great seafood restaurant. If you like to fish, there is also a spot right there (near the factory and restaurant...a very short walk from the hotel) that rents tackle and you can put in a line right there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdebona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
477 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#29 of 74 in Anchorage
575 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 74 in Anchorage
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,598 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 74 in Anchorage
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Grand Hotel

Address: 505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: £70 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel. Terrific downtown location, one block from Coastal Trail, within walking distance of 5th Avenue Mall, Convention Center, Performing Arts Center, Anchorage Museum, and restuarants. Fully equipped kitchens. Breakfast items delivered to your door. Morning newspaper. Free Wi-Fi. Cable TV with HBO. The best value in Anchorage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Anchorage Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Grand Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing