We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown
Ranked #51 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Level Contributor
281 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good stay!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This is an older review from before I trip advised. My father was in the hospital for a few weeks, so we stayed here. The room was clean and the beds are comfortable. The service was ok. All in all its an extended stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NateB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    27
    20
    25
    22
See reviews for
37
20
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Prepare yourself for a long list of complaints.

The building itself is poorly built. Floors creak, doors need to be slammed to close, the roof in the lobby was leaking, etc. Due to the shoddy workmanship, when the guests above my room walked around early in the morning (2:30am) the sounds were extremely loud and continually woke me. Likewise, the doors stopped virtually no sound so any activity in the hallway was clearly heard. I'm not sure what the typical guests are like at this hotel, but they were not business travelers and were much younger than I expected and clearly there for a more "extended stay." There was smoking on my "non-smoking" floor. My door was ajar when I first arrived at my room and I had to use significant force to close it each time. Portions of the shower were clearly not cleaned (dust and debris on shelves) which made me question the cleanliness of any other portion of the room. The bed had broken springs nearly protruding through the top layer of the mattress. The grab 'n go breakfast was worse than I expected. Typically one would expect to find some milk and some other choices. Coffee, granola bars, instant oatmeal, and apples are not that great of a selection. No shampoo in the room upon arrival. Parking overly expensive for such a lightly populated downtown area. Overall, the worst experience I've had on business travel. Oh, one positive, the Internet connection was free, easy, and sufficiently fast.

Room Tip: A room in another hotel is your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alotau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Nome, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I booked a month reservation on line, received a reservation confirmation with the total amount due. Very easy process and the agent was very helpful. I then called the Anchorage Downtown to have a Credit Card Authorization Release Form faxed to me. I asked the agent if their was a return number and she assured me there was. I received the form but their was not a fax number on the form to fax back so had to call long distance again to get the fax number, yes the agent was aware that I do not live in the Anchorage area. This agent assured me that upon my sons check in today that the whole amount would be charged to my credit card. This afternoon the 1st credit card transaction was for $470.33 and not for the full amount as requested on the Credit Card Authorization Release Form, for charges not to exceed $2,015.66 and also the reservation confirmation. Called long distance again and was told sorry I will cancel the $470.33 and charge your credit card the total amount due. Checked my account again and a second charge of $2,343.29 was charged. Called long distance again and was told that the rates go up in April so you are being charged more. Faxed my online reservation confirmation back to the hotel. Was told that the $2,343.29 would be cancelled and the $470.33 had been cancelled. Not so! Now I am sitting with two separate charges, overdraft fees and no manager to speak to until possibly tomorrow morning and an agent not willing or wanting to help.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

No need for dismay if you get stuck with this on a blind bid from Priceline. It's clean, quiet, ample hot water, acceptable free internet, and the on street parking really isn't that much hassle.
But if you have to pay anywhere near rack rate you'll probably be disappointed by the tiny room, crummy channel selection on the TV, surcharge for not very convenient parking, limited pool/hot-tub hours, limited maid service, and marginal breakfast.

Room Tip: Ground floor is quieter and more convenient to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akfletchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had reserved a king suite for three adults. When we arrived to check in, we watched two parties in front of us be told their reservations were not available. When it was our turn at the counter, the agent told us we were not able to stay in the king suite we had reserved. She said it was Extended Stay policy that our reservation merely held a room, but not necessarily the room we had reserved over the phone. We were offered a queen room, but with three adults that was not a feasible option. Even though we had reserved our room weeks in advance, they were unable to honor that reservation. The desk agent suggested we call the manager, though there was no way they could accommodate the reservation we paid for. We were able to secure a full refund, but had to find a different hotel to stay for the night.

Room Tip: Be sure they guarantee your room prior to travel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Needs a staff up grade not to mention a room update
Room and the bed were really bad not to mention that the noise in the hall was like trying to sleep at a bar children playing ball in the halls at night loud drunk people on the cell phone late at night in the hall way where everyone could here the not so appropriate conversation
And the dog stuck in a guest car under my window in 5 degree temperature howling for hours because I'm sure it was freezing
I've been in tons of hotels
across America nothing quite like this place The
First room the beds where not made and the toilet flapper did not work and the bed was like sleeping in a bowl of jello .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadWarrior196209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylorville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were not familiar with Extended Stay and we booked on the busiest night of the year in Anchorage. We got lucky. A beautiful motel with spacious beautiful well equipped rooms and a caring and excellent staff. Don't know if we will ever go to Alaska again but if we do, we will stay at Extended Stay America in downtown Anchorage.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#54 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#38 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
0.4 mi away
aviator hotel anchorage
aviator hotel anchorage
#49 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
#59 of 73 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown

Property: Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown
Address: 108 East 8th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Anchorage - Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Extended Stay Anchorage
Anchorage Extended Stay
Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing