We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dimond Center Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good Hotel comfortable stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We stayed here a party of 4 ( 2 rooms ) overnight pre cruise. We had a hire car so the location was no problem to us. We loved having Walmart within walking distance which enabled us to purchase all our cruise items we didn't bring on the plane with us.

We checked in at approx 1 am and the lady was very nice. Our rooms were very clean and most importantly to us the bed was large and very comfortable.

We did make use of the breakfast and found it to be adequate with no complaints.

It wasn't until we arrived at the Alaskan Wildlife Centre that a member of our party discovered he had left his jacket in the cupboard. After a couple of phone calls the staff took his details and said that they would forward his jacket to our hotel in Las Vegas. And yes when we arrived in Las vegas his jacket was there and he was one happy camper.

  • Liked — proximity to walmart
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    135
    41
    22
    17
See reviews for
102
154
36
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We stayed at the Dimond Center Hotel as we arrived in Anchorage and before we left for Denali. The hotel is nicely appointed, clean, and spacious. There was a refrigerator, but no safe. The bathroom sink is located outside the bathroom . . . inconvenient. The staff was friendly, but offered no useful information when asked about transportation, sightseeing recommendations, etc. The complimentary breakfast is very good. The only significant negative is the location of the hotel. It is at least 15 minutes by car from downtown (airport, rail, weekend fair). The hotel sits in a commercial parking lot next to a WalMart and the freeway. There is nothing picturesque or lovely about its location or view. To offset the poor location, there is a shuttle van which took us downtown whenever we requested.

  • Liked — Spacious and clean accomodations
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nosnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimberley, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

One would expect fantastic accomodations and amenities for the astronomical price of this hotel.
The shuttle was called to pick us up at the airport when we arrived in Anchorage. After waiting 45 minutes, we called again and finally the shuttle arrived. The driver was not notified of our arrival the first time.
Check in people OK. The room request for a top floor, quiet room, was made in January. We received a room on the bottom floor, next to electrical generators . The front desk said no other rooms of the type requested were available. The elephants above us "danced " most of each evening. Our "view" was of the street and next door Walmart construction site. Construction noise started early in the morning until after dinner.
The hotel is located in a mall and very close to the bus stop for easy connections about town. However, one needs to be quite careful riding the bus due to very "strange" characters.
The Continental Breakfast buffet is well below average. The Belgium waffles are bland, and tour bus crowds overwhelm the small sitting areas. On one morning, all that was left on the buffet was one piece of bread and 3 English muffins.
All the towels were washed needlessly--ours were hung up daily.
In Alaska, one would expect black out curtains because the summer days last into the night. Our curtains blocked little light and the rod was pulled away from the wall.
The remote to the TV worked sporadically, and the TV sound was often full of static.
All was not terrible, as the room and bathroom were clean, the staff was pleasant, and the shuttle bus was available often for rides downtown or the airport.
I would not stay here again . There are other , most affordable hotels in Anchorage.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Room Location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmommyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2008

This hotel is a must if in Anchorage. It is higher priced, however you will not be disappointed. The rooms are huge, the tub allows you to watch tv, and talk to your party in the other room!! Everything is huge, the bed, the tub,ceilings! Breakfast in the am, is hosted by belgium waffels and fruit. I liked it so well I went back for another night. The only warning is you will want to stay in, and enjoy the room. Absolute A+!!

  • Liked — TUB!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Iamcoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEJ45
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

My family and I stayed here in late May 2008. Although it cost a few bucks, the place is comparable to the area. This hotel has incredibly clean, large rooms, a friendly staff, a good location next to, but far enough away from a shopping complex, and an incredible breakfast. The breakfast area is a good size with choices that include: oatmeal, muffins, donuts, oj, coffee, tea, a waffle bar(!), hard-boiled eggs, and probably a few other items I can't remember.

  • Liked — Breakfast.
  • Disliked — The blackout curtains did not black out much.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LEJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marietta GA
Level 6 Contributor
636 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

i stayed here soley because of alaska toursaver coupon - buy one get one night free coupon. I was expected to be wow'd by the hotel, since the rate was 280$ a night. I usually stay in budget accomodations, so i can easily be impressed. Anchorage (and all of alaska) is pretty expensinve for hotels, but they were more than most.

Pros
very nicely appointed rooms with large bathrooms, nice tv's, health club access included.
Hotel was very quiet.
above average breakfast.
airport shuttle was convienent and driver was very nice.

cons
location - in mall parking lot, not even a great mall at that. away from most anything that tourists would want. would have to have a rental car if staying here.
expensive for what you got.

one major complaint i have.
After a long day my wife was giving my extremely tired 2 year old son a bath, during which he protested loudly in a manner typical of tired toddlers
The front desk called and said that we had to switch rooms at 11 pm at night due to a "maitnence issue" You can imagine how upset my wife was, with a crying, ready-to-go-to-bed toddler, being told that she had to switch rooms.
They upgraded us to a nicer room, but i thought it was terriably innappropriate. I gather that someone else complained and they moved us to appease them because i could not see any pressing maitenance issue that had to be resolved at 11 pm at night. I asked at the front desk, both that night, and the next morning, and they would never elaborate.
I was tempted to write teh management a nasty letter, but it was not even worth my time, since i wont be going back to alaska anytime soon, would not stay there again anyway, and it is not a a chain hotel that could offer me any appeasement.
I'd love to hear from management on this one.

  • Liked — room quality
  • Disliked — questionable customer service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

The hotel was awesome it was close to Walmart, borders, Sam's club and some others places and it was very clean, a good breakfast ever morning. We had a problem in our room and they had someone up to our room in 5 minutes to fix it..
The staff was very friendly and helpful..
They have a laudomat on the 3rd floor ..
The rooms are huge and I really like the tub, it had 36' flat screen tv, fridge, microwave.
It might cost more then the other hotels but it is worth it..

  • Liked — the tub
  • Disliked — they was doing road work for 2 days..
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
517 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimond Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimond Center Hotel

Property: Dimond Center Hotel
Address: 700 E Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99515-2003
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dimond Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Dimond Center Hotel was designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Located in the heart of Alaska’s largest shopping district, 10 minutes from Ted Stevens International Airport, and only 15 minutes from downtown, no other hotel puts you next door to all that Anchorage has to offer! Our spacious guest rooms offer a unique experience of peace and relaxation; all featuring a 72” soaking tub, 42” flat screen TV, and the Ultimate Dream Bed by Serta. Room amenities include a mini-fridge, microwave, the Keurig coffee maker, plush bath robes and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Dimond Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimond Hotel Anchorage
Dimond Center Anchorage
Hotel Dimond Center
Dimond Center Hotel Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing