We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel that would be excellent with a couple of improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dimond Center Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Hotel that would be excellent with a couple of improvements”
Reviewed 6 September 2008

The Dimond Center Hotel really is great and has some of the biggest, most comfortable rooms I have ever stayed in. The bed was huge and comfortable and the big tub was welcome after 10 days of hiking and camping around AK.

On the downside, there was not bell service. In addition, the cable tv was limited, which I would not expect at an upscale hotel. Also, the business center, which had two computers, charged by the minute for internet access, which seems odd, as just about every hotel has a free computer in the lobby for guests these days. Last gripe was that the front desk declined to print a boarding pass for us when we were headed to the airport in the early morning, something no hotel has ever declined to do for me.

So, the "dimond" is a bit rough around the edges, and is in a bit of a quirky location too (behind a mall in a parking lot), but I would stay here again. The comfort and size of the rooms is outstanding.

  • Liked — Comfort and size of rooms
  • Disliked — Charge for internet access in lobby
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mypeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    129
    40
    19
    16
See reviews for
93
143
33
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2008

We only had one night to enjoy this lovely hotel.The staff were all helpful and friendly. The rooms were decorated in soft colors with art by Alaskans. The bed was extremely comfortable with big fluffy pillows and a big fluffy comforter to top it off. The bathroom was spacious and had a seperate sink area so 2 people have no problem sharing the space! The seperate bathtub was especially nice as you could relax and watch the large television thru the window as you soak or close the fluted glass shutters if you wished more privacy. The location is good, the hotel is within walking distance to shopping. You are only minutes from the airport or train terminal via the hotel's shuttle which arrived promptly to pick us up at the airport and got us to the train on time in the morning. I am convinced after reading some of the reviews on this hotel that some of these people must not have stayed at the same Diamond Center Hotel as we did! We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Anchorage! Remember to use your AAA card for the best rate when making your reservation as you do receive a substantial discount!

  • Liked — The wonderful beds!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank patandtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Clean, well-managed property. Nicely decorated inside, with comfortable beds and an adequate carb-ladened breakfast spread. Decent-sized room for a family. We stayed here primarily for the Buy-One/Get-OneNightFree in the Alaska TourSaver coupon book. But this property is behind a shopping center, is not convenient to anything you might want to visit in Anchorage unless you like Wal-Mart, and there is nothing attractive about the exterior of the building or the surrounding area other than a plentiful parking lot. Still, Anchorage is easy to navigate with a rental car and nothing is that far from anywhere in the city, so the location is not a fatal flaw.

Unless staying here alone, you will be thoroughly annoyed by the window from the bathroom to the bedroom when the light shines through it at night. This is a serious design flaw that could be easily rectified by management.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort, convenient parking lot.
  • Disliked — Unattractive exterior and surrounding scene & Bathroom window
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeTheWorldWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We stayed here a party of 4 ( 2 rooms ) overnight pre cruise. We had a hire car so the location was no problem to us. We loved having Walmart within walking distance which enabled us to purchase all our cruise items we didn't bring on the plane with us.

We checked in at approx 1 am and the lady was very nice. Our rooms were very clean and most importantly to us the bed was large and very comfortable.

We did make use of the breakfast and found it to be adequate with no complaints.

It wasn't until we arrived at the Alaskan Wildlife Centre that a member of our party discovered he had left his jacket in the cupboard. After a couple of phone calls the staff took his details and said that they would forward his jacket to our hotel in Las Vegas. And yes when we arrived in Las vegas his jacket was there and he was one happy camper.

  • Liked — proximity to walmart
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We stayed at the Dimond Center Hotel as we arrived in Anchorage and before we left for Denali. The hotel is nicely appointed, clean, and spacious. There was a refrigerator, but no safe. The bathroom sink is located outside the bathroom . . . inconvenient. The staff was friendly, but offered no useful information when asked about transportation, sightseeing recommendations, etc. The complimentary breakfast is very good. The only significant negative is the location of the hotel. It is at least 15 minutes by car from downtown (airport, rail, weekend fair). The hotel sits in a commercial parking lot next to a WalMart and the freeway. There is nothing picturesque or lovely about its location or view. To offset the poor location, there is a shuttle van which took us downtown whenever we requested.

  • Liked — Spacious and clean accomodations
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nosnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

One would expect fantastic accomodations and amenities for the astronomical price of this hotel.
The shuttle was called to pick us up at the airport when we arrived in Anchorage. After waiting 45 minutes, we called again and finally the shuttle arrived. The driver was not notified of our arrival the first time.
Check in people OK. The room request for a top floor, quiet room, was made in January. We received a room on the bottom floor, next to electrical generators . The front desk said no other rooms of the type requested were available. The elephants above us "danced " most of each evening. Our "view" was of the street and next door Walmart construction site. Construction noise started early in the morning until after dinner.
The hotel is located in a mall and very close to the bus stop for easy connections about town. However, one needs to be quite careful riding the bus due to very "strange" characters.
The Continental Breakfast buffet is well below average. The Belgium waffles are bland, and tour bus crowds overwhelm the small sitting areas. On one morning, all that was left on the buffet was one piece of bread and 3 English muffins.
All the towels were washed needlessly--ours were hung up daily.
In Alaska, one would expect black out curtains because the summer days last into the night. Our curtains blocked little light and the rod was pulled away from the wall.
The remote to the TV worked sporadically, and the TV sound was often full of static.
All was not terrible, as the room and bathroom were clean, the staff was pleasant, and the shuttle bus was available often for rides downtown or the airport.
I would not stay here again . There are other , most affordable hotels in Anchorage.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Room Location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmommyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2008

This hotel is a must if in Anchorage. It is higher priced, however you will not be disappointed. The rooms are huge, the tub allows you to watch tv, and talk to your party in the other room!! Everything is huge, the bed, the tub,ceilings! Breakfast in the am, is hosted by belgium waffels and fruit. I liked it so well I went back for another night. The only warning is you will want to stay in, and enjoy the room. Absolute A+!!

  • Liked — TUB!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Iamcoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#23 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage
#10 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimond Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimond Center Hotel

Property: Dimond Center Hotel
Address: 700 E Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99515-2003
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dimond Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Dimond Center Hotel was designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Located in the heart of Alaska’s largest shopping district, 10 minutes from Ted Stevens International Airport, and only 15 minutes from downtown, no other hotel puts you next door to all that Anchorage has to offer! Our spacious guest rooms offer a unique experience of peace and relaxation; all featuring a 72” soaking tub, 42” flat screen TV, and the Ultimate Dream Bed by Serta. Room amenities include a mini-fridge, microwave, the Keurig coffee maker, plush bath robes and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dimond Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimond Hotel Anchorage
Dimond Center Anchorage
Hotel Dimond Center
Dimond Center Hotel Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing