We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this dump at all costs!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Inn Hotel

Chelsea Inn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chelsea Inn Hotel
Ranked #65 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Avoid this dump at all costs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

This place is horrible! We've stayed in some dumps over the years, but this one takes the cake. No towels, the room was dirty, a piece of the bathroom sink was laying on the floor. To add insult to injury, they charged both my wife's and my credit cards! I do not recommend this rat trap to anybody!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barry1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    4
    3
    32
See reviews for
10
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

Do Not Book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Not fit for anyone!!!!!!
They say they have non-smoking rooms but are not.
Unsafe!
We had booked but didn't stay it was so bad.
But they still had the nerve to charge for the room.
That is how they make their money from everyone not staying but paying to stay!!!!!
Don't do it I am not a radical and have stayed in some divy hotels but this wasn't worth the risk never mind the smell.

  • Liked — That I didn't have to stay there
  • Disliked — The smell, the condition of the property
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travel200AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Anchorage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

I can't way it was the worst experience I have ever had but it sure wasn't the best. it has a nice appearance on the outside, but the rooms are old and the bathrooms are disgusting. I stayed on the bottom floor near the resident Crack head who I guess lives there full time and never sleeps, he is usually taking his buddies into the bathrooms to smoke Meth or Crack, I don't know which, I guess to keep that awful smell out of his room. There is also a resident Hooker who will roam the halls and asks to borrow your phone, why I don't know. the Police have been there on countless occasions and I have seen bums sleeping in the Hallway. there is a laundry room with a dryer that doesn't work and a small kitchen area where you can keep food, but don't bother because it will be stolen. there was only one saving grace in that whole hotel, it was the one night manager Chuck, He was an awesome dude. he did his level best to keep order in the Hotel, and kicked out anyone who didn't follow the rules. it's too bad because it could be a nice hotel with a little work and keeping the riff-raff out.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hunter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manawa wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2007

After reading some of the other reviews, I almost cancelled my stay. I am very glad that I didn't. We were picked up at the airport about 1:30 a.m., and treated well. Our room was small, but clean and comfortable. We were in walking distance of Gwnnie's, a great restaurant. The city bus stops right outside the door, so we were able to get around easily. There is a good pizza place across the street, which made delicious pizza. The hotel shuttle took us to our bus for Seward at 6:00 a.m., the next morning. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The rooms were small but we didn't need to unpack as we were only there two nights. I am glad I chose the Chelsea Inn. I can stay at Holiday Inn type hotels anyplace.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank grannyjo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2006

Please please please STAY AWAY FROM THIS MISERABLE PLACE! The website looks cute, which lured us in as we needed one night to stay after landing in Anchorage very late at night. We called the shuttle and was met by a surly woman in a tiny van that could only hold two people at most...but not us. She had other passengers 2 of them, and said she would be back in 5 minutes. ONE HOUR and three phone calls later we were finally picked up by the same surly woman who said she also had to CHECK IN five people somewhere else. Uh oh....not a good start. It was now 3 am and everywhere else was closed. We pulled up to a substandard flophouse that certainly did not reek of charm. Everything had a very WORN look to it, especially the carpeting which was way past it's prime. There were evil-looking large WET AREAS all over the downstairs carpeting and no elevators of any kind. The office staff could barely speak any English and just as soon hoped we would die. The room was unbelievably small, STUNK of smoke and looked as though it had been recently occupied by....well....I'd rather not think about that. The trains ran all night, the pillows were much more like bags of concrete and there was not even a closet, bathroom or anything else remotely civilized. Oh, and the lights were filthy and didn't work and neither did half the electrical sockets. UNBELIEVABLE. DO NOT GO THERE!! STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank znofyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2006

I booked with Chelsea Inn Hotel for June 2006. When I called back a few days later to make a change, they had no record of the reservation. I made a new one, but thinking the lost reservation was a bad sign, I decided to cancel. I cancelled on 2/12. Apparently the cancellation got lost as well, as the charge turned up on my credit card. To be fair, when I called they did say they'd refund the charges. I hope they follow through.

Helpful?
5 Thank 22150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2006

This place will fool you with the cute pictures in the brochure. Don't fall for it! If you are looking for affordable, comfortable, and clean, this is not the place. Plus, they added $10.00 to the price claiming I had only made the reservation for one person. I asked about a Triple A discount. The clerk said they didn't have one, so I made her ask the manager. He said he had already given it to me. When I made the reservation, they said I wouldn't receive the discount until I showed my card.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dkarmenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.8 mi away
Puffin Inn
Puffin Inn
#36 of 72 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#34 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#53 of 72 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
0.9 mi away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#45 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Inn Hotel

Property: Chelsea Inn Hotel
Address: 3836 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chelsea Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Anchorage
Chelsea Inn Hotel Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing