We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay this summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Puffin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puffin Inn
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stay this summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a nice hotel, very convenient to everything. Morning breakfast was good. Staff friendly and helpful. We had set up another hotel close to the airport for our flight out but it turned out the Puffin was so close it didnt matter. We wished we could have stayed here twice. Will definitely stay here for the full trip next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnorris12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Friendly staff, great location, tasty breakfast — that's what we're all about, so it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the feedback here on TripAdvisor. Next time you're in Anchorage, we'd love for you to stay with us again.

All the best,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    87
    66
    39
    54
See reviews for
91
80
43
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very comfortable room for the price @ a little over 50 dollars a bite. Like that IT'S 5 minutes from airport and a very nice continental breakfast included. Housekeeping could be a little better - clean bathroom sink. The check in area is comfy with nice fireplace and bear fur mounted on wall. Tees Alaskan!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank dmlandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
We're excited that you enjoyed our location and breakfast! It makes us very happy to help our guests discover the majesty of Alaska, so we're glad that you got the opportunity to stay with us. Thanks for the feedback. Next time you're in town, stop in and say hello!

Till then,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seward, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

staff is always friendly and helpful. rooms are clean and make you feel at home. price is great, everything is great. the breakfast is first class with free newspapers. free internet, HBO, some pet rooms. if you don't like staying in a pet friendly room just say so and get a room that is pet free.

Room Tip: stay in the new building. the other building are good but I like the new one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for the support, Cliff! We're all about friendly service and comfortable accommodations, so your support here on Yelp means the world to us! Next time you're in Anchorage, stop in and visit us.

Cheers,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you have a special rate they will insist you bring the brochure and if you fail they will change the rate to ridiculous high prices for this budget motel. Reserving EIGHT months in advance, you would think they could clarify rates.. Hesitant to stay at a place that kept waffling about a rate that was negotiated the very day before. They said they would put it in as a rate BUT would not guarantee it. Tip:Reserve at least a moderate room or better. Look up the rooms online before you book. There are marked differences in rooms. Some are in a separate building, without elevator and not modernized and away from main hotel. Could be steep ground, hazardous sidewalks. Tip:They will quote you highest price room unless you ask for lower one. Very skeptical. Sounds like they have rooms no one would like.

Room Tip: economy (original) rooms are in a separate building with outside entrance and can include stairs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Honesty is our policy, so I'm very concerned to hear that you thought we were trying to overcharge you. I definitely plan on bringing this review up with my staff. Thanks for the support and I hope you'll give us another chance sometime soon.

Cheers,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Brimfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Had a quick overnighter while driving up to Fairbanks the next day. Nice hotel, very friendly staff. Continental Breakfast good. Just a block down from Iditarod headquarters. Definitely will try again when in the area longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deanintransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, Dean! Are you coming back into town for the Iditarod? It would be great to have you back!

All the best,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed in a room that reminded me of Bate's motel. Their sidewalks are hazardous, sloped and steps are not marked. I fell not realizing the change in elevation. When I advised staff of my fall and did not receive any inquiries or apologies.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
It's very disappointing to hear that you found our facilities sub-par, Tina. Although we try to keep our sidewalks clean and well marked, it seems like we were a bit off during your visit. In the future, I will personally make sure that all of our walkways are safe and well marked for all visitors. Thanks for the feedback and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Anchorage.

Sincerely,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Aside from a late night disturbance by an intoxicated man, This was a lovely night spent.The rooms were clean, cozy and the beds were so soft and fluffy. They had free airport shuttle which was great and a great breakfast was included. Who doesn't love OJ?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Easy airport access, cozy accommodations, tasty OJ — that's what we're all about so it's great to hear that we're doing a good job, Ashley. Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Next time you're in town, we'd love to have you stay with us again.

Cheers,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
0.1 mi away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#52 of 73 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#46 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#34 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puffin Inn

Property: Puffin Inn
Address: 4400 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Puffin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your vacation brings you to Anchorage for one night or many, Puffin Inn offers convenient access to area attractions such as Chugach State Park, the Seward Highway and the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. Our hotel is also minutes from metropolitan entertainment in downtown Anchorage and a short drive to Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport.Puffin Inn offers special conveniences to enhance your stay. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport, a business center, an exercise room, laundry facilities and pet-friendly accommodations. Guests also enjoy a complimentary breakfast served daily in our lobby breakfast area. Internet access is available throughout the hotel.Rest assured that you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging. Puffin Inn offers a variety of lodging options suitable for any traveler. Our lodge has 85 guest rooms and suites separated into 4 room styles: Deluxe, Moderate, Boutique and Original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puffin Hotel Anchorage
Puffin Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing