We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bare bones motel accommodations near the airport & Lake Hood”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Puffin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puffin Inn
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Bare bones motel accommodations near the airport & Lake Hood”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The exterior and lobby give the impression that the room will be, at the least, modern and updated. This is not the case. There are 4 buildings with motel rooms, and we were assigned one in the oldest section of the motel. The $150 room rate provided us with a tiny room facing the parking lot on one side and an apartment building and noisy road on the other. The sound of Harleys coming and going from the Harley dealership 2 doors down was distracting, but the sound of small planes overhead reminded us that we were within easy walking distance of Lake Hood.
The bed was comfortable, but had only 2 pillows. There are no "extra" touches like furniture and decor. This was a dark, stale smelling room with a tiny air conditioner stuck in the window. The bedspread did not appear to be freshly laundered and we removed it immediately.
On the bright side, the staff was friendly and nice (although very busy- put us on hold 3 different times when we tried to call the front desk) and the towels were fluffy and white.
Based on the room we were assigned, we do not recommend this inn for anything other than a last minute place to stay if you need a few hours of sleep and a shower before getting on your plane. The airport is a 5-minute taxi ride.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Live2TravelReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We're glad that you thought our staff was friendly, but disappointing that you didn't enjoy our accommodations. Thanks for the feedback. We'll work hard to improve.

Best,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    87
    66
    39
    54
See reviews for
91
80
43
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

On our first visit before we visited a fishing lodge, we stayed in the "old" building. The room was adequate, clean and quiet. However, it felt somewhat "tacky" and was very small. We asked for an upgrade to the new building on our return visit but there were no available rooms. We stayed in the old building again, but had a bigger room which felt much better. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: request the new building, prices there are higher than in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandeeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the feedback. Next time you stay with us, let us know in advance, so that we can reserve you a spot in the new building.

Cheers,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I'm guessing that the four and five star ratings apply to the newer (higher priced) rooms. Our lowest-price reservation relegated us to the original motel building, where our room was cramped (not even a small closet); overheated (no obvious way to lower the heat or turn it off); and over-scented (to mask what odors?). Wifi did not work in our room. Continental breakfast was fine - comparable to most inexpensive airport hotels. Airport transportation was terrific, with a chatty driver who gave us great recommendations for our stay in Homer.

Room Tip: Avoid the lowest-priced rooms - in the old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank game2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
It's great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and transportation, but disappointing that you were not satisfied with your accommodations. Thanks for the feedback here on TripAdvisor. I hope you'll give us another chance next time.

Best,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Big Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent three non-consecutive nights at the Puffin Inn. Two of those nights we were put in the Chandler building. It was the worst bed I have ever slept on. In addition, there is no elevator and I had to drag my luggage down the block to the building and then to a third floor room. For the final night we stayed in the Puffin Inn after I asked not to be put in the same room because of the bed. Of course, they charged us more for the new room but the bed was decent. Plus when I told the desk clerk that the bed in the Chandler building was the worst, his comment was a snarky, sarcastic, "Well, thank you." The new room was okay but I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in the Chandler building until you check out the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback here on TripAdvisor, Linda. The last think we want is to provide our customers with substandard accommodations. I'll personally see to it that the Chandler rooms are given more attention and hope you'll consider staying with us on your next trip to Alaska.

Best,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

It's a decent hotel near airport with its airport pick up and drop shuttle. Rooms are neat and spacious, I stayed in a suite that had jaccuzi and a massive bathroom. The breakfast is really inadequate with only very little choice and is best avoided. There's a lake nearby for walking. It is quite far from downtown though has many eating places nearby. The reception staff is very friendly and super helpful though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Satyabrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We're glad that you enjoyed our accommodations during your stay! Thanks for the feedback here on TripAdvisor. Next time you're in town, keep us in mind.

Best,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas, Texas
Level Contributor
345 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Puffin Inn is near the Anchorage Airport and is convenient for travel to Alaska, particularly as an overnight stop for trips into the interior. It is comfortable and clean and relatively modestly priced for Alaska. Overall, it is nothing special but would stay again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoolPapaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thanks for the feedback here on TripAdvisor, Lucas. We really appreciate the review. Next time you're passing through the area, keep us in mind.

Best,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

First let me say my room was not in the Puffin Inn, but in an annex building operated by the Puffin in called Comfort Suites. The building and room were dingy. The walls are in desperate need of being painted, the carpet was gross and old. The room had been sprayed heavily with Lysol I had to run the bathroom fan for most the night to clear the air. The bedding was clean, but I had to roll the comforter down because of the thick Lysol fumes. I feel I paid too much for the room. My stay/reservation two days later was actually in the Puffin Inn and was what I was expecting. Clean presentable and comfortable. The staff are polite and overall have a happy demeanor. The ratings I gave are based on my stay in the Annex complex Comfort Suites. This building needs to be upgraded to the same standard as the Puffin Inn if it is where guests will be placed when making reservations to stay at the Puffin Inn. I feel it was deceptive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We're very glad that you loved our main building, but sorry that our annex was not to your liking, Jeanny. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your feedback and hope you'll stay with us again sometime.

Best,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
0.1 mi away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#52 of 73 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#46 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#34 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puffin Inn

Property: Puffin Inn
Address: 4400 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Puffin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your vacation brings you to Anchorage for one night or many, Puffin Inn offers convenient access to area attractions such as Chugach State Park, the Seward Highway and the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. Our hotel is also minutes from metropolitan entertainment in downtown Anchorage and a short drive to Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport.Puffin Inn offers special conveniences to enhance your stay. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport, a business center, an exercise room, laundry facilities and pet-friendly accommodations. Guests also enjoy a complimentary breakfast served daily in our lobby breakfast area. Internet access is available throughout the hotel.Rest assured that you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging. Puffin Inn offers a variety of lodging options suitable for any traveler. Our lodge has 85 guest rooms and suites separated into 4 room styles: Deluxe, Moderate, Boutique and Original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puffin Hotel Anchorage
Puffin Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing