We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smokers in the bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Uruguay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“smokers in the bathroom”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

bad smoke smell in bathroom and towels. not acceptable for advertised no smoking room. they did not hesitate taking the full amount for the room. we smelled like smoke all day after using towels in the morning

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Paul K,

I apologize for your unsatisfactory stay with us here because of the smoke smell in the room. Is there a chance you can remember what room you were in? I'd like to make sure this doesn't occur again and reiterate to our housekeeping staff what to do if there is a smoke smell in the room. We are a non-smoking hotel and have been having some issues with people disregarding this, even though it's posted throughout the hotel. If you could contact me back at 907-729-700 or erik.mendoza@hilton.com with any other questions and that room number, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    197
    74
    38
    19
See reviews for
161
181
49
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valdez, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Home away from home. The hotel lobby is very warm and welcoming. Love the soft glow of the lobby fireplace, comfy couches and available goodies... coffee, tea, cookies and paper. The friendly hotel staff greet you with eye contact and smile! Rooms are clean, smell nice and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Betty H,

I'd like to thank you for your comments here on TripAdvisor. Being a "Home away from home" is a great compliment to our establishment and we hope to see you back again soon. Please feel free to contact us when you're ready to make a new reservation at 907-729-7000.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I travel for work and frequent many Hilton brand hotels. This hotel is conveniently located to many places of interested in Anchorage. The staff was very friendly. My room was a disappointment in some aspects. The Sleep Number bed is incredible but I didn't want to venture into the bathroom. The bathroom had a constant odor to it that I complained about a number of occassions. I had to buy an air freshener at the local Walmart. The gym is also disappointing. They have good cardio machines but they don't have any free weights. They have a weird weight machine that is very limited in what it offers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Jara S,

I sincerely apologize for your unsatisfactory stay here at our property. We have checked the room in question multiple times, but have not smelled the odor you've spoken of. Is there a chance you could contact me so I can follow up with a few question to find out who you reported this to and what was said? I'd really like to get this cleared up and hope to have you back again to show that we do listen to our guests and learn from it. My number is 907-729-7000 and my email is erik.mendoza@hilton.com.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I am a Hilton Honors member and have stayed in my fair share of HGI's on business. This is by far the BEST hotel experience I have had. The staff was accommodating, the food was delicious, and I will stay again next time I'm in Anchorage. Definitely.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Lizzy Z,

Mentioning that this is the "BEST hotel experience" you've ever had has made me a very happy person! We strive as a team to make every guest's stay excellent and your home away from home. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly for your next reservation as we cannot wait to have you back.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This value hotel in Anchorage offers great staff, amenities and a comfortable room for working. I arrived without having 'status' but felt like I was treated like a VIP. Free toothpaste when I arrived with none; bottled water, and overall I felt that the staff were really interested in my needs. I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Susan A,

Thank you so much for your response here on TripAdvisor. I have shared your response with the team here which received a big cheer! Please let us know when you'll be back as we'd like to extend our welcome and I hope to meet you in person on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Recently my husband & I stayed at the Anchorage Hilton Gardens in Anchorage. Upon checking in, I was disappointed to find out that the "Romance Package" I had signed up for was overlooked by the staff. I mentioned it, and the fact that things did not go exactly as planned, the staff was absolutely terrific in correcting the small problem. From the front desk, the cook, delivery man, the assistant manager and breakfast waitress, we want to thank you all for making our stay so enjoyable and really far exceeding our expectations in our stay. We will be back. I hope Hilton appreciates the great employees it has working at the Anchorage Hilton Garden Hotel. Thanks again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi522013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Suzi522013,

I want to thank you for your comments here on TripAdvisor. Again, I'm sorry for the "Romance Package" issue, but happy that you were satisfied with how we took care of the problem. Working as a team to make sure we resolve all issues and going above and beyond to correct them has made us learn how much customer service is our #1 priority. We definitely value our guests and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We loved our wait staff and chef Jay is amazingly talented!!!!!! Our waitress even comped our breakfast and she was just so sweet. Chef Jay is going places!! Best kept food joint in town! We will stay here from now on when we visit Anchorage. Chip Morris

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Cmorrisak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Mr. Morris,

Thank you for your wonderful compliments on the staff here at Hilton Garden Inn. We have definitely found a diamond in the rough with Chef Jay. He has turned The Great American Grille into a great place to eat with great service for our guests and locals. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Anchorage from Fairbanks.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Anchorage
Hampton Inn Anchorage
#7 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage
Address: 4555 Union Square Dr, 4555 Union Square Drive, Anchorage, AK 99503-7245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Anchorage
Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing