We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location location location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchorage Ship Creek RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Location of this rv park is great, we were about a 2 minute car ride from downtown....and downtown is awesome!

However, the location is in an industrial area, there are homeless people around the outside streets surrounding the park, some are tenting and obviously living there. The worst issue is the noise. You are right beside train tracks and regardless of others reviews on here, the trains do not stop at 8pm. I was awoken at 11pm and then again at a shocking 3am, to the sound of a large train whistle blowing right in my ears, and I had earplugs in!

The rv also shook when the train drove by! I was asking my husband, why is the rv shaking?

Then, at 730am, the fighter jets or some other sort of military jets started flying overhead! I know it is a city, but really? At 730am, trains and fighter jets?

It is almost funny, but not when you are paying $40 per night.

The picnic table stories are true. Each site does not have them, and the ones they do have are literally falling apart. Trying to move one from another site onto our site resulted in the table losing a huge chunk out of the top.

The bathrooms appeared reasonably well maintained, however it appears that they are open to the general public because there is no code for the door, which is pretty gross, considering the number of obviously homeless people around this park.

The park is fenced on two sides, but open to the train tracks on the one side and the front gate is open all night.

Our internet codes and other info were left tacked to the bulletin board at the front, so that was a nice touch. It's not a bad rv park, the,other rvs here are very nice and clean, well maintained etc and the park once inside is clean and cared for. So if you want to be downtown and don't mind a few homeless people hanging around a block or two from your site, and if you don't mind noise, you will be ok here for a few days. Don't believe all the hype, it is a city!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vegfam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here while passing through Anchorage. We liked the fact it was in town and close to restaurants and shops. And near the fun Ship Creek area where you can watch salmon fishing. Also within walking distance to the fabulous Bridge Restaurant and Ulu Factory. It's on the RR depot but that didn't bother us. Maybe one train that night. The owners are friendly, the showers are free and the rest room area is very nice. Clean. Friendly people. Would stay here again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The campground seems more like a parking lot than an actual campground. It is situated in an industrial area. The rail passes by and from time to time (even in the middle of the night) a train passes right next to the campground - using its horn and wakening up everybody.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hovat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We needed somewhere in the Anchorage area for our last night before returing our rented RV the following morning, and chose the Ship Creek RV park as we'd seen it advertised on-line and in "The Milepost". From the way it is advertised, you'd be forgiven for imagining it's located in landscaped, grassy parkland on the edges of a scenic inlet. The reality is quite a bit different, as it is located in a fairly run-down industrial area next to a busy railway line.

On arrival at 7pm on a Sunday evening we discovered the office had just closed, but there was a member of staff on the premises who advised us just to park in an empty site and pay our account the next morning. This was very helpful of her as otherwise our inclination would have been to turn round and try to find somewhere else.

It's a very large RV park, so there were plenty of sites available, although they are very close together, so if it were to get busy then noise/privacy could be an issue. Our site was also far from level and it took several experiments with different wooden block sizes before we could get a good level. We had full hook-up including TV which was all fully functional. Didn't use the shower block. Due to the time of year and hot, still weather, there were a serious amount of mosquitoes around, which made it difficult to sit outside in the evening.

Check-out the next morning was straightforward and the staff were friendly. I can't remember the rate but it was reasonable for the standard provided. Fine and functional for one night, but wouldn't particularly want to stay in this location for longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We tent camped here for 2 nights in August while waiting on our house in Anchorage to be ready. The management I dealt with during the day was very accommodating and let us park our large trailer in a adjacent spot without further charge. The bathrooms are clean with no additional charge for showers. Overall price expensive bit seems to be in accordance with AK standards.

The big thing that needs to be improved is the location. It is in a not-very-good part of town. Also, the railway runs literally right by the campsite and can be loud.

All in all, it offers a good place to RV/tent camp right in downtown which is great of that's what you need. But if you want to see the beauty (and quiet) of Alaska, go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heb3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Por si no quedo claro no es un hotel en un Camper Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rocardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
13.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
31.2 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,127 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Ship Creek RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Ship Creek RV Park

Address: 150 Ingra St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2767
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're ready to make your dream of visiting Alaska come true, make Best of Alaska RV Parks part of your experience. With recreational vehicle parks located in Anchorage and Skagway - we offer convenience, quality service and easy access to the activities and attractions you came to see. ANCHORAGE SHIP CREEK RV PARK puts a variety of activities and amusements at your doorstep. Located just a few blocks from downtown Anchorage, it offers easy access to Alaska's largest city. In addition to being near Alaska's top attractions, both of our parks offer a host of conveniences and amenities. You can be assured of clean restrooms and showers, friendly and courteous staff, water and electric hook-ups, laundromat, a local tour reservation center, and more. We also offer Bike and Bike & Carrier Rental Packages. Anchorage is a great place for cycling. With long summer days, 120 miles of paved bicycle trails and breathtaking scenery, it's a wonderful way to explore Anchorage. Make Best of Alaska RV Parks a part of your Alaska dream vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchorage Ship Creek RV Park Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing