We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll want a car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage
Homer, Alaska, United States
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You'll want a car”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The rooms are pleasant and clean with a kitchenette (refrigerator, microwave, 2 burners and sink) but you'll have to drive to reach anything. Anchorage busses are few and far between, no grocery store is near, no theatre, it is near Tudor with the constant sound of traffic. TGIFriday, Applebee's, Cattleman's and Starbuck's are walking distance. The only amenity this Aspen has is an exercise room, internet, air-conditioning and coffee at the front dest. The staff are pleasant, the price is reasonable, rooms are clean and it's not too far from the airport or downtown, but if you want to be near shopping, museums and such and are able to pay more, then check out the downtown hotels.

Room Tip: Back side rooms are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurgi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    29
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
15
4
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have been staying at the Aspen Suites since December 31st. We were asked to please submit a positive review on Tripadvisor on behalf of the hotel a couple weeks into our stay. We did out of courtesy and not having any concerns.

Being at the hotel awhile several guests have commented they wish they knew then what they know now before they booked. As summer season is fast approaching with many deciding on their vacation plans we thought we would leave our personal experiences at the Aspen to help vacationers.

To begin, there is no shuttle. Taxi service can be a 10-40 minutes wait. The busses are close but from this mid-town stop (Route 75) they run hourly or less often. The bus system should be a last resort for anyone with children. The terminal downtown is dirty, occupied with wayward teens, drunks, drug dealers. The ride into town is almost as bad.

There are no breakfast options courtesy or otherwise offered. (There are a couple snack vending machines and a beverage one in the laundry room). There are no afternoon cookies or pitchers of iced tea or water. There is luke warm water with an assortment of teabags beside a couple coffee urns in the lobby from 6A.M. until just before midnight. There are creamers, no hot chocolate for children though.

There is no pool, hot tub, outside seating area, inside lounge and the gym has carpet.

The check-in area is small. There is not a lounge or a common area as most hotels offer. They supply a couple chairs in random locations on the first floor to sit. None of them are placed by anything of interest.

There are two computers available near the check-in area to print off tickets or search the internet. After midnight they are not accessible though.

Key cards rarely work on outside doors. Be aware if you are arriving back to your room after midnight you are most likely going to be waiting while the security guy finishes his Skype. You might get lucky catching another guest exiting to have a smoke first.

Should you or anyone staying at Aspen have difficulty walking, using stairs, absolutely ask for a ground floor unit. The elevator is SLOOOOOOOW. Five or more minutes should be added to your schedule anytime you expect to use it. Often the elevator is out of service completely. At least six time since we have been staying. There is a concern any guest should have about safety being on the second, third or fourth floor who has limited mobility. Anchorage has been experiencing several earthquakes recently. In addition fire, crime or other emergencies that would require evacuation or fleeing quickly, (Especially at night) you are on your own to find safety. After safety, consider the elevator DINGS at every floor. LOUDLY. Try to get a room far, far away to mute the noise. Should you escape the elevator, the room doors no matter how carefully (Most guest are not) shut the door it SLAMS. LOUDLY.

Anyone who requires any reasonable speed internet should not even considered staying at Aspen. To log in to submit this review took me nine minutes after I started counting. Poor would be a five star rating to describe the connection available.

Bathrooms are spacious enough, however there is no privacy. The door is on a track that slides. There are NO locks. The door does not seal properly either. A fair warning there are no exhaust fans installed. Humidity from the shower floods the living/bed/kitchen area. You can imagine the sound & other uses that do not dissipate either.

The beds for us are comfortable. There seems to be a budget for new linens. The sheets, towels, comforters are worn, stained. NOTE too, there is only once a week housekeeping services unless you add an extra $10 to your room rate. You can exchange towels for cleaner ones without a fee at the front desk during their business hours (Plus refresh toiletries). Rather ridiculous trek once you factor in stairs, or wait time for the elevator. Towels daily might not be necessity yet I can tell you a vacuum is. There is A LOT of dust, rocks, scuff that will following you into your room.

The kitchen has a basic full sized fridg/freezer. The one in our room has a wonky control setting. Anything put in the crisper freezers, thaws, freezes again. We have thrown out many items for fear of food poisoning. The stove top burners are activated by a timer on the wall. Remember you need to initiate the dialer to start the burners. The stove top is useless IMO. The coils do not get hot enough to boil water unless you begin with hot water. Once you add anything to the kettle the temp reduces again. The pot and pan provided are worthless.There is no even cooking on them. I would suggest using the microwave except when the hotel was being prepped to open there was a miscommunication with housekeeping. The maids peeled off the protective layer that blocks splattering of foodstuff into the mesh of the microwave door. The only way to clean them is for maintenance to completely remove the door apparently. There is a toaster, a small coffee pot too. Ice is downstairs in the laundry room.

Others have commented, the tv's are set to a metric system which is annoying. Hit one false key you have to start all over again. There are no search menus or guides. Good luck.

There have been a couple bouts of bedbugs at this location recently. These pests are kindof common in Alaska. Thankfully they have been at the other end of the hotel from us. Problem for some is the rooms apparently being treated have been rented out during the process.

An ongoing concern we have had, which is why we are leaving our reservation early is the lack of meaningful security at the Aspen Hotel. Although they boast they pay a security service handsomely for nighttime services, there have been drugs, prostitution, domestic disputes which were not immediately responded to or where and not handled. This hotel has been SWATted by Homeland Security (Before we checked in), at least one raid by Anchorage police for prostitution, in addition to several arrests for wanted criminals. The current in house guest list looks sketchy. The halls are spotted & stained from drunkards vomiting in the halls. Housekeeping is not provided with deep carpet cleaners, they can merely wipe and vacuum.

Aspen is located near a residential area that can be rowdy. A block behind the hotel is a homeless camp. Use commonsense, be aware of your surroundings. In Anchorage it is common for rural folks to travel to Anchorage during the summer. Groups squat in each others hotel rooms. When they get kicked out of one room, someone else reserves a room in their name. The problem specifically with Aspen Hotel is a lack of evaluation who they give a room key to. While washing laundry a homeless trio found their way into the hotel after midnight. They were trying to knock over the vending machines for coins and food. Last week while I was trying to throw trash into the garbage room (Another idea by Aspen. Since they do not provide daily housekeeping they have rooms next to the elevators to throw your trash. These rooms have no ventilation. They get really disgusting, smelly) I hit a homeless man sleeping on a pizza box with the door. This was in the morning. He apparently was there all night without being questioned or noticed.

More personally, we had fraud uses on our bankcard we had on file at the Aspen. The charges were made back East in the exact location the former front desk manager relocated to after he was fired from the Aspen. When Anchorage Police Department asked for name/description/contact information to compare to the digital imaging captured at the points of purchase to our suspect the general manager refused. Our family had to involve the corporate office for Aspen to insist compliance. Since that complaint the general manager has rearranged our reservation departure date, she has disabled our room key cards, this morning she stalked our disabled son's respite assistant to the hotel room. If we were not involved in active therapy with our son we would have already left. The hotel is not comfortable or safe for our family.

For your family know in advance should you have simple or major issues with your stay, there will be no one of authority or maturity to speak with on site. With our first person experiences we would not recommend the Aspen Hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator. Chose a ground floor if you cannot use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Comfortable is the atmosphere of the Aspen Suites in Anchorage. The hotel is new. The interior is fresh, the colors are warm, the furniture is cozy. The staff are very pleasant. Everyone we have had conversation with from the general manager to housekeeping have been kind, helpful, willing to provide whatever service is needed. The front desk team are terrific!!! We are in a long term stay situation at Aspen while searching for a home. Everyday we are welcomed in the lobby area while getting a morning cup of coffee by smiles, sincere how are you greetings.

The Aspen is in a safe location near several eateries, Wal-Mart, a movie theater & bus stops.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyAHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I have stayed at the Aspen Suites several times while in Anchorage on buisness - once as long at 5 weeks although most trips are for 2 weeks at a time. This is a very comfortable hotel. The bed is on the same par as the larger hotels like Hilton and Marriott, and the bathroom is a lot larger. The staff is friendly and the rooms very clean. There are several restaurants within walking distance and a Starbucks is only 100 steps away - imporant to know when the snow is high or it is raining.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is mainly a long term stay/residence hotel but offers very spacious rooms with kitchen facilities. The room was very clean and comfortable with very good bathroom facilities. There is no room service or housekeeping unless you are booked in for a longer stay. Although some distance from downtown Anchorage, it is within easy walking distance of several places to eat. If you don't have a car, you would probably need to get a taxi to most places. If you're prepared to stay a little out of town, then this hotel offers good value for money as we found most hotels in Anchorage were very expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, and had a great stay. This hotel was comfortable, friendly & brand new.

This hotel is a little way from a few thing, but nothing a cab can't fix. If your heading through Anchorage, and need a place to stay, give this ago. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus_Trav_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three days. Loved every minute. This is a residence hotel and as such you do not get your bed made or sheets changed every day. The rooms are very big, immaculate and have a kitchen. Staff was terrific and responsive. That said, the bathroom has a hanging sliding door and the only closet is in the bathroom. Both are a bit unusual. I have a feeling that the owners saved on construction materials and in the future the rooms will begin to show the wear of age. For now they are fine and recommend staying here. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mefixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Clarion Suites Downtown
#28 of 73 in Anchorage
426 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage

Property: Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage
Address: 100 E Tudor Rd, Anchorage, AK 99503-7226
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new 92 room all kitchenette suites hotel in Midtown Anchorage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing