We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not fancy but good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Midtown
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not fancy but good enough”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I've stayed at this hotel last Sep for one night. I just needed to sleep as I am getting out early next morning and this hotel served great given that it was cheap (about $60). The breakfast was minimal and not that good. Overall I was satisfied with the stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank prior c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    22
    13
    26
    31
See reviews for
24
15
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kodiak, Alaska, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I travel to Anchorage frequently from Bush Alaska. Two years ago I stayed here to have foot surgery, and the heat didn't come on at all. It was September, and it was cold. The front desk was no help, the 800 number was no help, and when I finally talked to management somewhere they only gave me two nights in compensation they said I did not need the heat the other two nights. Remember I had just had surgery I was on crutches if I did not have friends in Anchorage who brought me a space heater I guess I would have just been cold. OK so I stayed there LAST NIGHT. I checked in and the first room was 87 degrees. I went down and got another room but it was still too warm and the heat was on and there was no way to turn it off. I opened the window but I was about 30 feet from a McDonalds drive in you can imagine how loud it was. I will never ever stay here again. Never.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

North Pole, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I visited with my family at the height of summer tourist season. We were allowed to make a room switch at the front desk because the bed size was incorrect. When we finally saw our room, I couldn't believe the dilapidated state of the furniture!! The bed - fine. The " leather" recliner: fine. The kitchen: missing cabinet knobs here and there, but ok. The pull-out sofa: worn with holes and tears to the point that the wood support frames were showing. You were literally sitting on a wood frame! It didn't want to go near it, and was appalled at the hotel's lack of concern that their guests were paying nearly $200 a night for shabby accommodations. I asked the front desk if there were any rooms available with a decent couch, and he said the rooms with "updated couches" were sold out. I asked for a discount on my room and he refused because I paid through Orbitz, which is bull. At any rate, NOT staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I visited with my family at the height of summer tourist season. We were allowed to make a room switch at the front desk because the bed size was incorrect. When we finally saw our room, I couldn't believe the dilapidated state of the furniture!! The bed - fine. The " leather" recliner: fine. The kitchen: missing cabinet knobs here and there, but ok. The pull-out sofa: worn with holes and tears to the point that the wood support frames were showing. You were literally sitting on a wood frame! It didn't want to go near it, and was appalled at the hotel's lack of concern that their guests were paying nearly $200 a night for shabby accommodations. I asked the front desk if there were any rooms available with a decent couch, and he said the rooms with "updated couches" were sold out. I asked for a discount on my room and he refused because I paid through Orbitz, which is bull. At any rate, NOT staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twentynine Palms, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The first night we arrived there was no hot water. It took 3 days before the water heater was fixed. The room heater uses the hot water heater also so we did not have heat in the room also. There was not dial tone on the room phone and the digital readout on our room thermostat does not display numbers. Front desk said they will send someone to fix it however, we were there for 5 days and no one came over to fix our issues. Breakfast was bare bone.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgsuites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This place was recommended to us by the local Veterinary hospital because it was across the street and they allowed pets. First of all we have been in hotels in the UK, NZ, Australia, Canada, and the US and never had we come across this situation: Our CC was charged on check-in. The manager said she has worked for 12 different hotel chains and this was standard practice. We didn't want to argue to point with her. Every hotel we've stayed at, has always charged the CC on check-out after asking if we want to use the original CC or different. Because of this, we were charged 3 times for our stay on 2 different cards. It took over a hour to straighten most of it out. We are still waiting for one of the charges that was reversed (so they say) to show up. We started a charge dispute with the bank on this. We weren't the only guest that had this problem. Wife overheard another guest complaining about daily charges that maxed out her CC.

As for the room, it was clean and the bed was fine. My wife hated the couch (leather) as it was uncomfortable. The toilet seat was broken on one side and pinched when it was used. Room service (cleaning) was only done once a week, so our room was never cleaned. Had to ask for clean towels every time. The bathtub was very noisy (creaking) while in use. It's as if it was not sealed to the floor. My wife tried to use the phone to call the front desk, but it would not connect.

On the second day, the fire alarm went off late in the afternoon, we got dressed, got the dog and went out side. After 5 minutes it stopped. No fire trucks? Went to the office to ask and they said "Oh it was a test." There was no warning for it at all. There were notices up for a fire alarm test for the day before and earlier in the day, but that never happened. Unbelievable!

Also encountered quite a few drunk guests at all hours at this hotel. There was no restaurant that I observed only a room service menu 800 phone number.

Some staff were helpful in trying to fix things but the outcome was not to our liking. Cleaning staff had personalities of rocks. Not very friendly. Needless to say we will never stay at an Extended Stay America again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Staff was unhelpful. Reservations were not honored. No hot water and staff lied to us concerning when it would be fixed and how many DAYS it would take. Hotel rooms are nice, but service was horrible.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
TownePlace Suites Anchorage Midtown
Midtown
My Place Hotel - Anchorage, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Midtown

Property: Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Midtown
Address: 700 E 34th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99503-4120 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Hotel Anchorage
Extended Stay Anchorage
Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Midtown Alaska
Anchorage Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing