We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe we got lucky, but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We didn't expect much but we arrived in the middle of the night, got a friendly greeting and got two rooms at the end of the hall, top floor. The rooms were nice and clean, and we couldn't hear a sound from other rooms and the location between the airport and town was very good. No complaints from us! There was free coffee in the am and reasonably priced items in the vending machine to hold us off til we got some breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank urbanrenewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Motel 6 Anchorage. I am delighted that you left our hotel with pleasant memories. We are looking forward to your next stay with us at the Motel 6.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

Thin walls and noisy clientele means you might be up at 3am writing a negative review while the staff does nothing to address the problem. Could be cleaned better. Towels had several strands of hair on both towels. Urine or blood stains in bathroom. Blanket smelled like someone used it to wipe their bottom. I've tried to give the place a chance several times and have been disappointed each time. STAY AWAY!!!

Room Tip: Go to another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awakeat3am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We have often stayed here because it is a low price but you sacrifice the little extras that can make it a good overnight experience. It is a fairly new motel 6 located by 2 very nice hotels. The rooms are very nice and clean. The walls are thin and you can hear others in neighboring rooms. The staff are often inconsistent and can be rude. Check-out time is noon but you will get raps on the door by cleaning staff and they will even get very loud in the hallway to make sure that you leave before noon. There are vending machines in lobby to purchase snacks and there is a microwave and free coffee. Winter rates are cheaper but then you get the local customers which are not always quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pointjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I don't need a 5-star stay to make me happy with a hotel, however I do expect good service, clean rooms, and a pleasant stay.

When we arrived, we were greeted by staff on their cell phones, eyes down. Once we got their attention, it was quite the process to get our keys made. The elevator was scary and smelly, and the luggage carts were falling apart. Our room was nice, but the sheets were very coarse and uncomfortable. The walls were so thin that someone in the hotel was having sex--and being very loud about it--and we heard them like they were in our room.

I'm aware that some activities occur in hotels, but I would have expected some more sound deadening, as we could also hear someone's TV at 7am.

The WiFi didn't work, and we were trying to plan our day in Anchorage and do some business. Had to go down to the desk for the only pleasant experience of the whole trip--the desk clerk at night was very kind and helpful. She didn't know anything about how the WiFi worked, but tried to help me out. We ended up having to call their ISP to fix it, and it finally got it working for us.

If it weren't for that kind woman at the desk, it would have been a very poor experience. Some of your staff are inattentive, but this woman was a great customer serviceperson! (Thank you, woman whose name I can't remember!)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JV355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We have booked our hotel in Anchorage far in advance. Even then many hotels were no longer available and we were happy to find this hotel available still at a really good rate by comparison to many other hotels in the area. Booking directly online on the hotel chain web site saved us $10 per night off the rate quoted on other travel web sites. Clean, well located next to many other much more expensive hotels. Bring your own shampoo, as the chain does not provide any.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sbmvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Obviosly this is a motel, not a 4 star hotel. It was okay. The main reason we stayed here wasbecause they have smoking rooms, because other hotels that allow smoking, like the Hilton, were booked the weekend we went on short notice. I have walked into smoking rooms before that didn't smell like cigarette smoke, but this was not the case at this motel. It smelt like there were several unemptyed ashtrays in the room. The one good thing was that the bedding didn't smell like cigarette smoke. The other part that was not good, was in the middle of the night there were drunks in the hall, that were making a big commotion, but the staff did take care of it. Also there were some people in the parking lot that were fighting. Other than those issues, it was to be expected at this type of motel. It is a newer motel six, which made it a nicer motel than most.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mountainchick51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Quite a good motel close to Anchorage airport.
The rooms were clean, nice and spacy, coffee and tea provided in the lobby.
Free shuttle to the airport.
Wi-Fi did not work but was immediately fixed when I announced it - it is a good sign.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OP255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puffin Inn
#37 of 74 in Anchorage
357 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt House Anchorage
Hyatt House Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown

Address: 5000 A St, Highway 1 East/Seward Highway, Anchorage, AK 99503-7400
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: £62 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Motel Six Anchorage
Anchorage Motel 6
Anchorage Motel Six
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing