We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful seafood etc. arrives hardly warm”

Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 870 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 4th and 5th
Transit: We are located in the heart of downtown. Public transportation is available within feet of Simon and Seafort's.
Description: Daily Happy Hour: 3-6pm & 9-Close. Known by the locals simply as "Simon's," we are an Anchorage landmark with beautiful panoramic views overlooking Cook Inlet of Mount Susitna and the Alaska Range giving guests a true Alaska dining experience. Our classic American grill has been artfully serving quality USDA prime-aged steak, fresh and innovative seafood since 1978. Chef James Sheppard has worked at Simon & Seafort's for 16 years and is an expert at preparing Alaska seafood. Crab stuffed Alaska halibut, Asiago crusted Halibut Cheeks, Wild Alaska salmon and rock salt roasted prime rib. Take advantage of our two hours of validated parking in the Captain Cook garage and enjoy a daily lunch, dinner or perhaps a special business or romantic occasion in our inviting and spacious dining room. Join our longtime friends and frequent visitors who have enjoyed many fond memories over the years as our guests and see why we are known locally for the best view and best seafood in Anchorage.
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood etc. arrives hardly warm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Four of us ate at S&S on a very busy night; we anticipated an exception meal for the prices. My pound of king crab legs were not even warm, the butter for dipping was cold, the candle for warming wasn't producing any heat as less than half of it remained. Other 3 meals were satisfactory, Table guests next to us complained to server about meal not being hot, but they refrained from replacement. At that time I also told our waiter heh, mine wasn't great either. Walking out we could see 5-6 dinners sitting on the kitchen shelf waiting for server pickup, plus another large tray with 5 more dinners. Seems the staff couldn't keep up with the kitchen! How long a meal sits determines how warm it is for the customer!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PATLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matton B, General Manager at Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide us with your feedback. We apologize that your visit was less than what you expect. It does not live up to your expectations, or ours. We strive to offer a great experience and we are sorry we did not live up to that. Please contact us so that we may learn more about your experience so we can find a way to make it right.
Again our apologies,

Robert Kilby
rkilby@r-u-i.com
907-360-4532
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    447
    167
    70
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Food was delicious, including local seafood. Service was great. Views were very nice. Very friendly atmosphere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravelers245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matton B, General Manager at Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! We are thrilled to hear it was not just great food, but an overall great experience, we hope to see you again soon! - The Simon's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must if in Anchorage.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Really enjoyed the meal. My wife had halibut cheeks, not on the menu but you have to ask. Ambiece was great and the service was excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matton B, General Manager at Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience. Our Halibut cheeks are one of our most popular dishes, as long as they are in season we can make it happen for you! Hope to see you again in the future. - The Simon's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
232 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“delightful meal overlooking the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

we had dinner here and it was great. fresh seafood all around. excellent chef fixing the fish great service was superb and attentive. The alaska crab legs were wow!!! Highly recommend, make rservation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matton B, General Manager at Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! We are happy to hear we made a special dinner for you! Hope to see you again in the future. - Simon's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“There are better places to eat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife was served undercooked scallops, and my request for an extra rare prime rib was answered with a medium rare dinner. Our waiter was indifferent and hurried, and never asked how we liked our food. The restaurant was very full, and considering the quality of food and prices, I'm not sure why it seemed so popular. our visit taught us to check Trip Advisor first!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank allen006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matton B, General Manager at Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide us with your feedback. We apologize that your visit was less than what you expect. It does not live up to your expectations, or ours. We strive to offer a great experience and we are sorry we did not live up to that. Please contact us so that we may learn more about your experience so we can find a way to make it right.
Again our apologies,

Robert Kilby
rkilby@r-u-i.com
907-360-4532
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Simon & Seafort's Saloon & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing