We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, Amazing view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Captain Cook

The Hotel Captain Cook
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hotel Captain Cook is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 867 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mountains of CO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing food, Amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had been told to eat dinner here but we didn't have a reservation. We went in and they did have a table available but it wasn't overlooking the inlet which is what we wanted. They said we could wait in the bar for about 30 mins and one should be available. We sat in the bar and within 5 mins a table right by the water opened up and we were able to take it. BEAUTIFUL sunset! Great wine list and the food was SO GOOD! It was a very romantic dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank magnolia1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    43
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
261 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Air conditioned, classic, faded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is an Alaskan landmark since the former governor built it. They have added air conditioning - strange to think of that, but with global warming. Get a junior suite, its worth it having the extra room. The food is passable. Service is very good. One of the few places to stay in Anchorage

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank doctort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Whale's Tale WIne Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Whale's Tale Wine Bar has great food. I had the Kobe Sliders. Very Yummy. Their fries are very good too. I bought a $2 wine card. THought I would get more wine than I did and I was not drinking the expensive stuff. Not a good deal money wise but got to try 5 different wines. Atmosphere is nice and they have live entertainment. We left before it started. Service was top notch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bsoup77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“1st class hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Crows Nest restaurant, and the Whales Tail are located in this hotel. Liked the restaurants. No dislikes. They have some really nice shops in the little mall inside there. The view is great from the Crows Nest.try the Cafe Dialo.outta this world. The hotel is located downtown Anchorage. With-in walking distance of a lot of different things to see for the travelers. The only thing about the location of this hotel is downtown Anchorage can get a little chilly at night if it's windy. Be sure to bring a coat. This is Alaska.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

One representative gave my family an upgrade because we are both Army and Airforce (18years) out of appreciation. When we checked in all hell broke out because she did that for us, front desk clerk (Michael) was very rude, unprofessional, it was embarassing! He told us he would let it go this one time (like we authorized ourselves) that it won't happen again. Not a kid-friendly hotel, also recieved bad service from Fletchers. They could not get a simple burger correct it was brought back several times and when asked to speak to a manager he never came over! I was intrigued about the Captain Cook Hotel but not anymore! My first experience of this hotel was not an impressive one. But the rooms are very nice!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicole0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hotel Captain Cook also viewed

 

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing