We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Way this is the Prettiest Spot in Anchorage”
Review of Point Woronzof

Point Woronzof
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.00*
and up
Anchorage All Around City Tour
Ranked #32 of 220 things to do in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“No Way this is the Prettiest Spot in Anchorage”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

An earlier review described this as the prettiest spot in Anchorage. I think that may have been a joke. this is a parking lot at the end of a runway.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank stlbrychel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    43
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Viewing Airplanes”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Next to LAX, I can't think of a better spot to watch airplanes take off than here at Point Woronzof. When I lived in Alaska, I would frequently ride my bicycle to Point Woronzof and sit on one of the many benches and watch the massive jets take off from Ted Stevens International. It never ceases to amaze me how incredible it is to watch airplanes take off from an airport. Point Woronzof is about 13 minutes from downtown Anchorage and is a cheap activity for a family. It is roughly 7 miles one way on the Coastal Trail from downtown Anchorage.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Walk your @$$ off.”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This is w wonderful place to start off on the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. You can do an hour or more of walking or biking (what ever rolls or walks). Breathtaking views of Mount McKinley and the Alaska Range. Some times an optical illusion make the mountains look as close as the edge of the water other times the recede into the soft hazy sun light. I have seen giant walls of mud on the opposite bank break down as if they could send a tsunami, only to realize that it is just the optics of the heat and air making a mountain out of a mole hill. Some time the sun so low it casts shadows of the mountains on the clouds as if the light it self came out of the earth. There are posted hours for the parking lots and trail but nobody ever stopped me for watching the sun emerge from behind the mountains at 2AM with deep purple peaks against a cerulean sky, yellow and gold edging the crags. The light is of the most unusual quality/, more often from the side then on top of you.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunsets!”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Go watch the sunset over the Inlet. If you may will be blessed. The ice cream truck might even be there.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Awesome views, great trails. Fun to comb the beach for agates and volcanic rock. The only sad part is that people love to trash this beach. Especially by throwing beer bottles over the bluff.

Helpful?
Thank akkricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Point Woronzof also viewed

 

Been to Point Woronzof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing