We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every visit to Anchorage should start here . . .”

Visit Anchorage Log Cabin Visitor Information Center
Ranked #11 of 224 things to do in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Every visit to Anchorage should start here . . .”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was my first visit to Anchorage, and the visitor's center was a perfect resource for information. Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff can recommend day trips all over Alaska. The trolley stop is right outside of the visitor's center, and many of the tour companies for day cruises, flights, etc. are within a block of this place. Definitely where you should start if you are new to Anchorage or Alaska.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitAnchorage, Owner at Visit Anchorage Log Cabin Visitor Information Center, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the Visit Anchorage visitor information centers -- our area downtown has involved into visitor central for information, transportation, tours, dining and entertainment so we're glad you found us useful. We love hosting visitors from throughout the world. Thanks again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    181
    69
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Center Moriches, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very helpful!!!!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

As soon as we landed we went there to get info for tours since we were on a short trip to Ak.....they were so nice and we were able to book a glacier tour on short notice with their recommendation!!!! Thank you!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cas0629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitAnchorage, Owner at Visit Anchorage Log Cabin Visitor Information Center, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thanks for your input on the Visit Anchorage visitor information centers. We're glad our volunteers and staff could find you a glacier tour -- it's not to be missed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great folks”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The people working the Center are true Alaskans and really care about their state and the town of Anchorage. They are well versed in the history of the area and offered great suggestions on where to go. Very friendly and very helpful and a must stop in Anchorage!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitAnchorage, Owner at Visit Anchorage Log Cabin Visitor Information Center, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and kind words about the volunteers of the Visit Anchorage log cabin visitor information center. Our people love what they do, and we think they are great ambassadors for our city and state.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not an exciting building; but has information for vacationers”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was not impressed with the looks of the log cabin--it is there to give travel information. Inside there are many brochures describing attractions in Anchorage and elsewhere in Alaska. There are helpful people that will answer your questions, and perhaps make a suggestion that will "wow" you. These people are there because they love Alaska, and they want to help you have "travel ideas" to make your trip to Alaska a wonderful memory. .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsaintmarteeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitAnchorage, Owner at Visit Anchorage Log Cabin Visitor Information Center, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Visit Anchorage log cabin visitor information center and brochure center. Our volunteers enjoy helping visitors find their way in our city and state and you're right, we love being able to give people ideas for something special to see or do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Information central for Anchorage area”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This picturesque visitor center is a good starting point for any newcomer to Anchorage. It takes only a few minutes to pick up information about local events and attractions. Take a few more to enjoy the flowers!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rockhugger48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitAnchorage, Owner at Visit Anchorage Log Cabin Visitor Information Center, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the Visit Anchorage log cabin visitor information center. With the evolution of the corner at 4th and F into a shuttle stop as well, we like to think we provide great one-stop shopping for visitors who are looking for information on what to do and where to do. Plus we have a ton of beautiful flowers! We're always happy to see people departing with event listings, restaurant guides and visitor information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Visit Anchorage Log Cabin Visitor Information Center also viewed

 

Been to Visit Anchorage Log Cabin Visitor Information Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing