We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Ranked #58 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
New Orleans, La
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Quaint hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

The Anchorage Downtown Hotel is a quaint hotel with a great location and a wonderful staff who goes over and above to please their customers. Although the hotel is lacking a restaurant or coffee shop, there are many good eating places within walking distance of the establishment.
I wouldn't hesitate to book another stay there.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    35
    42
    34
    42
See reviews for
24
77
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I agree with MMBonaire. We were not expecting a 5 star resort, but we were not expecting this either. This place actually came as a recommendationf rom one of the other bed and breakfasts we stayed, so we thought we were in for a treat... Carpets were filthy and the room we were placed in had a window that opened into a hallway- little privacy and fresh air for the smelly carpet. We were with friends who were in a seperate room with a missing smoke detector (not exactly safe), a broken refrigerator and a broken remote control. The beds were comfortable and sheets clean, but the way they advertise the hotel rooms on their website fooled us into believing that the rooms were going to be nicer than they were. (Notice they never show you any carpet shots). For $200/night, you'd expect better.
We too, stayed here at the end of a 2 week trip to Alaska, where every other place we stayed was leaps and bounds above this property.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank easy2bkeysey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Rooms are small but beds are comfortable. I have back problems and I slept better than I have in a while. Big TV and a small bathroom but it was just what we needed. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rneal1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

After deciding to take an impromptu trip to Anchorage, my fiancé and I decided to stay at this wonderful boutique hotel. Seeing as this trip was last minute, I was surprise to see this hotel had availability for a great deal.

The hotel was only a few blocks from the busy downtown bars and restaurants, we didn't spend more than $8 taking a cab to several different locations. The front desk is quite helpful with any questions we had. They offer a continental breakfast daily (bagels, muffins, cereal, coffee, and tea)

The rooms are quite small, though they utilize the space well. Honestly, I didn't have a problem with the size of the room for the two nights that we had stayed. Their queen bed was comfortable.

However, I recommend getting room either one the 1st or 2nd floor since there is no elevator. Also, our room faced their parking lot which made it easy to get our luggage there but people could easily see into our room. We had to keep the curtains closed for most of the 2 days.

It's a charming little gem in Anchorage that Id definitely stay at again.

Room Tip: Get a 1st or 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiaVonDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We choose Anchorage Downtown hotel for the last two nights of our tour through Alaska that lasted three weeks in which we stayed in more than a dozen different hotels and B&B's. Its location combined with the affordable price made us decide to book this hotel using internet. We did not expect nor wanted "the Royal Palace". Clean sheets, reasonably quiet at night and a bathroom is the standard for any 2 star or higher ranked hotel, isn't it?? During the first night, our toilet did not work properly (we spare you the details) so we reported this issue to the front desk person and left the hotel for more than 10 hours to do some hiking. Returning to our hotel, we were surprised (to put it mildly) to find out that the issue had not been solved (and after contacting the front desk again) not even had been tackled. It became quickly clear that this problem is a reoccuring one (we overheard staff talking about "that toilet again") however to both staff and management, it seemed not urgent enough to solve.
We are convinced the manager will write an apology in which he explains that the quality and comfort of his guest his top priority but he and his staff need to be potty trained. In other words, fix the G..damn toilet in room 111 and listen to a simple question of a guest if it comes to your attention. We were unable to book a room in another hotel (we tried with help of the lovely front desk staff of the neighboring Clarion Suites) because all of Anchorage was booked solid. We rather sleep on a bench in the park than one more night in this place that calls itself the Anchorage Downtown hotel

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MMBonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

The first night we stayed we hadn't realized that the window needed a bit of convincing before it would open so the room got pretty hot, but after we figured it out the place was great. The beds are big and clean, the room was clean and the shower was nice. Breakfast wasn't spectacular but it tasted fine. One of the staff just started working there and wasn't yet up to speed with all the ins and outs of the hotel, but the staff was always polite and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nywles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed four nights and it was wonderful. The hotel is super homey, small, clean and smells great! (I've been to hotels who just smelled disgusting from cigarettes and gnarly carpet). We came into the room it was a little on the small side but the bed was comfy, clean, made nicely, and the bathroom was super cute even though it was on the small side. We had a 55 inch flat screen Samsung tv in our room that worked great. The continental breakfast was a little on the lighter side but i'm not a big breakfast eater. I've payed over $100 for other hotels and they were much crappier than this one. This place is great for $60 that I payed. I would recommend 100%.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Clarion Suites Downtown
#27 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#20 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Property: Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Address: 826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Downtown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small (16 rooms) boutique type hotel. Free parking. This hotel is great for the traveler that does not want or need all the noise and hustle associated with the large chains. We are quite, social, safe, clean. We offer good clean rooms at a reasonable price. Our guest stay between 1-21 nights. Business travellers, vacationers, tours, students, military all like staying here. Restaurants, shopping, nightlife, are all just down the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Anchorage Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Downtown Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing