We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, but all the essentials at a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Ranked #61 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Our stay in Anchorage was short and this hotel had everything we needed: convenient, clean, free parking, microwave, fridge, Internet, continental breakfast... and a very fair price. Beds were so comfy and the TV was HUGE! Room was a bit small but it really didn't matter since we were gone all day every day. Definitely would recommend this place for the easy-going travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

We were scheduled to stay here & were not able to due to a medical emergency.The room was prepaid.When we asked for a credit for future trips to Anchorage(3hr drive for us) we were told no we needed to cancell 3 days in advance.The medical emergency was out of our hands,mom had to go to ER.I have emailed the hotel & owner after calling the hotel & have never gotten a response.Very wrong!!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We had a pleasant weeks stay at the Downtown Hotel. It's not the nicest hotel, but by no means is it a roach motel. The breakfast was nice, even if the dining room is a bit small.

The location can't be beat -- a short walk to downtown Anchorage and it's restaurants and shops. The bed was comfortable, the tv was nice and the price was great.

The only bad thing that happened was that they had some issues with the fire alarms two days in a row when we were there, so they went off very early in the mornings. Not ideal, but that's life and we got past it.

All in all, this hotel is a great deal for the price and location. We will say here again should we ever return to Anchorage.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

After 24 hours flying from Rio de Janeiro we arrive in Anchorage in this nice place. We stayed in an inner room without view but were so tired that slept right away. Next day we went to visit the city center which was a few blocks away. Overall service, cleanliness and breakfast were very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonardo_Sadcovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

So, we arrive in Anchorage, thinking we'll just find an apartment and move in, just like we have done in other states. Uh uh. No apartments and all the hotels are either really sketchy or mucho deniro. So, we stop in to the Downtown Hotel "for one night" and ended up staying 4 nights, and ultimately renting an offsite apartment through the property management company that shares the space. The Hotel room was cute, warm, and cozy. The neighborhood is fine, it's a short walk to many restaurants and the downtown area. Great running and biking routes nearby - Coastal Trail is not far. Continental breakfast each morning was a nice treat!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoboHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I stayed here in September and although it was pretty nice outside (mid-60s during the day), the heat was on all the time. They leave the windows open before you check in, but there are no screens and the neighborhood is a bit run down so I didn't want to leave the window open when I was there. The heat quickly became unbearable and there is no way to adjust it. Hotel staff acted like they couldn't adjust it either. Free wi-fi, okay breakfast. The airport shuttle cost $15 a person, each way.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor -- if you have to leave the windows open, at least you don't have to worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This older hotel is a nice surprise. We arrived late in the evening, and found a comfortable room, large and with two very big windows. There was good and free wifi. The beds were very nice and clean, and the shower was wonderful. It was a little loud with traffic noise, but it is in the center of Anchorage, and very convenient to all the attractions, so that was to be expected. There was a very spartan continental breakfast, but at least you could start the day with coffee, juice, and a little extra. You will probably want to go out for a full breakfast, but that is nearby. The shuttle was very prompt from the airport, and also to the train station on the morning of our departure for Seward and an Alaskan cruise, all complimentary. All in all, a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerzdevlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 74 in Anchorage
457 reviews
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#46 of 74 in Anchorage
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
477 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 74 in Anchorage
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Address: 826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: £98 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Downtown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 16 room Boutique style hotel centrally located in Downtown Anchorage. There is an abundance of restaurants, shopping, and sites to see within walking distance. We offer clean, affordable, smoke-free and pet-free rooms. All of our rooms have their own mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, private bathroom, and large flat screen TV. To better accommodate our guests we offer free parking, we also have 100+ cable channels - including HBO, complimentary WiFi internet throughout the hotel, and a continental breakfast served in the lobby from 7am-9am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Downtown Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing