We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay/not too expensive and in downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice stay/not too expensive and in downtown”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

So I was here in November 2012 for a week, one good tip if you gonna checkin after 10pm than let the Hotel know in advance I coudnt get in after this hour and had to checkin into a another Hotel for my first night. But after all the Room and Place has been great aswell the Breakfast was alright, so for the wintertime the Hotel is pretty good dont know how it is at the Summer Time, but its like 1 min by foot till you will get to the Downtown.
So for sure I would recommend this Hotel as the Staff there was pretty friendly to me and the Room was neat and the Roomrate was alright aswell (for Alaska prices).
For sure you can go to the Marriott just next to it but be prepared to pay over 200$ per night and the Breakfast/Internet is not included in the Rate. So I think I have chosen it alright the Anchorage Downtown Hotel, and anyway you will spent most of the time outside and explore Alaska so the Hotel is alright for that.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanaKrupka711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    36
    42
    37
    46
See reviews for
24
81
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

Decwnt enough property, not the best area. Super hot (fine when chilly) but no way to adjust. Window open works while there but hope noisy neighbors don't bother you. If you had biz for a week ok, microwave, fridge etc.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrazyKYYOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Our stay in Anchorage was short and this hotel had everything we needed: convenient, clean, free parking, microwave, fridge, Internet, continental breakfast... and a very fair price. Beds were so comfy and the TV was HUGE! Room was a bit small but it really didn't matter since we were gone all day every day. Definitely would recommend this place for the easy-going travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soldotna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We were scheduled to stay here & were not able to due to a medical emergency.The room was prepaid.When we asked for a credit for future trips to Anchorage(3hr drive for us) we were told no we needed to cancell 3 days in advance.The medical emergency was out of our hands,mom had to go to ER.I have emailed the hotel & owner after calling the hotel & have never gotten a response.Very wrong!!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We had a pleasant weeks stay at the Downtown Hotel. It's not the nicest hotel, but by no means is it a roach motel. The breakfast was nice, even if the dining room is a bit small.

The location can't be beat -- a short walk to downtown Anchorage and it's restaurants and shops. The bed was comfortable, the tv was nice and the price was great.

The only bad thing that happened was that they had some issues with the fire alarms two days in a row when we were there, so they went off very early in the mornings. Not ideal, but that's life and we got past it.

All in all, this hotel is a great deal for the price and location. We will say here again should we ever return to Anchorage.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

After 24 hours flying from Rio de Janeiro we arrive in Anchorage in this nice place. We stayed in an inner room without view but were so tired that slept right away. Next day we went to visit the city center which was a few blocks away. Overall service, cleanliness and breakfast were very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardo_Sadcovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

So, we arrive in Anchorage, thinking we'll just find an apartment and move in, just like we have done in other states. Uh uh. No apartments and all the hotels are either really sketchy or mucho deniro. So, we stop in to the Downtown Hotel "for one night" and ended up staying 4 nights, and ultimately renting an offsite apartment through the property management company that shares the space. The Hotel room was cute, warm, and cozy. The neighborhood is fine, it's a short walk to many restaurants and the downtown area. Great running and biking routes nearby - Coastal Trail is not far. Continental breakfast each morning was a nice treat!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoboHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.8 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
0.3 mi away
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#41 of 73 in Anchorage
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#49 of 73 in Anchorage
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Property: Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Address: 826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Downtown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 16 room Boutique style hotel centrally located in Downtown Anchorage. There is an abundance of restaurants, shopping, and sites to see within walking distance. We offer clean, affordable, smoke-free and pet-free rooms. All of our rooms have their own mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, private bathroom, and large flat screen TV. To better accommodate our guests we offer free parking, we also have 100+ cable channels - including HBO, complimentary WiFi internet throughout the hotel, and a continental breakfast served in the lobby from 7am-9am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Downtown Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing