We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions count”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“First impressions count”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We expected to be picked up by shuttle as advertised, however none arrived at the airport.
We got a cab into the city and delivered to the hotel.
We got to the door and no sign of reception - you have to go down a flight of stairs to get there with your luggage.
The receptionist was extremely officious and unhelpful. Apparantly there is only one person on the desk and they also drive the shuttle - you have to call from the airport to get them to pick you up, and then there is no one left on the front desk, so any poor person left waiting the 45 mins or so for the round trip to the airport just has to wait.
There is no elevator, so if you're on the top floor, you have to carry your luggage up as no service.
The room is dark and kitch, the window winder is broken so you have no option but to have an open window, which I guess isn't too bad as it's very hot inside and no thermostat control.
The bathroom is no bigger than a closet, and you have to squeeze through between the sharp bathroom bench and shower screen to get into the shower.
If the initial service wasn't so bad, this review would have been kinder.

Room Tip: Just don't book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissT603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    36
    42
    35
    44
See reviews for
24
80
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nome
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have been staying at Anchorage hotels for over thirty years. This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in-- anywhere. The very old building was poorly soundproofed-- inside and with regard to outdoor noise. The windows were old, wood-framed, decaying models that did not seal out the noise of traffic. The bathroom was old and dingy and not very clean-- there seemed to be black scum in the track that the shower door slid back and forth in. The old carpet on the bedroom floor was filthy-- I was very glad that I remembered to bring a pair of flip flops. The smell of artificial fragrances throughout the building was so potent that is was offensive-- clearly a cover-up for lack of real cleanliness.
Adding insult to injury was the price-- at $222 per night, it was WAY too expensive, even by Anchorage summer-rate standards.
I would not recommend this place to anyone, for any reason.

Room Tip: If you had to stay there, the top floor might be quieter. We were on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Clayton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The customer service was beyond phenomenal. The rooms were fairly priced...small rooms, but not a bad deal if you just need a place to stay while you check out the area. They have free shuttle service to the airport and back, made staying here very convenient. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale AZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the Anchorage Downtown Hotel for two nights in August 2013. For the price we paid (222/night) and the room were given, I don't think I can recommend it. A better room or price would have improved palatability.
The good:
The best Wi-Fi I have ever had in a hotel. That was pretty spiffy for a pair of internet addicts.
The free breakfast was nice, and changes day to day, so you didn't have to eat the same thing each day. Fruit, bread, muffins, OJ, bagel, cereals, coffee. Slightly better than the plain old cold Danish and coffee.
Rooms have small frigs and a coffee maker. Our room also had a thermostat, others have said they did not.
Staff was pleasant to deal with.
Free shuttle to airport was very helpful.
Free parking during the summer season.
Some have complained about the location- I don't see it. Yes, it is not right in the thick of things, but we had no problem walking over to the downtown area when we wanted to. We did not feel unsafe in the locale. Anchorage is laid out in a grid system downtown with streets numbered on one axis and lettered on the other, so it was super easy to find anyplace you wanted to go.
The bad:
Stairs. No matter where you stay, you will take at least a flight of stairs (8-10). There were two (I think) rooms down in the basement, where we stayed. The rest of the rooms are upstairs. There is no ground floor at all. Now this is not necessarily a huge issue, but by the time I got to Anchorage my bag weighed over 50 pounds and was NOT fun to drag up and down the stairs. There was no bell service to my knowledge. So this is not for you if you have mobility issues. Do not book a room here.
Bathroom : Ours was too sparse. There was a sink (with decent hair dryer), a toilet with a basket containing shampoo and bar soap- nothing else, and a stall shower. Shower was an old type of molded shower with a seat, which was nice, and old no slip runners on the floor. The shower was dinged and tired looking. That wouldn't have been a big deal, but the temperature control was a nightmare. You seemed to have two choices, icy and scalding. I kind of suspect when the other guests flushed it affects the temp of your shower. Anyway, the ceiling of the bathroom is dotted with yucky green smudges. When I noticed them in the shower I assumed they were the result of a shampoo accident. But later I notice they are all over the ceiling, so I don't know... Anyway, it did not seem to be an overly clean room. We know the room had been cleaned before we got there, because we were choking on Lysol fumes for the first hour or so. But my biggest complaint about the bathroom was there were no hooks, no shelves, nothing for you to place things on or hang a bathroom bag. There is ample room in there for it, but there was nothing. Perhaps that is a project for the long winter? It was irritating as the sink area was very small, and the room was designed for 4 people. It really needs some shelves.
The room itself... Our room was a long room with two queen beds in it, separated by a wall dividing the room in half. One side has the closet, which is in the half wall (horizontally, not vertically). the other half has a large table and overstuffed chair. There were no bed side tables at all. There was a frig and coffee maker. My sister plugged her phone into one of the outlets only to discover the next morning that there was no power to that plug. The carpet is old and gross and torn where the two sides meet. Each half room had an overhead light. There were no bedside lights at all, I suppose since there was no where to place them due to the lack of tables. The television was mounted on the wall. I think it could perhaps pivot between the two beds, but we never turned it on or found out. There was a wall mounted phone. There was a really old sprinkler in the room, but alarmingly no smoke detector I could see. It may have been on my sisters side of the room, but she did not notice it if so. There was a creepy space off the room which was empty except a broken luggage rack. There was an iron and board in the room. There were large floral murals painted on the room , which struggled mightily to cheer up the dismal room.
The beds. The beds were hands down the worst part of the stay. The bedspread was a cream color nylon, complete with snags. It was a very unpleasant fabric to touch. Usually I just pull the bedspread off anyway. This simply revealed that there was no blanket underneath, just a sheet. The beds were the noisiest I have ever come across. I had a theory that perhaps they put the really noisy beds in the double queen room since they probably wouldn't get ..used noisily, IYKWIM. Sadly, I discovered that that was not the case, at least for the room directly above my bed... I will say, if you laid completely still and did not move, the beds were relatively comfortable. They were just SO NOISY!
OK, so It seems like perhaps, based on the other reviewers photos, that the other rooms are much better looking. I hope so, and that perhaps we just got the one room that was still stuck in the past. If you are interested in staying here, we stayed in room 111, you may want to request that you do NOT get that room.
One last caveat. Unlike most hotels where they are very cautious about lost keys and room numbers, this hotel actually has physical keys attached to keychains which are engraved with the room number on them. So If say I had lost my key and not realized it, someone who found it could head right into our room with it and clean them out before we came back. I realize this is a slightly paranoid viewpoint, YMMV.

Room Tip: I do not recommend room 111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalancingAct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and fly in and out of Anchorage several times a year and have stayed at six different hotels and B&Bs, ranging from the Capt. Cook (high end) to Day's Inn (low). We have chosen to return to this small hotel (about 20 rooms) four times. The price is excellent for Anchorage and I felt very safe. The rooms are about $100/nt as opposed to $200/nt at a Marriott Courtyard near the airport. To me, that $100 savings is worth quite a bit, as I just want a hotel for a bed and a shower. The location is in the downtown area, about 8 blocks from a lot of restaurants. You can walk in nice weather. Parking is free and the shuttle is, too, at certain times of year (ask). The rooms are quite small, about the size of a home's child's room, and crowded with a refrigerator, microwave, and full dresser (no desk or table and chairs). The continental breakfast is very modest: cold cereal and muffins, coffee, juice and fresh fruit. Some of the rooms have windows that open into a hallway instead of opening to the outdoors. So specify something you might not think you need to mention! Note: the hotel is not open year round and if you write or call for a reservation when it is closed, as I did last January, I did not get a response until I found the email address of the owner and wrote him directly. This hotel is not for everybody, but certainly a good value if you plan to be out and about during the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in which the windows open outside, not onto the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LK E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The descriptions found online regarding this hotel are very misleading. Most favorable reviews have to be written by owners or staff, or are old and no longer applicable. I can’t imagine anybody actually enjoying this place very much.

We made reservations here, one for the beginning and one for the end of our trip. The hotel offers shuttle service. Upon arrival at the airport, I called them. An employee at the hotel rudely informed me that check-in wasn't until 3:00. I thought she wasn't going to send the van for my wife and I until then. She treated me as if I was wasting her time, then finally said she would pick us up. She showed up and was nicer, telling us that there is only one employee at the hotel and that they have to simultaniously run the front desk and shuttle service. This explains her inital attitude.

We checked in. Our room was dirty and dark. Nothing like the photos. It stunk like smoke. The clerk said they allow people to pay a $500 fine to smoke in the rooms. Odd. Seems smoking outside would be just a tad cheaper and almost as convenient.

The carpet in the room was sticky and stained, the bathroom was dirty, we couldn't tell if the sheets on the bed had been changed. It’s one of those places you don't want to take your shoes off in.

The foyer was gross. The dining counter there hadn't been washed in ages, even though this is where guests eat breakfast every day. Rub a napkin along the counter and it looks as if you just wiped a dirty car. It was that unbelievably dirty.

The following morning we left and enjoyed the rest of our trip.

At the end of our trip, we arrived back at the hotel early, less than two hours prior to check in time, for our final reservation. We asked the manager for a parking card, and were reminded we were there before check-in. We left to kill time so we could come back and check in.

When we came back to check in we could not. There was no employee available; the manager, who was the only guy working there, was gone. A sign said he was at the airport and would be back in 20 minutes. My wife was sick, needed to rest. After waiting 40 minutes, nobody showed up, and finally we left. It is ridiculous that we were waiting that long at a hotel to access our reservation, to get into our room, and there was nobody around to help. I've never experienced such a thing anywhere else.

We found a room elsewhere, and immediately cancelled our reservation with Anchorage Downtown Hotel via e-mail, fully explaining within the cancellation why we had to leave. We were there, they were not.

I’ve just learned that management there not only charged us for that day, the day they were not available to assit us, but charged us double the original amount, even though I sent the cancellation explaining that we were there to check in, and we had waited for the better part of an hour for them to return, but they were not available, they were gone. They were not there to do their job, they were "no-show", and now they have taken money from us, more than they were ever entitled to.

They not only provided poor customer service, but provided no service at all. Instead of accepting that as their mistake and correcting their practices to better serve their customers, they vengefully charged our credit card with no authorization from us at all. And not only did they charge for the day in question, they arbitrarily charged double the original amount. Ridiculous and pathetic! I am working with my CC company to recover the money. Don't know if I'll be successful.

This hotel is filthy and dank, has poor customer service (if you can get service at all) and management is dishonest, as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our party of four arrived in Anchorage on August 1, 2013. Both couples found the rooms to be totally unacceptable. The rooms were very small and smelly and there was no place to put your suitcases. The tipping point was the pillow cases that covered only two-thirds of the pillows!! We were so disgusted that we informed the front desk that we could not stay in these rooms and asked for a settlement. We ended up having to pay the full fare for the night. We were able to find rooms at The Captain Cook which was very nice. We are very experienced travelers and found this to be the worst hotel experience ever!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this hotel!! If you don't believe me, read the other recent reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fmrsgnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.8 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
0.5 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#52 of 73 in Anchorage
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#29 of 73 in Anchorage
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#38 of 73 in Anchorage
35 reviews
0.7 mi away
aviator hotel anchorage
aviator hotel anchorage
#44 of 73 in Anchorage
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Property: Anchorage Downtown Hotel
Address: 826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Downtown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 16 room Boutique style hotel centrally located in Downtown Anchorage. There is an abundance of restaurants, shopping, and sites to see within walking distance. We offer clean, affordable, smoke-free and pet-free rooms. All of our rooms have their own mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, private bathroom, and large flat screen TV. To better accommodate our guests we offer free parking, we also have 100+ cable channels - including HBO, complimentary WiFi internet throughout the hotel, and a continental breakfast served in the lobby from 7am-9am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Downtown Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing