We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2011

On our three-week tour of Alaska and the Yukon this was the most amazing stay. Carol Ross has her house decorated as a living museum and it is a special experience to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

The varied breakfasts that we enjoyed at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast were the best we experienced in Alaska. She was also very helpful in providing coupons for attractions and restaurants in Anchorage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed 4 nights and loved our room although the en suite was very small. Carol went to so much trouble with the breakfasts but every morning was like an education in everything Alaskan. She is very knowledgeable and a lovely person. We did find it a bit too much though every morning to have a lesson with our breakfast. Every where is lovely and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Carol is a concerned and welcoming hostess, and is very knowledgable and proud of Alaska. She specialises in providing extraordinary breakfasts: it's not the place for cornflakes and toast. The guest areas are plentifully furnished with antiques and objets d'art. It'd be good to have time to read all the books and watch all the videos, but no-one has holidays that long. It's only a five minute drive to Downtown Anchorage and maybe ten minutes to the airport. We'd certainly hope to go back if we ever return to Alaska.

Room Tip: Try the Denali Suite - it's the best.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaygeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I stayed one night at Big Bear and found the owner (Carol Ross) to be very friendly, helpful and an excellent cook and the accommodations to be commendable. Carol made me feel welcome and served an excellent breakfast (waffles with several choices of berry toppings fresh from her garden, reindeer sausages, potatoes, etc). There's free wifi and the room was comfortable. The bathroom in the room I stayed in was small (built into a closet), but it was fine for one night. The only downside is the distance from downtown. But if you have a car it's not more than a 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This is a very nice B&B. We stayed in the Denali room. It is extremely clean. Removal of shoes before entering helps to keep the place clean so I thought it was worth the effort. The garden in back was sweet. The breakfast was truly delicious. There are a lot of knickknacks so I wouldn't recommend small children. Also, a lot of furs which animal rights activists may find offensive. The owners are friendly and helpful. My only disappointment was that the Internet was not working, which reflects in my value score. I would definitely recommend staying here, especially because of the cleanliness and knowledgeable hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everafterall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Carol made us very welcome and was a great help with maps etc. The breakfast was excellant - lots of choice and interesting.

The rooms were nice but I was surprised to find that the en suite was built into the closet so you had no privacy and no room to move. I think it was about 30 inches square, you had to beware when stepping from the shower into the bedroom that you did not knock yourself on the bed. It is a long way from Downtown and you would need a car.

It had hot drinks available 24 hours and free WiFi.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caity2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
2.7 mi away
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#46 of 74 in Anchorage
39 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,866 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
578 reviews
4.1 mi away
Judy's Touch of Class B&B
Judy's Touch of Class B&B
#7 of 126 in Anchorage
119 reviews
2.6 mi away
11th Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3401 Richmond Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-1013
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing