We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stewardship”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Carol’s flowers and garden frame Big Bear. Her master gardener skills and knowledge come into the kitchen to blend with her master culinary arts. Carol is a superb baker as well as a cook. Her presentation of her food captures the visual beauty of Alaska. Big Bear is a living tribute to the state of Alaska. Her many display’s of Alaskan art, native crafts, big bear skin and various ivory pieces blend with her antiques to show her creativity. Carol is truly a steward for the state of Alaska. I encourage everyone visiting the state to treat themselves to Big Bear hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed and anything you would need is already provided for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marjorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

Enjoyed our stay at the Big Bear B and B. Carol works very hard to provide a "homey" atmosphere. The breakfast was fantastic and featured her homegrown fruits and berries. We stayed in the Glacier room, nice accomodations,quiet and slept well. We enjoyed touring her beautiful gardens. Carol was very helpful in giving directions to various touring sites and restaurants. Would recommend this B and B if visiting the Anchorage area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here our 1st and last night, so Carol lent us a cooler for our trip. Stayed in the Grizzly Room, wonderful King bed, odd little bathroom. (once was a cupboard) Excellent breakfast both times, enjoyed talking to the other guests who were traveling from Australia. Very clean, separate large sitting areas also, beautiful gardens.

Room Tip: You do have to go some steps for the second floor (I believe 2 sets of 5 steps)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursedeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

On our three-week tour of Alaska and the Yukon this was the most amazing stay. Carol Ross has her house decorated as a living museum and it is a special experience to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The varied breakfasts that we enjoyed at Big Bear Bed & Breakfast were the best we experienced in Alaska. She was also very helpful in providing coupons for attractions and restaurants in Anchorage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed 4 nights and loved our room although the en suite was very small. Carol went to so much trouble with the breakfasts but every morning was like an education in everything Alaskan. She is very knowledgeable and a lovely person. We did find it a bit too much though every morning to have a lesson with our breakfast. Every where is lovely and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Carol is a concerned and welcoming hostess, and is very knowledgable and proud of Alaska. She specialises in providing extraordinary breakfasts: it's not the place for cornflakes and toast. The guest areas are plentifully furnished with antiques and objets d'art. It'd be good to have time to read all the books and watch all the videos, but no-one has holidays that long. It's only a five minute drive to Downtown Anchorage and maybe ten minutes to the airport. We'd certainly hope to go back if we ever return to Alaska.

Room Tip: Try the Denali Suite - it's the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaygeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
3.2 mi away
Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast
11.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
29.8 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
641 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
2.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3401 Richmond Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-1013
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing