We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Lakeshore Inn & Suites(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Grand Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Ship Creek(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$144
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$78
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$111
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Captain Cook(Anchorage)
US$185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
34
21
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
21
9
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Carol runs a fabulous place at a great price with an amazing breakfast! Just a short drive from downtown anchorage the big bear is a great value with loads of authentic alaskan decor. I suggest the Toklat room and make sure that you save room for the salmon quiche or the home made waffle toppings.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank phifunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The owner/innkeeper was very gracious, informative and served a wonderful breakfast. The room was comfortable except for the bathroom that was a converted closet with an accordian door that didn't close completely - a little clumsy and tight.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsaxtonCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here at the end of a mid-summer Alaskan cruise/land vacation. The home was situated in an urban area close enough to the airport for convenience. Our room downstairs was quite large and included a sitting area with TV and a very nice bath with jetted tub and separate shower. It was clean and a nice touch were the chocolates on either side of the roomy bed. It was quite eclectic and victorian in decor and there was a lovely garden out back. I thought the neighborhood looked a bit sketchy but the home had a security system so I'm sure it was safe. Hosts Carol, her daughter and grandaughter were quite welcoming and helpful and we enjoyed a nice continental-type breakfast with waffles and home fixed native berries. I would recommend for an overnight stay before or after trekking out to the beautiful Alaskan interior.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

House was just a lovely place, good food and nice hosts. The neighbor hood was a bit rough as their seemed to be some drugs in the area. Strange goings on's around the street and local area. We made a wrong turn and got stuck behind a beautiful young girl and this black young man walked across the front of her car and she opened the door and he got in leaving the door open and she waved us past her. We would say a drug deal going on by the looks of it!! Our friends in Anchorage told us it was a rough area of Anchorage. Don't think we would have liked walking around the streets, but felt safe in the house.

Room Tip: If you are with a friend and need two beds I wouldn't recommend the Tolkat room. The beds was very small and not very wide and it was probably the worst nights sleep I'd had on our three week trip.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby31225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This was our last night in Alaska after having stayed in b&b lodging for most of our 12 days. We stayed in an upstairs room with the ensuite bathroom where the lavatory and sink and small shower were accessed through folding doors. Small but functional. The upstairs had a sitting area and we did enjoy having a microwave and choice of tea bags and assorted hot cocoa mixes. She pointed out a variety of DVDs and videos about Alaska to watch on the TV. Lots of travel brochures available as well so the place appeared a little cluttered but homey. Good breakfast of a filled egg roll, reindeer sausage and sour dough waffles. We had breakfast with another couple and Carol divided each waffle in quarters among us. Nice so we could sample each fruit sauce individually although it seemed a little different way. It did keep the waffles fresh and hot. This would be a good place to start a trip if you were still unsure what to see.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cranefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews