We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Bear Bed & Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Anchorage
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mush Inn Motel(Anchorage)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Econo Inn(Anchorage)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Black Angus Inn(Anchorage)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
34
21
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
21
9
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2008

We arrived in Anchorage late in the evening and she was as nice as can be about it. The breakfasts were great and Carol had so much information to give us we were busy our 2 days in Anchorage. Make sure if you stay here you ask her to show you the Alaskan items she has for sale, some of the best we saw in Alaska.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank snomofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We stayed at Big Bear in the Toklat room for 1 night in May. We landed at anchorage around 8 pm, rented a car, and drove to the BnB. The drive was abt 7 miles, and was pretty easy to find. The area didnt seem very nice at first, but the BnB was awesome. Considering it was our stop-over for the night, we didnt mind the location too much. We were greeted by Carol's grand daughter, who showed us our room and the facilities, etc. She was really sweet! A little later, Carol came to our room and enquired about our flight, breakfast time, etc. We had questions abt getting to Seward, and she was really a wealth of information! The beds were comfy, and the room was quite well decorated. The next morning, Carol had our breakfast ready for us by 7 am. This included sourdough waffles (which was delicious!), egg quiche, and a variety of syrups. All in all, was a great homemade breakfast. We took a lot of pics around the living room, and checked out by 7.30 am. It was a warm welcoming stay, for our first night!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2007

This was our first stop after we arrived in Alaska. Carol was great. She is a wealth of information and was very helpful in helping us plan our day. She even got up early to take us to the train station with a breakfast of salmon Quiche all packaged and ready to go. She has her own garden in her back yard and makes her own jams and syrups. Great place to stay. Would highly recommend it.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank pdjdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

We stayed one night at the Big Bear (in the Glacier Room), and were very charmed by the Owner, decor, and genuine Alaskan hospitality! When we got there, Carol was in themidst of canning 50+ lbs of fresh Kenai River salmon -- an experience in itself to observe! Carol was very helpful when we needed to find a place to get dinner the night we checked in, and gave us coupons for 3 different places as we headed out the door! The rooms are thoroughly decorated by their themes, and I completely agree with the other reviewer that said that this place was like walking through a museum! There are knick knacks, paintings, pelts, and charm everywhere!! Our bed was very comfortable (complete with chocolates on the bedside tables!), and the bathroom was a very creative use of space! I disagree with the reviewer who said they were weird and you couldn't use the bathroom without disturbing your companion...unless you took a shower in the middle of the night, as the light only turns on automatically when you open the door to reveal the shower and closet with towels. Breakfast was fantastic...sourdough waffles, handpicked berries, hash browns, and reindeer sausage. Carol kept us entertained with stories of the history of her sourdough starter, tales of berry picking while moose hunting, and stories of previous generations of her Alaskan family. I wish we would have been able to stay there more than one night, and if our next trip to Alaska requires a stay in Anchorage, we will definitely do our best to reserve a room here again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zippy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

If anyone has ever traveled to Alaska, you know that it can be quite the expensive venture! If you're a B&B traveler like us, you won't find a better deal than Big Bear in Anchorage!! We ended up getting there a day earlier and unfortunately, Big Bear was already booked that night so we ended up staying in a nearby hotel. We paid TWICE as
much for conditions that were sub par to the B&B. Big Bear offers rooms/beds that are very comfortable and clean, there are plenty of amenities and the innkeeper (Carol) will make sure you have an excellent home-cooked meal (complete with yummy local ingredients) before you leave each morning. You really couldn't ask for more!
Marco & Lisa from aloveproject.net

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank aloveproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews