We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Highland Glen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highland Glen Lodge
Ranked #15 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
los angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved the Highland Glen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

We just returned from a Labor Day weekend at the Highland Glen. The owners, Sheila and Cliff were gracious, charming and responsive to all our needs. Our daughter joined us for our first night and they accomodated us beautifully. The breakfasts are outstanding and creative. The grounds are beautiful and right near Flattop mountain and the Chugach national forest. The beds are wonderfully comfortable and there is coffee/tea/hot chocolate available at all times. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Liked — warmth and friendliness of owners
  • Disliked — had to remove shoes due to white carpeting--but this is wet, muddy Alaska!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brooklyngirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
35
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Woodlands Suite at Highland Glen Lodge for 4 nights. It is such a wonderful place! We arrived very late at night and they were still up to greet us. We immediately went to the room to fall asleep (well, after we ate some of the chocolate treats that were left around the room for us!). It was such a peaceful place, very quiet and serene. They have flower pots planted infront of every window so when you look outside, there's always something colorful! They also have a lot of bird feeders out back, so there's plenty of wildlife to view.

Breakfast was nothing short of exquisite. Our first morning, we had eggs benedict with fresh fruit, yogurt, and reindeer sausage. They even gave us coupons to local restaurants and places to visit.

One morning when we walked outside, there was a large bull moose right across the road, just quietly eating his breakfast!

The prices were very reasonable for the area especially considering we stayed during tourist season (the Best Western downtown was only $4/night cheaper and didn't include a breakfast!!). They are the perfect hosts and we would HIGHLY recommend staying with them.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amystar137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midcoast Maine
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

Cliff and Sheila do a great job. They don't fuss over you, but are there when needed. Experience tells. The house is spotless and interesting. WiFi works fine. It's great to be out in Hillside, yet so close to town (if you have a car - 10 minutes).

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sacrebleu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2007

Not only was the Lodge beautiful, the bedrooms lovely, and the breakfasts to die for, but the owners went far beyond hospitality. A cap came off my husband's front tooth in the Seattle airport, on the way to Anchorage. We called the B&B, and after much effort, they found a dentist who could fit my husband in and reglue the cap in the short time we had in Anchorage before heading south on the rest of our trip. Don't miss the opportunity to visit with these lovely people and enjoy the comforts of their home and hearth.

  • Liked — the rooms, the breakfast and the hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraviataGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2006

This inn was a wonderful find! It's in a house in a quiet residential neighborhood. You feel like you are a guest in the home of a friend who just happens to own a mansion! The rooms and common areas are furnished like a home, not like an inn. Everything is tasteful from the beautiful limited edition artwork on the walls to the selection of videos and DVDs in the guest living room and the indoor and outdoor plants including lovely window boxes of flowers. (There's even popcorn provided to go with your movie!) Everything is clean and in perfect working order. We enjoyed the hot tub!

The breakfasts were delicious with hearty portions so we didn't really need lunch! We stayed three (non-consectuive) nights and each breakfast was different. They keep as wonderful assortment of teas!

The host and hostess are warm and go the extra mile to make guests comfortable. They lent us their notebook to pick up email since we didn't bring our own, they took time to answer our questions about the area, and they even bought new pillows and a new comforter when I mentioned my husband was allergic to something in the room. (As it turned out it was probably in the outside air, not in the room.)

I can't recommend this inn highly enough! We used it as a stop-over place on our way to and from Denali and Homer, but we wished we could have spent several days there to enjoy it properly!

Helpful?
5 Thank 22150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
6.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
7.9 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
8.8 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
7.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Glen Lodge

Property: Highland Glen Lodge
Address: 11651 Hillside Dr, Anchorage, AK 99507-8002
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Highland Glen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely and gracious three diamond AAA accommodations in peaceful Hillside area. Five spacious suites with private bathrooms. Full breakfast with a gourmet touch. Beautiful panoramic views of city lights, Cook inlet, and rugged Alaskan range. Guest lounge, hot tub and many extra amenities. Only a short drive from the airport, downtown and many Alaskan adventures. Affordable rates. Ask for specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Highland Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Glen Lodge Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing